Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
58
4.8 out of 5 stars
Down the Way
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99


on 29 June 2017
A good one and enjoy listening to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 March 2010
The Aussie brother and sister have produced a deft second album which is easy on the ear once you get used to their tendency to alternate the lead vocals on each track. Julia's is the most immediately appealing voice - waif like Martha Wainright sort of describes it. Her brother puts me in mind of a laid back Josh Rouse. Nicely produced - mixing electric and acoustic guitars and strings to create a indie folkrock sound but arrangements are varied whilst staying coherent. Try the lead track '.. and the boys' to give a good impression of the whole

All in all an album that grows on you from an impressive starting point.

If you like this check out the Weepies for similar fare.
review image
33 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
This is my first purchase of Angus & Julia Stone's music, & it will definitely not be my last. This album has not left my CD player for a month.
Julia delivers a soft yet haunting vocal, whilst Angus is more understated (like a whisper on the wind), I still find his voice addictive.

Musically this album is great, it has a beautiful mix of guitars, strings, piano etc.

My favourite songs are Yellow Brick Road (this just has me dreaming of California),
Draw Your Swords (Angus's vocal is fantastic), For You & I'm Not Your's (Julia's vocals are beautiful).

I love this whole album, it can't help but have you dreaming of sunny days, good times & free spirits.

I can't wait to hear more & catch a live show.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2010
Read a favourable review in The Sunday Times, and took a punt - it's an amazingly good album. Beautiful fragile vocals. A bit like Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan, each alternating in taking over vocal duties.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2011
Grows with every listen. Alternated male and quirky female vocals. Beautiful harmonies throughout.
Hauntingly gorgeous songs - 'For You'and 'I'm Not Yours'. An epic - 'Draw Your Swords'that begins hypnotically, builds and builds with brilliant vocals (shades of Jim Morrison and Jeff Buckley towards the end), quite magnificent. The incredibly catchy 'Big Jet Plane', and some Neil Young style guitar in 'Yellow Brick Road'. Each song is melodic and well-constructed, and at times achingly emotional.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
Stumbled across Angus and Julia Stone on Spotify. I can heartily recommend this double album. Not only is it great value for money, but the music is fantastic; laid back with some great rhythms, their voices are wonderful contrasts.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2011
Angus & Julia Stone - Down The Way (Flock)
The second album from Australian brother and sister, Angus and Julia Stone (Down The Way is the follow-up release to 2007's much lauded A Book Like This) has an intriguing history. Recorded in New York and London, but also an old water tank in Coolangatta and a converted sawmill in Cornwall, it's no surprise that the siblings take on much of the production role, and travel appears to be a central theme of the album. That and the loneliness it can bring.

It's a serious collection of songs with adult subject matter and a certain downbeat, weathered atmosphere pervades much of the material. Fortunately they're talented songwriters with voices that mesh and entwine with enchanting ease, and while Down The Way may not be the easiest of listening experiences, it's always rewarding. Indeed, it gets better with every spin. 9/10.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Big Jet Plane
£0.99
Angus & Julia Stone
£7.99
A Book Like This
£7.29
Snow [Explicit]
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)