Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
10
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2010
I thoroughly enjoyed "Vampires" and thought it an affectionate send-up of the good old Hammer films of the 60's. Very funny writing and knowing performances from all the cast. Well worth a look and very entertaining. Let's hope for more from this talented group
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2010
I love this film. It is a thoroughly enjoyable, suitably bonkers take on the Vampire movie. Grab a drink, put your feet up with your brain in a jar beside you and have a good chuckle. I have been humming "Place of the Dead" on and off for several days now.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
I highly recomend this film which I thoroughly enjoyed, a great British original film which is fun all round and very funny and I look forward to a sequel , Mike
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2011
I bought this based on a review I'd seen, and will be recommending this one to friends. The two main characters, Kevin Smallcock and Susan Swallows, provide plenty of entertainment... and I'd be keen to see them team up again in a sequel.

There's nods to Monthy Python and a whole host of comedies and horrors in here. I also like the real world reactions to situations such as being accosted by a bunch of beautiful female vampires in lingerie.

Bloody good film. I will be watching it again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
It's crap. Let's get that up there straight away. It's hackneyed, clunking, drivel. Badly acted by two bottom feeders of the entertainment world clearly aiming for a big time they're neither fit for nor deserve, and a bunch of starstruck students. It does, to be fair contain one genuine terror and laugh; the female lead, a woman old enough to play most of the other performers' mother with acting skills to match, gets her bosoms out on screen. Please don't turn around quickly madam you'll have someone's eye out.

Other than that the script seems intent on bludgeoning the viewer into submission; piling on cliche and ham fisted innuendo in a spirit of more is more which might, just, have carried in the presence of charm and wit. Sadly this film possesses neither. It's an unfunny nightmare, the very worst kind of home movie. A self indulgent pile of toe curling ineptitude which demonstrates with brutal, remorseless clarity why you and the world have never heard of the Kempthornes and why, please God, you will never hear of them again.

It's very, very interesting that the only other reviews are from one person who's given it one star (clearly someone unfortunate enough to have seen it) and a bunch of people all giving it 5 stars. All 5? No 4s or 3s? A film gets so many 5s yet is 130,000th in the Amazon sales list? Not suspicious at all :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2010
A great British film! Good fun, great script, characters as only the British can do, and magnetic pace! Thoroughly recommend it - I don't normally like "funny films" but this one had us gripped and smiling after the end.

Lots of nods and winks to fans of the genre too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2010
This is a very funny send up of the classic vampire horror film. If you enjoy either vampire films or comedy you'll love this. The soundtrack's great too.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
I'm not one for writing reviews but this film is fantastic. It's script is so entertaining and the actors play up to the fact that this isn't a high budget movie.

I don't claim to know much about films but I simply had to watch this film without a break and found myself and my friends always talking about it or even quoting it.

I do hope there'll be a part 2 soon!!!

If you haven't bought this film and you want a clever,funny script with amazing one liners that'll have you laughing for weeks after seeing it then BUY THIS MOVIE!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
Vampies of Bloody Island is thoroughly entertaining - a sort of Comic Strip/Hammer House with an injection of Pam & Allin's and their cast and crew's delightful personalities! Highly recommended!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sorry guys but this is drivel, characters called Kevin Smallcock and Susan Swallows went out with Sid James. I've seen lots of low budget vampire movies and some of them were unintentionally funny but this tries to be a horror comedy and can't even manage that. If this is your bag then watch 'Carry on screaming', now that was funny.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here