Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
41
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 3 August 2009
Being a fan of Karen Chance's Cassie Palmer series I was willing to give this book, the beginning of a new series, a try. It actually turned out to be a spin off of the Cassie Palmer Series. Dorina Basarab is the starring lady in this book. Without telling you the entire story let's just say that there are a lot of important links to the Cassie Palmer series. Once again Karen Chance doesn't let us down, this book is excellent. It is action packed, with romance and sexy scenes too. More of this series please!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 August 2009
As I so enjoyed the other books by Karen Chance that I've read, I looked forward to reading Midnight's Daughter. Though it's a separate series to the Cassandra Palmer books, it's set in the same world. Some characters appear in both series, which is a nice link, particularly if you've read both.

This latest book introduces Dorina Basarab, who is half-human, half-vampire - also known as a dhampir. Her kind are rare as they're despised by both humans and vampires and therefore are hunted down and killed by both. What makes them even more rare is the fact they're subject to uncontrollable rages which often result in their untimely and probably violent deaths. Somehow, Dory has survived for 500 years and in that time she's been killing demons and vampires; those that deserve to be killed, that is.

The action begins as Dory's best friend goes missing. Normally one to leave a note when popping out for milk, Claire has disappeared without trace. Naturally, her friend panics and makes it her mission to find her, kill whoever took her, and bring her home. Without Claire's calming influence Dory is even more subject to her manic rages, making this mission more dangerous than it already was. Throw in the escape of the world's most dangerous vampire, the reappearance of her father and an idiotic French vamp, and Dory has her work cut out.

I really enjoyed this book. I liked the reappearance of some characters from the Cassandra Palmer series and was happy that Chance had written this book in the same humourous, sharp and easy to read tone as her others. Despite the number of characters of different races, the flitting of the action from one location to the next, and the bonkers character names, the book is really easy to follow. I got into it very quickly and begrudged every time I had to stop reading it when life got in the way. An action-packed, funny, sexy supernatural thriller. Recommended to supernatural/vamp/magic fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2010
I really enjoyed Karen Chance's other series in the same world feature Cassandra Palmer so I was a little worried about starting this series in case it didn't match up. I'm glad to say it did! As a heroine Dory certainly fits into the strong independent woman who kicks butt and has a dark past mould easily but brings something different. She has a history as long as any vampire and certainly doesn't seem to spend any time weeping and moaning about it. She's driven and cares about her friends - her search for her friend, Claire, wasn't anything that was forgotten about despite Dracula's escape. And her relationship with Benny's wife was actually quite sweet.

The writing is as dense as the Cassandra Palmer series - not difficult to read but circumstances change so quickly, there's no speed reading this book - but you wouldn't want too. This Dory book was more linear than the Cassie books with a beginning, middle and end rather than just a series of events as part of wider story. There are a few cameos and staring roles from the Cassie books but nothing that feels too out of place. Lots of action and a slight hint of romance of Louis-Cesare keeps the pace throughout and I can't wait to pick up the next book - Death's Mistress, which luckily for me is sitting on my book case at the moment...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
Love, Love, Loved it! Dorina is a strong female kick butt ask questions later type of woman! She fights anything and everything that is thrown at her, including her Uncle Drac and his followers. I loved the relationship between the character of Dorina and Louis-Cesare that is initially open animosity and then gradually once she has seen him also fighting and learns more about his past she has respect for him too.
There's lots of action in the book, lots of different "species" from vampires like Louis-Cesare, Mircea (Dorina's father) Radu and Drac (Dorina's Uncle's)to Caedemon (Fey) and Olga and Benny (Trolls) and of course her human friend with a secret Claire! There's plenty of scope for future novels which is great, and I want to know more about Dorina and her various relationships with the "people" around her. There's plenty of Vampire politic's too and of course the impending war with the Mages.
I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it as a great read, if you like the Kelley Armstrong Women Of The Otherworld Series then this is for you!
* I would say also due to the violence and mild sexual references that this is a more adult themed book *
At £1.99 its an excellent price for such a well written book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2008
I really loved this book and am in the process of reading it for the second time. I would even go so far as to say that I think this is better than the Cassandra Palmer series (and I like those books too). If you do like the Cassandra Palmer series definitely buy this book as it will not disappoint.

Dorina Basarab is a dhampier - half human, half vampire. Her father or Daddy, as she likes to call him, is Mircea who is a regular character in the Cassie books. Dracular has once again escaped his prison and it is up to Dory and Louise-Cesare (another Cassie character) to find him. It does not matter that Uncle Drac, as Dory affectionately calls him is as mad as a hatter and just as mean. Not to mention that Dracular is really the only thing is the world that truely scares Dory.

Welcome to the wonderful world of Karen Chance.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2010
Dorina is a dhampir, half human, half vamp, and has fits of uncontrollable rages like all dhampir. She's unusual in that she has managed to stay alive for over 500 years by channeling her rages into killing non-human creatures. When Daddy dearest shows up, Dorina knows it's not good news. When Daddy dearest asks her to go after Uncle Drac (yes, that Dracula!), she's sure he's only sending her on this suicide mission to finally be rid of her once and for all. Especially seeing the vamp he intends to be her partner...Louis-Cesare. It doesn't take long for both Dorina and Louis-Cesare to butt heads and become the targets of just about every other supernatural faction out there.
Very complex. Very intense. Very dark. I sucked this down like a vamp with O negative. This is really a dark urban fantasy with heavy emotional and relationship threads. Just about every character in this book could use the services of a good shrink (I'm thinking Lynda Hilburn's Vampire Shrink) and you can forget about trying to predict what will happen next! I loved it. I want another Dorina book soon so I can see where she and maybe Louis too are headed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
I'd read the first 4 books of the Cassie Palmer series by Karen Chance and really enjoyed them, so when I was searching for something else of the same genre and this popped up I just had to give it a try. I must say I really enjoyed it and would truely recommend it to others.
This booked is linked to the Cassie Palmer novels, but it's seperate enough that you don't need to read one to make sense of the other, which has been the case in some of the other books I've read. The story line is strong with lots of little twists and turns, both in the main plot as well as the sub plots, to keep you guessing and the little romance going between the 2 lead characters is wonderful to watch unfold. Throw in some magic and fight sequences and you've got a very fast moving, interesting and very well constructed book that had me hooked very quickly. Now that's saying something as being a 20 something year old dyslexic with a severe short term memory problem to find books that move quickly and hold my attention is rare. This was a throughly good book which I think everyone who enjoys this genre should read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
Based around the story of Dory, a dhampir and Mircea's daughter, this is spin off of the Cassie Palmer books. Retaining Karen Chance fast paced plot lines and sharp humour, Dory is a different character from Cassie: a self sufficient 'kick ass chick'. Instructed to fulfil a dangerous mission by her father, she is both aided and thwarted by the vampire Louis Cesar, duelling champion of Europe. Definately UF rather than PNR, the Dory series is great if you found Cassie too much of a fluffy bunny and prefer slightly less convoluted storylines. Looking ahead, book 3 is awesome so I would highly recommend this as a series, and that's coming from a Cassie fan
This series works fine as a standalone, but you'd probably get more out of it if you are familiar with the Cassie books. A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
Obviously readers of the Karen Chance Cassandra series will know who Dory is and why a lot of characters from those books feature in this series.
I really enjoyed the attitude and devil may care feisty lifestyle of this main character. Karen Chance has a real talent for combining wit and the supernatural, which doesn't always go hand in hand in this genre.
Although perhaps not as well known as authors like Kenyon/Hamilton/Andrews/Briggs she def. deserves to be up there with the big guys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2009
i found this book amazing, it kept me reading until i finished, which was in one sitting, i found this book more interesting if not the same as the cassie books, though i much enjoy them, it was nice to find out about mircea in a different context. It was very inlighting to find a soft side and a very much sexy side to louise-clare, i very much hope that there will be more on dory and her adventures, hopeing faithly that louise-clare has more to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse