Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 4 November 2017
To be honest I wasn't sure which of the women in the film was actually Mary Millington until the end titles. I got this DVD cos every now and then a bit of 'slap and tickle' is just as good as internet porn if you are in the right frame of mind for it. It turns out she was a lovely looking girl next door type who was liberated enough to pose for magazines and feature in films like this. In the extras on my DVD people had nice things to say about her and it was a real shame that she died the way she did, for something that we all take for granted today. Come Play With Me is a good bit of fun in the naughty Benny Hill kind of way, the women are lovely and look fantastic as nurses at a health farm, even by today's beauty standards some of the women are gorgeous and have great figures. The film has plenty of titillation although some scenes drag on too long and get in the way of the fun stuff. There are plenty of British character actors who turn up from that era who's faces and in some cases, names that I could remember. It also has as director and one of the main characters, George Harrison Marks who is also a glamour photographer from yesteryear. The DVD has some good extras and on the whole I'm glad I purchased this saucy bit of fun.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2017
Brilliant movie in on the lines of "Brian Rix" and "Carry on Films" with top stars like Alfie Bass and Irene Handl, Ronald Fraser and Bob Todd. Great fun with a bevy of naked or topless girls led by that fantastic girl who sadly died before her time - Mary Millington. Great fun on a wet Saturday evening. Saw it on vhs years ago and I still love it for the comedy as well as the nudity
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2017
I knew it wasn't going to be particularly good, but I still wasn't prepared for quite how duff it was. My curiosity of this era and genre of films has now been satisfied (hardly), so I won't be bothering with any of the others. My advice to anyone else out there considering buying this would be - don't! Buy/watch the 2016 documentary 'Respectable - The Mary Millington Story' instead.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2015
Not as good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2017
Excellent, great entertainment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2017
Dated
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 July 2010
I first saw this movie back in the late 90s on a satellite channel (you can probably guess which one) - and I thought it was great back then - just only finding out about the iconic Mary Millington made me wonder why there was such fuss over this sex comedy, a pretty rare thing back then in the 70s. After all, nudity in this style was common in Europe, so there wasn't much new.

If you've never seen this before, two gents are trying to escape a mobster and go off to a health spa to hide, but the owner, a surely woman who is a bit stiff upper lipped finds herself employing strippers and prostitutes to deliver health remedies at the manor. The boys soon become enthralled, but soon realise they've bitten off more than they can chew.

This isn't a bad film, but 40 years on it does look rather dated, which you'd expect. It's not as thrilling as it was when I was a teen, there's more cleavage on show now than there ever was back then, and it really doesn't seem that raunchy now. Back then it must have sent the censors into a panic, but now this would just about make it past the 10pm slot on cable TV without a blink of an eye. Mary is great in this, as one of the lead girls, but I really didn't like the blokes in this, they were a bit mucky and made this a bit tasteless - really if it had been more adult it would have been funnier, as it would have been a paradox in a way.

This DVD is nicely remastered too, the sound is crisp - and the picture is more stable than when I saw it on TV. The vibrant colour does make this look newer than it is, and takes away some of the "classic" feel to this feature.

It also has a documentary about Mary Millington - who committed suicide in 1979 when she was going to be sent to prison for making indecent movies. Back then, people like Ben Dover and co would have had a hard time making movies, something the pornographic industry take for granted. The featurette is 41 minutes long, so will please any Mary fans watching this for her.

This is a pretty good package - and is good value considering the price tag, but I would say rent this - as it's really not a film you'd want to see more than once. Definitely one for Mary fans.
66 Comments| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 November 2011
Look, no one would have the nerve to say this is a good film, least of all me. However, for gentlemen of a certain age it will bring back memories, perhaps rather fevered ones, of a time long gone when life was rather more easily lived than it is today.

Made as a vehicle for Mary Millington, our very own home grown British Sex Symbol, it gives her a chance to show of her talents (whch do not include acting)in what was even then a rather old fashioned attempt at slapstick comedy. Apart from Mary Millington the mature viewer may see many faces (and more) that will be recognised and perhaps rekindle a few a memories and even raise a few smiles.

It was a god awful film when it was made and it remains so today but time and nostalgia will lend it a certain patina and for that reason for me at least it is a must have addition to my DVD collection.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2001
At long last Mary Millington's classic 1977 movie is finally available to buy on DVD. The longest running movie of all time (it was exhibited in London for four solid years between 1977 and 1981) this is a nonsensical sex comedy set in a horny health farm with superstar Mary dispensing the sexy 'treatments'. A cast of comedy actors like Irene Handl, Jerry Lorden and Ronnie Fraser compliment the naughtier moments and the whole thing is super Seventies fun! It's shame that the DVD doesn't have more extras, but it's great just to be able to buy the film after so long. A cult classic!
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2013
As Europe and the rest of the world, were turning to hardcore porn,
Britain was still under strict censorship when it came to pornography,
but this was the swinging 1970's.
It was produced by David Sullivan, he of Sunday Sport fame, and staring
Mary Millington, his then girlfriend and Britain's answer to Linda Lovelace,
and directed by George Harrison Marks... George Harrison Marks, is an interesting
man. He first started making nudie shorts in the 1950s, and went onto hardcore
porn in the late 60's, and it was he, who discovered Mary Millington.

Mary Millington, was doing hardcore porn and nude modelling before she met Sullivan.
Sullivan started his porn empire, with Millington being his poster girl. She even had
a magazine named after her. But, under British law, there was a lot of restrictions,
when it came to porn. Come Play With Me, was billed as the hardest British sex film
EVER!... Which is wasn't... the film is a sad let down, as it is neither sexy or funny.
Although, there are some very sexy girls in this film, the sex scenes are played out for
laughs, and the comedy, isn't that funny. At the time this film, was called the British
answer to Deep Throat, again, it wasn't. Deep Throat, has real hardcore sex, and humour,
which are both sadly lacking in Come Play With Me.

George Harrison Marks, had a reputation for hard porn, but when asked to make this movie,
he wrote a script, that didn't have much sex in it, so Sullivan, had sex scenes added, to
an all ready dull screenplay. The film is a mess, BUT, surprisingly did very well at the
box office, showing for a number of years at the Windmill cinema in Soho.

If you want to see a film about the sexual values and social sensibilities of the 1970's
watch Deep Throat. On the other hand, if you want to see how sad and backward the British
sex industry was, watch Come Play With Me. By the late 70's, hardcore porn was booming all
over the world, but not in the UK, where it was illegal. Irony of irony is, Britain was and
is, one of the freest countries in the world, but up until 2000, hardcore porn, was illegal
to show or to sell.

Come Play With Me, is an oddity of it's times. It was outdated when it first hit the cinemas,
but, made money. The humour is bad Carry On, and the sex is un-sexy, having said that, watch
this movie with all that in mind, and then buy Deep Throat, as it is more funny and much more
sexy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse