Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 June 2013
Well where do I begin? A game that was initially released as a Playstation 2 title in 2004 Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas is considered, by many, to be the greatest Grand Theft Auto title to date. This game was revolutionary in many ways; it contained a map of such a size that it would embarrass most current generation games, it had a voice acting list that has to be seen to be believed and it had a hugely compelling story-line with in-game mechanics that took all the best aspects from the previous two GTA 3 games and made them better. If this was not enough there are so many extra things that you can do whilst not following the main story, this can be anything from visiting the gym to increase CJ's muscle stats, entering a shooting range to increase your weapon skills or going to a driving school to improve your skills in various modes of transport. As introduced in Vice City you will find yourself flying helicopters, driving a huge variety of vehicles and riding on sea in speed boats, there is literally so much that this game has to offer.

I was one of the many that had this game on the Playstation 2 many years ago. After recently purchasing a high-end multimedia computer I was told that the PS2 version cannot be compared to the PC version as the latter is so vastly superior. Once I installed the game I went into the settings menu to find many settings that were fully adjustable and naturally I maxed them all out to see what would happen, this customization included everything from 1080p video to full render distance (something the PS2 suffered GREATLY with). When I went to start a new game I was blown away by how fast this game loaded. All that owned this on the Playstation 2 will remember just how long this game took to load up (after all it was a huge game for its time) but on the PC it literally took around 2 seconds to load the entire game. When the game began I instantly noticed just how much better this game looked visually. I could see buildings all the way in the distance that I never remembered being there, the character models and cars looked colourful and detailed, the entire image was sharp and clean with none of that infamous 'blurry' effect that the Playstation 2 version had. Playing this on the PC was like playing an entirely different game to what I remember and I found myself completely hooked on this game once more.

One of the biggest differences between the PC and the console version is the control system. When playing this on the computer it quickly became obvious that this game was designed for the sluggish lock-on system that the Playstation 2 version had. I say this because when you have a computer mouse giving you pin-point free aim accuracy whilst you use the keyboard to crouch, roll or strafe you find yourself effortlessly landing head-shots on all your enemies before they even get the chance to get near you. This control system only gets better when driving a car as you can control the car in its entirety with your left hand on the keyboard whilst using the mouse to rotate the camera around the car so you will always know what is coming. The control system on the PC feels complete and well thought out and it rendered the game far easier than I recall (although that could just me being poor on the PS2 due to naivety!). In addition to the controls and graphics being far better the PC also allows you to link your own music library to the game which you access via the radio stations in a vehicle, I felt this was a good addition as you can add a personal touch to your gaming experience during missions that were not there before.

With all this said it is clear that the claim of the PC version being superior to its Playstation 2 counter-part holds credence. In addition to all the benefits mentioned in the review one cannot forget mentioning the huge MOD community that Grand Theft Auto games possess. One trip to the 'gta-downloads' website will present to you hundreds of modifications a player can make to their game to enhance their gaming experience even further.

If you are someone who wishes to relive a fantastic game with a vastly superior gaming experience then the PC version of San Andreas is a must. If you are someone who wishes to play this game for the first time but are unsure of what platform to play it on then the PC must be taken in consideration providing you have the hardware to play it. A fantastic game that will never get old, I highly recommend to all!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2014
I don't know how so many folks had trouble installing this, it's easy peasy, even on Windows 7 64bit, if you go into Properties before you install it and tell it that you want it on Windows 7, what could be easier. You do have to have the disc in when you play the game, and a Windows pop up does tell you that the colour tone gets changed whilst you play the game, but, it changes back again when you're finished, so, no problems really, I don't know what all the fuss was about.
I can't give it anything less than 5 stars, the sound is brilliant, the graphics a bit ropey although it is 10 years old and I'm playing with a 2GB card installed, so, I can't expect everything, but, the game is just how it was all those years ago, absolutely fantastic, now I just have to remember how to ride that bike.......lol
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2015
I love this game. I really like how varied it is in different aspects of the game. I like the variety of weapons, activities and cheats. Also I find that unlocking the different areas of Los Santos to be really refreshing because it means you have to progress through the story to do that and I like it. The game works fantastically on the computer with no problems so far. I love it. However, when the item arrived, the case was slightly cracked (it's the second time now, although it's less than last time) and the booklet and map slightly ripped, although this is likely to have happened in transit and when I touched the crack, a small piece of the case broke although this is not a major problem - it's not really a big thing. The game works perfectly and that's all there is to it As for packaging, it was good, however, for items such as games I would suggest that protective material be used to protect the item inside the package as it just came in a cardboard envelope and had plastic wrap. I think that This can be said for all of the games and not just this one. I would also suggest that the carrier improves their transit and/or handling of packages to ensure the items inside are not broken in any way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2012
This game is so much fun to play . you can just go around shooting people or crashing cars and things if you like or you can complete missions and unlock things and fly planes drive boats swim. ride bikes, collect objects go shopping buy houses and alsorts you can evn play your own music in the cars. the radio statinos are funny and it has a very varied and mixed up soundtrack with funny adverts inbetween. the missions are not too varied it normally involves killing somone or collecting something and then turning in to a kill fest or a drive away quickly fest. However it is still alot of fun. very funny and just the best in the series that I have played. it has massive area to play in and a large variety of cars and vehicles too.

just one heck of a brilliant game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2014
This is a great game but its a pity it wont run on windows 7 it runs superb on xp (make sure you read the recommended requirements before you buy it thou) it says it runs on vista but I ain't tested it on that
its funny, violent, and has loads of swearing but it a pegi 18 so you should expect that.
lets you play your own songs on the radio as you are driving.
loads to do
probably the best gta game for pc as its not riddled with bugs like gta 4.
gta 5 is a better game but that is not out till next month on pc(i have it on ps3)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2014
I dont normally leave reviews for games, personal opinions and preferences can change vastly between people. However this game when released, was an amazing game and decades later if you can forgive the detail compared to more current games it still is a game that any real gamer will rate highly. The things you can do, the interactions, side missions and bonus events are just amazing. Whether your a new gamer or vintage one, if you don't have this game in your collection then you need it. no matter what platform you have it on, its a game that after you've finished it, you can still enjoy or even play again.

N.B i would like to note, there is an IOS version of this game, full game with full interaction.( Ipad recommended)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2011
Good things;
-Very cheap
-Good storyline
-Loads of options to do in the game
-better graphics than the ps2

bad things;
- runs slowly when there is a lot of acrivity in the game
-Takes ages to install
-requires the cd to play the game

Good game overall
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2013
This is not just a awesome game. It's almost a whole new world to immerse your self in.
Even if you don't want to attempt any of the missions just yet there's still plenty to do.

At the beginning when you get on the BMX Cycle down to Roboi's Food Mart and do the asset mission, switch BMX's to start. Even if you fail to complete all four levels it won't be to long before you acquire the £10,000 to purchase the safe house next to the airport, now you've got a safe house with a garage.

Get a car, it doesn't matter which. Now go the airport gate and park it by the security cabin by the gate. Clime on the roof of the car, clime on the roof of the Cabin and you're in. Get inside the Dodo, fly around a bit, get you licence so you can enter anytime you like. No for some real fun

Fly over to Las Venturas airpost by jet, get a car and go over to the small parking lot top left, go to the lower level and get yourself a minigun, back to the airpost then back home. It's fast, furious. Or Las Venturas airpost by jet and get the RPG
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2014
Not a bad game for it's age. I used to have this back in PS2 days and it was a good laugh. It has some issues with graphics and sound depending on your setup, took me a while to get the GFX correct but I still get a few glitches now and then, hence the four instead of five star rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2017
Not very good at all. Not easy to understand. Would not recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)