Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 August 2016
What can be said about this landmark piece of cinema that hasn't already been said? David Lean's masterpiece among a peerless body of work is presented here in a stunning remastered 1080p transfer, with a suitably beefed-up DTS-HD 5.1 lossless soundtrack. This is probably as close as home viewers are going to get to Lean's original vision of the audacious British officer who united Arabia's disparate tribes to fight off the invading Turks during World War I. Seriously, this film looks better than any 50+ year-old film should look, with a warm film grain, bright, colourful highlights and satisfyingly deep blacks. Add career-best performances from Peter O'Toole and Omar Sharif and you have one of the greatest screen epics ever made.

Audio options are the original English track and a Spanish dub, while the subtitles are in English, Hindi and Spanish. Unsurprisingly for a movie with a running time of nearly four hours, the majority of the bonus features are bundled on a second blu ray disc. A must for lovers of the movie, these include an hour-long 'making of' documentary, featuring archive interviews with some of the key players involved in the film, including David Lean himself, a wonderful 20-minute featurette from 2009 with Peter O'Toole reminiscing over the film's production, and a short segment with Steven Spielberg, who declares Lawrence of Arabia to be his favourite film of all time. Can't argue with that. Essential.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2017
Lawrence of Arabia in 4K is a glory. The dialogue is snappy, acting is superb, the visuals are very impressive and sometimes astounding.

Compared to modern movies the lack of CGI is a real breath of fresh air; real people in real locations filmed by a director and movie making team at the top of their game.

Pacing in a 4 hour movie is always going to be a problem, however in something this visually impressive you won't want it to end.
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2017
The amazing, enduring thing about this master piece documenting the Arab contribution to WW1 in the Middle East, is that it was made in 1962. Now 55 years old, it still tops the ratings, is still regarded as one of - if not the - best film ever made. An historical and cinemagraphic masterpiece.

Oh .... some folk can get political and silly about it, but thats noise for the dry academics, and the drama queens. This film is for posterity, and a record of amazing - if at times barbarous - moments in history. For all the latter, it was still a remarkable achievement by the Arab irregulars, and its this film, that ensures that does not get forgotten by the revisionists as time marches on.

The film-craft and photography are quite remarkable, even more so after the remastering to match with current 4K technologies. It is a true, if somewhat hackneyed phrase ...... " They don't make 'em like they used to" ...... If you are one of the newer generations who have not yet bought, or even heard of, this masterpiece of historical film-craft .... do so without hesitation. Just make sure you store away some copies - particularly burnt onto CDs - so you have them in your old age.

Its highly likely this masterpiece will still be top of the ratings even then. A remarkable film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2016
Approaching such a revered milestone of cinema, I was reluctant for two reasons: The first reason it's LONG - did I really want to give up that much time to watch an old film that might not live up to the hype? The second is that 'biographical' pieces can be dull, especially if produced in a more 'twee' era.
I needn't have worried on either account. While I'll recommend that you save it for a Sunday or a Bank Holiday simply due to the size of the film, which comes with it's own Intermission break, this is no dry, fusty hero-worship piece.
The Blu-Ray transfer is spectacular, and although you can tell it's an older film, it's very clear and amazingly good looking. The scenery photography on its own led to several jaw-drop moments of genuine, rare awe. But between that scenery there's a story.
Lawrence isn't held up as a flawless hero but a playful, flawed egotist - one with great military guts and a mountain of determination and self belief - which bordered on the self-eulogising and nearly a messiah complex.
The British are surprisingly portrayed the way that the CIA tend to be portrayed in modern movies; shifty types with a moral superiority complex who think the end justifies the means and aren't afraid of throwing their men to the wolves, but with the occasional touching moment of comradeship.
The Arab characters also come off better than in many later films, being shown some degree of respect by the story as victims of cultural expectations and tradition as much as victims of exploitation by the Turks and the British. Alec Guinness gives a layered performance of Faisal, Omar Sharif fills his supporting role with fiery personality and pride, and O'Toole is mesmerising as the soldier who feels a fish out of water with his own people, but comes into his own in the desert.
It's decently full of action and spectacle as well, from the striking attack upon Aqaba to saboteur attacks and the massacre of a convoy of Turkish foot-soldiers that the film is brave enough to paint as nothing but the results of blood-lust and Lawrence's temporarily unbalanced psyche - an unbalance that may be down to wartime sexual abuse that's heavily hinted at in a key scene.
Overall, it's an astonishingly brave film - brave for its pacing which insists upon bouts of patience to soak up the astounding vistas and cultural moments in between the politics and violence, brave for casting two little known performers in lead roles, and brave for its controversial and fascinating plot details.
This is certainly not the fuzzy, watered down museum piece you may have been taught to expect. A breathtaking piece of British cinema.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2017
It has been the best part of 30 years since I saw this film on TV. I had heard about the 8k remaster and then duly forgot about it. I got talking about "Ice Cold in Alex" and I thought I hadn't seen Lawrence in a long time. I was thinking about waiting on the UHD 4k disc release, but at £6 I'd rather watch the film now on Bluray 2k. Wow, the picture quality is so good, the colours are rich, the depth is there and the sound is crisp and detailed. Sony did a splendid job at cleaning this up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2015
No point in reveiwing this film as anyone who has heard of it knows how brilliant it is. Some people are put off by its length. However, I think it is one of the most intensely wacthable films ever made. Every scene is a pure joy to watch. The film is 5 star but I have reservations about the transfer. Colors are excellent but the images are over sharp which takes away some of the super smooth images and skin tones that I associate with Technicolor. My other gripe is that the image is slightly cropped. So instead of the original 2.20 or 2.35 to 1 you get approximately 2.05 to 1. This is a pity because David Leans original film is arguably the best example of widescreen cinema ever. Every frame was composed for the super wide format and some of this artistic perfection is lost in the transfer. I would pay good money to watch this at the cinema again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2018
Everything about this excellent movie has already been written years ago, so there is little point in commenting further. However, this version is quite quaint in that it appears to be a direct copy of the theatrical release, in as much as there is about 5 minutes of blank screen at the beginning with just music playing, then about half way through there is even an intermission message, again accompanied by a blank screen and music for several minutes. The 4K transfer looks very good, and I am sure a 4K Blu Ray when it emerges will be stunning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2018
If Lawrence is your hero, as he is mine, this film is unmissable. Great photography and great performances from Peter O'Toole, who could not be better cast as Lawrence, and Omar Sharif. Many other excellent supporting actors. No women....ooops did I say that? Men doing what men like doing, having meetings, forming alliances, politicking and going to war. In the words of the man himself: "We were fond together, and there are here memories of the sweep of the open places, the taste of the wide winds, the sunlight, and the hopes in which we worked. It felt like morning, and the freshness of the world-to-be intoxicated us. We were wrought up with ideas inexpressible and vaporous, but to be fought for."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 July 2017
What else can I say about this film? Other reviews have mentioned it is a masterpiece of the screen, incredible cinematography, wonderful acting and all these are correct. Personally, I think this is probably Dave Leans best film, although Dr. Zhivago runs a very close second. Overall this is an absolute classic and should be savoured for what it is, a masterpiece.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2018
What can I say that has not already been said? I suppose most people talk about the epic nature of the movie and the spectacle and those long shots and wide sweeping vistas.
For me O'Toole with his haunted eyes and quiet dignity is what draws me to the movie. By all means waych it for its beauty, tragedy and spectacle but there are quiet moments, smaller human dramas that make me love it more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse