Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2014
I would recommend this to any one in a client service field it will open your eyes and minds make a difference
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Being vulnerable takes guts, especially in business. But the payoff, explains best-selling author Patrick Lencioni, is strong, honest client relationships that engender trust and allegiance. Lencioni puts forth his "naked service" model via a story about a fictitious consultant named Jack Bauer (not to be confused with the main character on the TV show "24"). Jack, an up-and-comer at a big consulting firm, is put in charge of the newly acquired Lighthouse Partners. He's initially reluctant to embrace Lighthouse's nonconformist tactics, but when he opens his mind to their possibilities, he has a life-changing experience. Through Jack, you learn about the three fears that block naked service and how to master them. Instead of writing a novel, Lencioni could just have outlined the naked service model in a dozen pages and, in fact, he does so at the end of the story. However, using a business fable as a vehicle is a simple, fun, engaging and relatable way to teach his concepts. getAbstract suggests this charming fable to anyone in a service industry.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
For people starting out in the field of management consultancy, this book should be required read. I recognised the style of some of the best consultants I worked with in the book, and the shortcomings of some of the worst too.

While it may not seem like rocket science, the book makes explicit some of the behaviours and fears that many of us exhibit to the detriment of our clients. I can understand the frustration of some other reviewers with the seeming simplicity of the advice, but if you've ever worked in true top-tier consulting (McKinsey, BCG, Bain etc.) advising a CEO/CMO/COO/CIO or if you plan to do so, you'll find this a worthwhile read.

As an added bonus, Lencioni is a pretty compelling writer, so the story is pretty fun to follow too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2010
Would you tell a prospective client the truth even if it cost you the engagement? Would you admit you didn't know? Would you go in with an open mind, not a box of pre-prepared tricks?

As a management consultant with over 25 years' experience every new engagement brings a tension between being the highly paid consultant who knows the answers and actually really sitting on the same side of the table as your clients and working with them and for their business even if it costs you more in time, effort or knocks to your master of the universe ego.

Lencioni shows us in his trade-marke fable style why this seemingly vulnerable approach is better for your clients and can win more and better contracts for you.

Lencioni takes us through as an experienced consultant learns the benefits of working in more `vulnerable' ways and how that changes the client - consultant interaction. If you like this book you are probably already working in some of the ways Lencioni suggests, but I bet you learn a whole lot more from this fast, entertaining and invigorating read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
There are two great things about this book.

The first is that it's an enjoyable story. I was wrapped up in wanting to find out the outcome.

The second is that it really hammers home the true value of giving, serving and being humble.

As a former Business Consultant I know about some of the negative believes that many clients have about Consultants. Following the system in Getting Naked, will, over time, change that perception.

I liked how Patrick encourages you to be open and share the kind truth with clients. When I have found the true courage to do this the outcomes have been very powerful.

Like other great books, you know what is shared is real truth because your heart, and your past experience, gives you total confirmation.

Thank you to David Taylor for serving me by encouraging me to read, practice and action the wisdom within Getting Naked (and The Prosperous Coach by Letvin and Chandler).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
I highly recommend this if you're in the service business. As an ad agency owner and executive I find these principles to hold true for all the great clients we have been able to find and keep. Unconsciously practicing the naked principles has opened many doors for us. Go get this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
A quick thought-provoking read and a good reminder and thought-provoker of what being client-centered really means in practice, not just words.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
Fantastic book! This is the second book of Patrick Lencioni's that I've read. I'm working my way through them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
I found this a great book with a lot of very good ideas in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
This is a very enlightening book about how to create truly engaged clients. The ideas need to be absorbed, read, practiced and re-read to begin to work. A huge opportunity for growth for most people.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)