Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2006
Released in the Summer of '73 and affectionately known as the 'FOOL' album, this has got to be one of The King's most underrated 70's LPs.

It consists of material from recording sessions in March and May of 1971, March 1972 and 1 Live track from February, 1972. Elvis is in fine voice throughout with some passionate performances including "Love Me, Love The Life I Lead" and "Padre". The first song on the album "Fool" became the inspiration for the album's unofficial title as RCA couldn't come up with anything other than - ELVIS. The title track was coupled with "Aloha From Hawaii" concert's magnetic "Steamroller Blues" to create a hit single for Elvis in '73.

Three stand-out performances on the album are "It's Still Here", "I Will Be True" and "I'll Take You Home Again, Kathleen" which features Elvis accompanying himself on piano. These performanes are hauntingly wonderful to hear and it's a shame they didn't release these songs without the overdubbed bass and strings to begin with - we had to wait another 7 years to hear these in their stripped down raw state when the complete performances were released on 1980's Silver Box Set "Elvis Aron Presley".

This album has become such an odd rarity due to the fact that the material was over a year old when first released and appeared to be deleted from the catalogue fairly quickly on a couple of occasions. Nevertheless, please don't hold back if you are in a position to obtain a copy on CD - it's worth it just to hear Elvis' jamming "Don't Think Twice, It's Allright" albeit the edited version. The cover of the album is very distinctive paying homage to the landmark "Aloha" TV Special in January of that year - some great promotion here, and it's a shame that this album suffered in that respect.

A Musical Must-Buy!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2006
As an album this is very uneven. Three of the tracks were issued on the 'Burning Love' album (the second album of that name) and in themselves are not worth buying the record for. The remaining material that follows these rather ordinary offerings is very good to outstanding and the songs with the sparsest of accompaniements particularly 'I'll Take You Home Again Kathleen' confirm what I've always believed that with Elvis less is more. Less production means more of the voice of Elvis Presley and, for me, enhanced enjoyment of the musical experience. The last track is an incomplete take of 'Don't Think Twice It's Allright' and it's masterful. Why not a complete recording of this? (Could RCA or FTD find Elvis takes on other Bob Dylan songs?).

In short, I have given three stars because as an album it is not as consistently good as other 70's albums ('Promised Land', for instance) but it does contain some unusual and outstanding performances which I would not want to be without.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
I really liked this on vinyl.
There's a real mix
Fool is great.
Its Impossible & Padre I don't like as songs .
Elvis feels like he's trying, which he didn't always.
But there's sum gems like the slow ones - "Its still here" & "I will be True"
- Elvis without vocal backup & minimal instruments but wonderful piano.

Altho' used it was v.good condition & delivery was fast.

I must have 25 Elvis CDs & more on vinyl, which I hwill have to convert.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
This album didn't have a special title so the fans quickly christened it the `Fool' album, named after the opening track! Then for a long time the original 1973 album was referred to as the 'lost album', because it was deleted by RCA a few years after its release. To claim that Elvis' management and record company were clueless would be an understatement. Elvis was totally wasted on RCA and his 'manager' Tom Parker.

Having said that, I've always felt the original 1973 release lacked direction - it was made up of leftovers from previous 1971 and 1972 recording sessions, a live track (It's Impossible) lifted from a Vegas show, and three songs with just Elvis accompanying himself on piano.

The songs contained within the original ten-track album were drenched with sadness and certainly reflected his mood at the time, but each song was a gem in its own right. The first choice, FOOL, gave the game away immediately as the lyrics strongly hint at a broken relationship, surely his as the marriage between him and Priscilla was now hitting the rocks.

WHERE DO I GO FROM HERE offered another peek with an exceptional performance from Elvis and his band. More of the same sentiment with LOVE ME LOVE THE LIFE I LEAD as Elvis almost struggles with this very difficult composition. IT'S STILL HERE and PADRE are brilliant and yet underestimated. Elvis must have liked Gordon Lightfoot compositions and gives his FOR LOVIN ME a great rendition next. More melancholy with the old standard I'LL TAKE YOU HOME AGAIN KATHLEEN and I WILL BE TRUE with just Elvis on piano. And then wrapping up the album with a loose and limber jam of Bob Dylan's DON'T THINK TWICE IT'S ALRIGHT.

This FTD release has the original song line-up of course but with so many tracks added - mainly alternate takes of the original songs with studio banter and much more. The original 1973 album was somewhat reflective but this new expanded version is more than a worthy buy. Add it to your collection and listen to yet another great side of Elvis Presley!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 September 2007
Known as the Fool album because RCA simply entitled the release, Elvis, like several other albums. And so in order to identify this album this is known as the fool album after the first track. And in all fairness it's a damn fine slice of late period Elvis. Course it would be nice if BMG extended the release with tracks from the same period, way down, serpate ways to name but two which would make it an essential release. But as it stands it's still a must have for the devoted fan and those just getting into the king's music.
Oh and the tracks that's what you get for loving me and the Dylan cover, Don't think twice are superb.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
I bought this on vinyl back in the 70s and have just updated my collection with it on mp3. I've never liked "Kathleen" much - I really bought it for Fool, Padre and Don't Think Twice, It's Alright. Love Me, Love the Life I Lead is also not a favourite as it doesn't seem to know where to end and the chorus just goes on repeating.

So, not his best, not for anyone new to Elvis - but still some good tracks on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
my brother purchased this and thinks the sound quality is out of this world
he would recommend it highly to anyone
well worth the cost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
One of the mid 70 albums so a bit hit and miss. Bought to complete my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
This was a present for a friend who's a HUGE Elvis fan, he loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
brought this my husband for his birthday, he loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)