Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
227
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2013
The second book in the Rain Wilds Chronicles is more the second half of the first book than a separate novel. It follows the journey of the dragons, their keepers and the rest of the party as they travel up the Rain Wilds river to find the legendary city of Kelsingra.

It's not really an exciting tale of adventure though, rather more looking at the characters and how they, and the relationships between them, develop over time. As such, while it's interesting to follow their lives, the narrative isn't really gripping and I didn't find I was as hooked as I have been with earlier Robin Hobb novels.

The characters are good, varied, and perhaps deeper than ever before. Really I suppose this is a love story, a little reminiscent of the film Love Actually, as it follows the budding romances between pairs of characters, and the collapse of others. In this, it's really good, and there's one particular relationship that I found fascinating to follow.

It's quite different to the author's usual tales, and I quite liked the variety, but didn't find it as engaging. It's a little slow and is very much the middle and end of the story started in The Dragon Keeper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
I just cant put these books down - totally addictive. If you haven't ready any of Robin Hobb's books you are missing a real treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Amworking my way through all Robin Hobb books - all amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
Another great series from Hobb. If you've enjoyed "The Farseer" or "Liveship Traders" trilogies, you will love "The Rain Wild Chronicles".
Fantasy, dragons, liveships, adventure, struggle, romance.... and a whole lot more, can be found in these books. If that's your "cup of tea", don't hesitate!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Brilliant series. I'm on the fourth book now and loving it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Well written, excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
When you open a Robin Hobb book you know what you are going to get (unless you have never read a Hobb book before, of course.) Strong characterisation, well thought out realms all presented in a well written, readable style. The complete package. (And the possibility of putting her characters through hell)

Before starting the Rain Wild books, I had seen a few reviews saying that they were not as good as her previous work – that does not mean bad of course. Now being halfway through the quartet I can see what people mean. I have really enjoyed the stories, loved the characters both human and dragon, but found the hard edge that encompasses a lot of her work missing.

Perhaps, in some ways, Hobb burned herself out (in the matter of treating the characters harshly) on her previous series, the highly-underrated Soldier Son trilogy. So, for once she delivered something that was rather nice to the characters that inhabit this part of her world. There is a feeling that everything works out for the best; that the characters that need to end up together do; that those that deserve to suffer, either die or are left behind, that feeling that everything is working out for the best.

This does not mean that there is not progression. The characters develop and grow as people in ways that one can appreciate and enjoy. In some cases, these are small things, in others they are dramatic, both in personality and physicality.

So yes, this is not Hobb strongest work, but when you are such a superlative writer, even ‘not your best’ leaves you head and shoulders above most of the competition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2010
Firstly a warning to anyone who is buying this book. Make sure you have read the predecessor, The Dragon Keeper, before starting this one. It picks up exactly where Dragon Keeper left off with very little in the way of explaination.
Hobb continues to write gripping narative with yet another book by her causing me to stay up to the early hours to finish it. Development of the charecters was excellent and not always along predicted routes, which is what makes the book worth reading.
If I wanted to be picky I could say that really there are too many charecters being followed and this sometimes detracts from the story line by the rapid changing of views. Yet this perhaps adds to the charm of the book, making it clear it is not in the Assassin vain. This book is about a group, not an individual.
For anyone who is a fan of the Liveship and Assassin books, this answers some questions. Not all though! Hobb has the good sense to leave our imagination to fill in what happens at the end of the epic journey started in Dragon Keeper, without feeling you have been cheated of plot.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2011
This is the second and last book in the Rain Wild Chronicles duology (after The Dragon Keeper).

In this volume we follow the Tarman crew, the dragons and their keepers deeper into the Rain Wilds as they continue their doomed expedition in search of the fabled Elderlings city of Kelsingra. We witness the dragons' physical and mental development, and the various changes the keepers go through, tending to the wondrous creatures. Friendships hatch, secrets surface, resentment builds, remorse haunts, love grows.

Greft starts dreaming of a new life, free from the constricting rules of Trehaug. He harasses Thymara, insisting that she must choose a mate among the male keepers, like he has chosen Jerd. But Thymara isn't ready to commit, even to Tats: she's too afraid of becoming pregnant in this hostile environment, and a burden for the other keepers.

Leftrin is soon caught up by the shameful deal he made with a Chalcedean merchant to provide him with dragon parts. He has to find a way to get rid of this threat to the expedition, and to his new relationship.

Until disaster strikes, scattering crew, hunters, keepers and dragons, shuffling and jumbling their lives.

From then on, I literally couldn't put the book down. I was already enjoying reading about the characters' evolution, especially about Alise and Sedric slowing getting used to their life away from Bingtown and its comfort, away from Hest, but this event rearranged the story into a new pattern and gave it a wonderful kick. I'm thrilled to know that Robin Hobb is currently working on a sequel!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
I think Robin Hobb is an amazing author and have read all her books. I must agree with the other reviews that I was disapointed with the soilder son trilogy and found it really hard to connect with the characters. However when The Rain Wild Chronicles came out I was very excited because they go back to the same world some of her other books were based in. I wasn't disapointed. I found the books easy to read and enjoyed the links to past books. I found it easy to connect to both the humans and the dragons. This is a brillant series and I would recommend these books, but you must read the Liveship trilogy first to better understand the storyline.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse