Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2000
This baby has the wow factor ! I rather suspect each and every copy of this album has the undoubted honour of being played to death. Rarely is such talented and fluid playing of such an evocative instrument found. Mr Carlton assaults your senses with nerve tingling talent in the opening and title track fingerprints and your hooked from there on in. Each track is a classic in its own right, the whole album oozing with sheer mind numbing brillance. If you liked this album check out The Gift - this man's talents knows no bounds, he is a genius !
KEEP EM COMING LARRY !
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2001
In essence, mind numbingly good!! Such mastery and depth shown of a evocative instrument is truely wonderful. The essence of truely good smooth jazz oozes from this album and I am humbled by its sheer excellence. Truely the best in mood music, each track so fluid, a classic in its own right. Mr Carlton displays a fluent, haunting skill that is quite mystical and truely refreshing in a world of mediocre music.
Its purchase should be complusory !!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 December 2001
Easy listening, maybe, but don't be deceived. Larry Carlton's warm and sensual guitar tone bely the flawless technique and subtle, lyrical playing displayed on this album.
Lazy Susan is a typically gorgeous, laid back arrangement, but Carlton's touch was never finer than the hook to this tune. Listen with awe!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2002
This CD is my absolute favourite of 2001. It is one of those that knocks you away the first time you hear it and just keeps getting better with each listening.
Two tracks in particular - 'Slave Song' and 'The Storyteller' - have inspired my writing. What I really love about 'Fingerprints' is the subtle middle-eastern flavour of this CD. How can I describe it? The music makes me think of bazaars, cinnamon, deserts at sunset, palm trees and stars burning in a midnight blue sky... Exquisite.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2009
If you're a dyed in the wool fan of LC, this is guaranteed to please, though personally, I've always felt most of his best work to have been on other peoples' albums and he's certainly appeared on hundreds of those. Over the past 30 years, I've bought an LC album here and another there, but then gradually lost interest in all of them. This one just about hangs on in my collection, but I only play it very occasionally.

For Fingerprints, LC went to a couple of studios in Franklin Tennessee, very probably in search of a different environment to lend some fresh inspiration away from his home town of LA. To an extent, it's worked because, apart from the awful vocal track featuring Michael McDonald, whose voice I've never liked, this is fairly enjoyable album. Several of his LA contemporaries such as Vinnie Coliauta, Abe Laboriel, Kirk Whalum and Steve Cole came along for the ride, whilst Paul Brown provided his inestimable production talents on a few tracks, which has certainly helped.

It's an album of reasonably good compositions, impeccably arranged, played and recorded, much as you'd expect from a musician of Mr Carlton's calibre and pedigree. But, when all is said and done, it really isn't anything special. There are no flashes of compositional inspiration (though the closing track comes close, I will allow) or technical virtuosity to be found here ~ it's just, well, nice. Looking through the rest of my collection, it's not been at all hard to find ten albums by other guitar players, every one of which I rate above anything LC's ever done under his own name, including this one.

As less than positive reviews of just about any album always seem to garner NO this wasn't helpful votes, before you move to click, check out Andy Summers' World Gone Strange (1991) and The Last Dance Of Mr X (1997), Govi's Guitar Odyssey (1997), Brian Hughes' Straight To You (1995), Gary Carpenter & Tribal Heat's Sirena (2007), Wayne Johnson Trio's Grasshopper (1984), Steve Laury's Keepin' The Faith (1993), Lee Ritenour's Wes Bound (1993), Chieli Minucci's Jewels (1994), Ray Obiedo's Sweet Summer Days (1994) and Chris Standring's Love & Paragraphs (2006). In my book, they're all better albums in one way or another, several of them by quite some margin. His collaborative album with Lee Ritenour is better too, though mostly, I have to say, the tracks written by Lee Ritenour.

If you like not a single one of these other recommendations, though, and still think that Larry Carlton can do no wrong, then and only then vote NO. I just feel that his principal talent is as a fine sessions player rather than as a writer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2000
It had appeared, from past recordings that Larry Carlton had lost his way somewhat, being swept along on the crest of the west coast sound and producing some very mediocre albums along the way. This album finds Larry back at his best with some infectious melodies and slick riffs - it's just great !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
What you'd expect from Lazza. Not his best but by no means his worst
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
Replacement for missing collection Slave Song would be my choice on there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here