Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 November 2017
The Very Short Introductions are a major educational resource. There are presently over 500 small books covering a very wide range of subjects. Although short, the Introductions are substantial in content. Everyone would benefit from reading these books to broaden their knowledge and understanding in diverse areas of life. Perseverance with some subjects may be required but be prepared to be surprised, enlightened and enriched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2018
Finding this really useful for my UKCat and med school interviews
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2017
Very interesting book! Presents arguments in a fun and interesting way, which would otherwise be quite mundane topics to study! Easy to comprehend and covers issues at a great deal of depth despite being a tiny book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2017
short and snappy - a great introduction and very thought provoking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2017
Great short introduction to the area of Medical Ethics. Covers common areas - euthanasia, assisted dying, modern genetics, confidentiality, medical research, consent, etc... Clearly and concisely written with the reader in mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2017
A very interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2012
This book is just as you would expect, a short introduction into the world of medical ethics, gives a good foundation and some insight into the extensive topic and if you intend to delve into this subject I would definitely recommend you begin here. Personally I did not agree with some opinionated statements by the author but nevertheless that's what I believe ethics is really all about, forming opinions on situations using your own logic and morals.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2017
Useful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2017
Very thought provoking and accessible- genuinely mind blowing. An absolutely essential read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 June 2012
This is an excellent book, and excellent introduction to medical ethics. I purchased this book in the months before applying for medicine at university, and read it once or twice before my interviews. It was invaluable, offering an easy to understand and well structured discussion on medical ethics.

More importantly, the book was full of excellent examples which would be easily remembered as they were interesting in nature (well, interesting to a medicine applicant anyway!). I found myself in several of my medicine interviews being questioned upon the ethics of medicine, and instantly, really interesting examples came to my head from this book, allowing me to continue the discussion in the interview.

I particularly enjoyed the section on Quality Adjusted Life Years (QALYs), and having just finished my first year of medicine at university, QALYs come up in the degree as well as possibly in interviews.

Overall, this is a great book, it's price:usefulness ratio is brilliant. If nothing else, it should be read on the train/car trip to a medicine interview as the ethics questions can be among the hardest that interviewers ask. The book is also interesting enough that people not applying for medicine, or currently doing medicine, would find it a good read too.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)