Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
Red Light Fever
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 15 August 2010
This was quite a tough one to review as there are a number of musical influences present on Taylor Hawkins' "Red Light Fever".

If you bought the cd only listening to the first 4 songs "Not Bad Luck";"Your Shoes";"Way Down" and "It's Over" you may think that you're buying a tribute to the British glam rock movement Queen; Mott The Hoople; Fanny Adams' era Sweet; T Rex. Every song embraces the aforementioned artists' styles and are all excellent. Indeed Brian May guests on "Way Down" and Roger Taylor on "Your Shoes" showing Taylor Hawkins' appreciation and obvious hero worship of Queen.

After such a great start the next 3 tracks are,sadly,what I can only be described as "fillers" particularly "Never Enough" which drones in at over 5 minutes, but then the album changes tact again and the next 4 songs could easily be off a Brian May solo album (particularly evoking memories of "Driven By You" in style) which is a compliment, not a criticism.

The album finishes with a great,emotional,driving rock song entitled "I Don't Think I Trust You Anymore".

On the whole a very enjoyable album,and Hawkins' enthusiasm for this project shines through the music BUT not every track maybe everyone's cup of tea so it's worth listening to MP3 snippets first and sift out your favourites to download if the whole album doesn't appeal.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 21 September 2010
`Red Light Fever' is a pretty solid outing from Taylor Hawkins and the Coattail Riders and is wears it's influences on its sleeve throughout. This albums sounded like a blend of the Foo Fighters and Queen and considering these are the contributing artists and the musicians Taylor most often plays with, this is no real surprise. This has the high pitched harmonised backing vocal Queen is renowned for and the solid, chugging riffs so beloved by Foos fans, but not always on the same tracks! I'd say the first half of the album sounds the most like Queen and the latter half like Foos. Taylor has credible vocals throughout, easily as good as Grohl to be honest and the songs on offer are well written and produced. This is a fun side project for Hawkins and that shines through blatantly clear and if you are after an easy going rock album that doesn't take itself too seriously, but which still offers up some credible songs in their own right, then this is the place to go.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 April 2013
If you are looking at this item then I presume you are familiar with the Foo Fighters......if not.....familiarize yourself! Taylor Hawkins and the Coattail Riders is another band that the drummer of the Foo Fighters belongs to, incidently Foo Fighters is another band that the drummer of Nirvana started (confused yet?? Don't be - drummers can do more than hit the beat!). This album is the second album from the band and it also includes some famous faces.....Brain May (Way down and Dont have to speak) and Roger Taylor from Queen (Your shoes), Dave Grohl from the Foo Fighters and Elliot Easton of The Cars.

I really enjoyed this album. As others have mentioned it sounds quite 70's rock with a lot of Queen influences emerging throughout the album. I also think it is quite similar to the Foo's with respect to pacing of songs. Taylor has a good voice and it fits the style of the album really well.

5 stars!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2010
The myriad connections between Foo Fighters, Them Crooked Vultures and such is enriched by the knowingly named Coat Tail Riders. Taylor Hawkin's stays beihnd the kit and sings. Vocally he sounds just like Grohl on many of these tracks. The alternative rock universe QOTSA, Desert Sessions and Probots populate now has a Queen influenced Southern Prog Pop element. There's very little punk in Red Light Fever but a lot of 70's Rock. Some tracks fall into filler territory but the terrific James Gang, Your Shoes, Not Bad Luck and Hell To Pay raise the standard to a decent album able to punch it's weight along side some of the motherships output.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
Many people call it a side project. But Taylor himself doesn't see it as that. It's a separate band that he has made and i think he has done a good job. It is a great listen and Taylor's voice is beautiful. I think the lyrics are really well thought out too. This band gives Taylor the chance to be the lead as he has got more talent than just drumming.
It may not be to everyone's taste but ,I myself, love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
This has flavours of Social Distortion, Pixies, maybe Danko Jones and The Sweet...the rock side of The Sweet, not the enforced pop display side. There is of course a trace,albeit microscopic, of Foo Fighters, for obvious reasons. I absolutely love this album for its diversity of speed and power and awesome composition. It is flawless. The production is bang on and a better group of musicians you won't find. I bought this album as a stab in the dark, loving all things punk,hard rock and thrash. I'm astounded by it, and play certain tracks on repeat, nice and loud. Track four is the first one to be played to death, but others soon joined it. Wow.... Yes, that one word sums it up. Now bought the other album, but it's coming from Japan. Can't wait! Twenty stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Recently bought this album by Alanis Morisette's former drummer and Mr Grohl's best mate and Foo's drummer Taylor Hawkins. I have to say it is very impressive and I would recommend this to anyone who grew up listening to Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Guns'n'Roses etc. Has large influences from Brian May and Queen.......Hawkins is clearly a lover of old school Rock!
This is a break away from your usual run of the mill sounds and definitely worth the price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
The cd came in perfect condition and I loved all the songs! Taylor Hawkins' band are fantastic and I'm glad the cd came in a good condition and not scratched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Fast delivery. Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Taylor Hawkins & the Coattail
£43.83
The Birds Of Satan
£12.13
Them Crooked Vultures
£14.97

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)