Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
29
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2014
I'm a personal trainer and bought this as I wanted a deeper understanding of how the muscles work during particular exercises. All the main exercises are included and the book is divided into the major muscle groups.
The best part about this book are the illustrations. They are in colour and in depth. They show how the muscles relate and overlap each other as well as the insertions.
The text itself is not too scientific. It is very easy to understand and is written for the exercise practitioner and not for medical students. Advice is given on how different muscles will be worked when using different grips and stances for certain exercises which is useful. For example, how using a suppinated grip on a curl works the inner part of the Bicep head and how a neutral grip emphasis the long outer head of the biceps.

The only thing missing was that the book didn't include some of the major bodyweight exercises such as push ups and pull ups.

Nonetheless, this is a must buy for all PT's or just fitness fanatics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
This book is a stand out option in it's category. It lets you know the target muscles from each exercise, but also shows you which secondary muscles will be exercised during the work out.
A good buy and we'll worth having for any fitness person.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2012
This is a great book. I have several weightlifting books and this is certainly one of the best. It has excellent diagrams,highlighting the muscle groups used in each exercise. It has lots of very useful information. My wife and I have been going to the gym and using weights for several years now, however, this book gives you a good variety of exercises . Would recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Its the most straight-forward and useful exercise book I have ever worked with. The sections are well organised and each page is clearly annotated for speedy access. The illustrations are excellent and the accompanying commentary tells you exactly what you need to know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Nick Evans is genius! and straight to the point with his explanations and guides on what works. If your looking to bodybuild and get some great lean mass etc you should really get this book, you will find it hard to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2009
Anyone looking to fine tune their bodybuilding exercises would benefit from this book. The book is not a training guide but an educational tool to help you understand human anatomy.

I have heard some trainers say that you cannot 'sculpt' muscle - Nick Evans has proved them wrong! With the range of compound and isolation exercises you'll never be stuck in varying your workout again.

The diagrams are superb and really highlight how to target those difficult to reach areas.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
A great,in-depth book to really understand the little bits you miss an how to greatly improve your work out, illistrational example and description of exercise variation is fantastic, perfect for all levels of experience to learn from,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2009
Add this book to your bodybuilding library. Packed full of solid weight training exercises, Split-up into body sections - legs, chest, abs, arms... It will help you mix up your routine. I would compare this book to "Strength Training Anatomy" by Frederic Delavier, another very popular book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2011
I got this book when I first wanted to start bodybuilding 15 years ago. It shows the correct positions for every exercise in simple yet detailed ways, explaining why and how each one is done! Every body part is named and helps you become a more efficient weightlifter/bodybuilder. I have bought this book for many relatives and friends who are wanting to start lifting, as this was the best guide for anyone.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
Great book, just what I wanted. Not full of complicated routines and opinions, just a break down of exercises and the primary and secondary muscles they target. Great reference book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)