Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 November 2009
suede were the soundtrack of my life for a good few years and i also loved the tears one and only album but brett's first two solo efforts left me cold.apart from having several good songs they were a chore,so slow attack wasnt really a must buy.
so it's a surprise to say this is a superb album full of gorgeous songs perfect for listening to in the wee small hours.brett's no longer singing about sex,heroin and gasoline skies,in fact for the first time lyrically he seems happy.so it stands up with suede's best work,those expecting guitar glam stomper's wont be served here but the man who gave us the wild ones deliver's the beautiful ballads he's always excelled at.good to have him back.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
I continue to find the Amazon / BBC review of this item quite incredible. Both this - and Wilderness, Anderson's previous album - are consummate pieces of artistry. Sure, they're far from the upbeat, cosy indie rock that is clearly the reviewers preferred content, but citing the respective levels of public acclaim accorded to Jarvis Cocker and Brett Anderson are cheap and misguided. Brett Anderson never shone in the public eye as the 'star' of Suede in the same way that Cocker did with Pulp, and solo artists rarely reach the levels of success that their work with their signature band suggests they should. That doesn't mean that their art is worse, and here, in Slow Attack, Anderson provides us with a demonstration of song crafting talent that is second to none. Not as bleak or sparse as Wilderness, yet still brimmed with sadness and regret, the songs at times rise to a peak of elegaic beauty (ie Ashes of Us) where voice and arrangement combine to demonstrate that Anderson has lost none of the wistful, bitter sweet side of his songwriting, even while the arch commentator on modern society seems to have taken a back seat. Whether you like this approach or not is the question; clearly the BBC reviewer does not, but to claim that it shows a 'seemingly wilful inability to contain anything approaching a solid tune' says more about the reviewer's inability to understand songwriting than it ever will about Brett Anderson's solo albums.

I don't own a single Suede album, so I'm not even a hardcore fan. But this is beautiful, mournful, painful - and, above all, genuine - art.
33 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2009
I've been a Suede fan from the very early days and I've always felt a loyalty to Brett but my interest had really dwindled after the last two albums. The solo debut was an average set of songs with really weak production and Wilderness was better but really sounded like a bunch of demos. So reading about Brett's description of this album got me interested and I went to buy it on the first day of release. I put it on and it really took me by surprise, for a start it begins exactly like something from Talk Talk's Laughing Stock or Spirit Of Eden which is obviously no bad thing. Then his vocals start and he's never sounded so good, he sounds so delicate and graceful. The first track Hymn is stunning with a heart warming chorus and just the prettiest arrangement. I did wonder if the rest might disappoint as his last two albums both do have strong opening songs but it continues and actually remains for the rest of the album. There is not a bad moment on this record it flows and there's quite a few of the songs I want to hear again straight after they've finished. It's hard to pick out a highlight, maybe Summer's heartbreaking chorus? The Haunted is pretty amazing too.

One thing that is fairly criticized about Brett is his lack of variation on lyrical themes, well apart from the mention of London on the opening song gone are all the usual cliches. It sounds like he's discovered nature maybe in the same way Pulp did on We Love Life. It also sounds heavily influenced by late Talk Talk, David Sylvian and even a hint of Kate Bush. Some of the credit has to go Leo Abrahams who has come up with some beautiful arrangements but Brett has risen to the challenge on every song.

I really didn't see this coming and I'm so delighted that he's made this album. It's his best work in such a long time and by such a long way (OK the Tears album had some great moments) For the first time since 1996 I can say he's made one of the very best records of the year.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 March 2013
The imminent Suede comeback album "Blodsports" encouraged me to check out Anderson's solo output. I wasn't so fussed on The Tears, and like many people I lost track of Anderson after that. But what I heard I really enjoyed, and that encouraged me to get "Slow Attack".

Firstly, it's not trying to be Suede. This is a good thing - instead it's a ghostly, often rural (no grimy council flats here), ambient, acoustic album, with some beautiful strings and woodwind accompaniments. Brett's voice is clear and confident, and the album is experimental in a low-key way.

There are no big single songs but then that's not the point. Instead songs like the lovely "Wheatfields" gradually work their way into your heart with subtle hooks. Think a mix of Talk Talk and The Wicker Man. A great album to play driving through the countryside.

This doesn't just sound like a man in a holding pattern waiting for Suede to reform - it's an individual voice. I'll definitely be checking his other solo material.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
Brett Anderson was once easy to pigeon hole. His writing in the 90s for Suede was often sublime yet predictable. Last year he opened up his heart to us all with the emotive Wilderness LP. Loaded with strings, piano and Brett's lonely voice, Wilderness was one album that was sadly left out of many album of the year charts.

In 2009 Brett has returned with another offering and perhaps his best work since Dog Man Star, some 15 years ago, Slow Attack. There is more noise on this LP though you will be pleased to know it isdefinatley good noise. I suspect Brett is hitting the form of a musician who simply doesn't care what the rest of the music world is doing. He is releasing the music not many others would dare release.

If you want to hear an album that will open your mind from the hum drum of the mainstream then Slow Attack is definatley the one you must get your hands on. Some critics have been welcoming Brett Anderson back with Slow Attack. Did he ever really leave us?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
The opening seconds of first track "Hymn" sound like a wholesale rip off from Talk Talks "Sprirt Of Eden". or "Laughing Stock" A discordant and mesmorising noise of oboe's and squalling yet restrained guitar. It's a brave starting point considering those two seminal albums, and a influence of that is absorbed deftly resonating throughout this album. Brett sounds more inspired and believable since 1994's "Dog Man Star". Retaining the minimalist tendencies of his recent solo albums this sounds like somewhere he fits comfortably -as a melancholic/reflective artist in a Nick Drake style. This is a significant step towards a critical reappraisal if anyone needs one!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
BRETT ANDERSON - "Slow Attack"

In an artistic middle age, Brett Anderson has done what many artists should do : ditch the drugs, the major label, and make more records.

Given that he's released four albums in five years, when the five years previous to that saw one, utterly disappointingly average Suede album, it's something everyone should do - take the gift of making music and use it. Anyone can be a junkie ; not anyone can be a genius.

Is Brett Anderson a genius? No. But stripped of his ego, headline status, and the need to make hit singles, his solo career has seen him remould himself. In the way that any artistic statement is an element, and an exagerration of the core personality - witness Bowie's constant requirement to reinvent himself, always different, always the same - Anderson's third album is a refreshing, and somewhat individual mix of his trademark style ; the Bedsit Balladeer, and the epic torch singer, "Slow Attack" might very well be his most accomplished record yet. Aided by grand yet intimate string flourishes and a live band, it fulfills the potential of his solo debut and it's sequel, the acoustic "Wilderness" with an effective combination of the two.

There's not much in the way of instantly recognisable, unforgettable, great songs : instead there is a effortlessly cohesive set of material that compliments and complicates each other in a narrative. "Hymn" and "The Hunted" are particular highlights,each song sitting well in the context and surrounding material, in a thematically accurate essay of the emotional climate. For the first time, Anderson is showing definite maturity.

Oh, maturity, what a word. It implies boredom and tedium. Here what it means is refinement, articulacy, and intellect. No longer is Anderson trapped by gasoline, petrol,heroin, concrete pigs, nuclear skies and suburban wives. The words are big yet small, intimate and wideranging, populated with intruiging flourishes. What "Slow Attack" is, is not a pop album, but something far more effective, and far more artistic - a song cycle that takes the listener on a journey through feeling and music to somewhere else. Few albums have ever worked so well as a whole experience. It is a grand restatement of the dying art - that of the strength of the album as a valid artistic statement.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2011
I was a Suede fan and I love BA's voice. I bought this album after seeing a TV programme of him discussing and playing songs from it. It is emotional and angsty in many places but it's also pared down and his vocals are lovely as are many of the songs. It is an album that I play regularly - and without skipping any tracks - which is always a sign of something good.

For any fans of BA, and especially at this price, then this is a must own. For those who are skeptical, I would still recommend it as it is a thoughtful album sung by an unique voice/talent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
I have bought previous solo albums by Brett Anderson that I have liked and though a Suede fan I can appreciate the slower stuff. This however is just terminally dreary - mainly because the backing is just not up to it. These songs would be much better with a more guitar based slightly plugged in setup - junk the wind instruments
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
There is part of me that would like the world to know what a wonderful song writer Brett is and the album gets to number 1 and all the trimmings cause this record deserves it...
Then there is the other part of me that thinks the masses wouldn't get it and just expect him to redo Coming Up......He does though deserve the credit and recognition for giving us his best solo album to date casue it is simply breathtaking....
Not an album to be played loud for a party i think it's best when you are on your own with a bit of time for reflection and it will just relax and move you if you just get caught up in it.......
I know i did.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.63

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)