Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
120
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 1998
Practicing the Presence of God presents the way Brother Lawrence recommends that we stay in touch with God on a daily basis. It is practical, simple, and, above all, it works. It is not too dissimilar to the concept behind In His Steps (I think that's the title) where one asks at every step, "What would Christ do?" In this case one, in all of one's daily activities (washing the dishes, studying, anything), puts oneself into God's presence (as St. John of the Christ says, it CAN be by imagination, or in reality, or whatever works for you), one dedicates every action to God, and one lets the awareness of God's presence guide every decision and movement throughout the day. Thus life itself becomes prayer, and every move one makes is a sacrament. I know, from experience, that this works, and that this is a very powerful method of bringing God's presence into one's daily activities. What starts by imagination quickly evolves into reality, and this provides both guidance and protection throughout the day. It can also be VERY demanding - God is not just a presence on Sunday morning, or at our meditation sessions - he is actively carried with us throughout the day, so demands are exacted from us concerning our conduct and behavior that are on a very high level. This is NOT thoughtless living! It can be heroism of the highest level. But it can also be one of the most effective methods of making fast progress in the spiritual life. One should commune with God whenever possible - in prayer or meditation - and than take this practice with one in one's daily activities, so one draws upon those inner resources that are awakened through prayer.
0Comment| 87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2012
Brother Lawrence was born 400 years ago. I get the impression that he would have been considered fanatical and radical (for his time), but I found his message of God to be passionate and inspirational. You may wonder how the words of someone who lived so long ago could possibly have any relevance to your life today. The Bible is as relevant today as when it was written 2000 years ago. God's Word never changes. Read this book and let the truths of God touch your heart. Brother Lawrence was certainly led by the Holy Spirit and his writtings reflect the truths contained within the Bible. It is definitely recommended reading to anyone who wants to know the real power of God.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2009
A tiny gem - 100 pages or so. The words and advice of a humble seventeenth century monk who literally followed St. Paul's advice to "pray constantly". A charming book about a simple - very holy man.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Excellent that this is now on Kindle but we need the one that includes the Principles and The Ways which is the better version as these additional works teach simply how to Practice His Presence which is vital. Can we have it on Kindle please.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
brother lawrence simple life, he shows how when doing the most uninteresting chores that this time can be used in prayer. great book
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
This is an excellent little book that I would recommened to anyone. The theme of the book is how someone can know and feel the presence of God with them in an going way every day. Brother Lawrence discovered the joy of knowing God's presence and feeling the love and pleasure of God towards him. This became his daily experience for 40 years. Brother Lwarence became known to the monastic community where he lived and worked as one who knew God. His fame trickled out into other religious communities nearby and the world around them. The book is short and is made up of several very short chapters (many of them were originally written as letters to friends and acquaintances by Brother Lawrence) which makes it very easy to read - you can read it for 5 minutes a day in a couple of weeks. So if you are somone who prays daily, you can make reading this book part of your daily devotions. This book will help you experience God's love and feel his presence.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2010
I ordered this for a friend, who said the book is a real inspiration, so I will probably get another copy, for myself.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
This is a great idea, less well executed. The typeset is large, so that room for journaling and making notes is restricted. Also the formatting is very faulty with multiple lines prematurely truncated, which severely disturbs the flow of my reading, and consequently the thought processes l wanted to record. Disappointed, but will keep it, and hope they make a new edition to rectify some of these faults. Was so excited; sigh!

I'm sure they would sell many more copies if they fixed it, and especially if there was more space to note and journal. Bibles for journaling leave a 2" margin on a smaller page, and with more space top and bottom too, which allows for more creative and heartfelt responses, which is kind of the point. Even the, I'd like a little more space.

Service was prompt, item received in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
This book is one of the reasons why I am a priest today. It has helped me to understand my calling and my relationship with God. I try to follow it every day and fail, but it helps me to keep trying. I have in in paper back and on my kindle and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone interested in developing their own relationship with God in this busy world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 November 2014
This is a wonderful and truly enriching text (would receive five stars), but received one star due to the incredibly shoddy edition, which is an insult to the text and the reader: you could do better at home, so I recommend buying another. Put simply, this is a cut-and-paste of a freely available text on the Project Guttenberg website, pasted (badly) into word and not sufficiently edited (if edited at all). Blank pages pointlessly inserted. One page with the letters "TLO" in the middle for no reason. Text size far too large - presumably to "pad out" the work and increase the page count. The annotations are non-existent. The cover image, when blown up to the size of the book, is heavily pixilated. The overall impression is that this is a volume put together in a secondary school IT class. The (default) font is ugly and unattractive. The paper quality is poor; the print quality is worse (the text doesn't sit straight on the page, but is at a slight angle).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)