Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
144
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2015
I think this might be a pirate copy. Not impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2010
Unfortunately I didn't find this series "buzzing". I found it slow and a little weak. Disappointing because it's great television.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
Well worth buying even if you saw it on TV as the nuances and attention to detail are more obvious on repeat viewing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
Stylish, clever, absorbing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2010
This is truly the best TV series ever made,so addictive,so real,cannot wait for season 4 to get to the UK.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2010
This series is totally addictive and season three has not disappointed.

Can't wait for season 4
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
I enjoyed the first two series of "Mad Men", which I found moving and extremely well-acted. If anything let them down, it was the lack of subtlety in some of the writing: themes were hammered home, and references to contemporary events were crowbarred in rather than allowed to arise of their own accord. On balance, though, I felt the quality of the acting, and the visual stylishness, carried it.

My qualified enthusiasm for the show has been seriously dampened by Series 3. The narrative is running out of steam, and the writing, always overrated, is becoming a real weak link. There's nothing more for us to find out about Don Draper; the younger characters' emotional and relationship problems from the first two series have vanished without obvious resolution, to be superseded by new but unrelated ones; and the show is struggling to find new things to say about either advertising or life in the 1960s.

For the most part, it remains watchable, and three or four episodes from Series 3 are very good indeed. But in the rest, the writing merely treads water: competent but superficial, it's the sort of thing churned out by bored, practised Hollywood hacks. There's no craftsmanship or subtlety; the concern is too much for "stories" rather than themes or psychological consistency. If that makes it sound like a soap opera, well, to be quite honest, that's what it has become. (Incidentally, I reached this conclusion independently of Ms. Williams below!)

"Does it matter?" you might ask. No, of course not - if you want a soap opera. But "Mad Men" makes no secret of its pretensions to sophistication and universality, pretensions that it manifestly fails to live up to in this series. It flatters the viewer's taste and intelligence, without actually engaging them.

Worst by far is the final episode, which is boring beyond description, and whose shouty, predictable dialogue would be an embarrassment in a "Dallas" script.

"Mad Men 3" is still better than most dramas, but I'd hoped to be able to voice stronger praise for it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
Only received ONE disc out of 3 inside and it had paint marks on, Poorly checked!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
A must for all MM fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
Can't stop watching it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)