Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
563
3.9 out of 5 stars
Style: High-Res Slide,Photo & Film Scanner|Change
Price:£119.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 3 February 2015
This is my second negative scanner, the first one (Veho VFS-008 Smartfix Scan to SD Stand Alone Slide and Negative Scanner) worked fine, but I quickly realised that the effort in scanning in a bunch of old photos is in the loading them into the carousel. If you're going to go to all that effort you might as well scan them in at the highest resolution possible. Therefore, I sold the Veho bought the Ion and haven't looked back. The device is very simple to use, just load the negative and slide through the machine clicking the button. Then use the SD card to transfer to your computer.

Given that the negatives are 15+ years old, I've been generally impressed by the quality. Sure, some are a bit, faded or off colour but this is almost certainly the negative, not the scanner. For the odd spot to retouch, and to change the colour tone to make it richer, I find that Google's free Picasa software does a great job. Very quick and easy to use and makes it all very straightforward.
0Comment| 136 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
My old slide collection hadn't been viewed in years since I had long since lost the old viewer and projectors are expensive. I though I'd try this ION offering with my old Kodak and Agfa slides and was very pleased with the results. The odd slide catches as you operate the manual loader from the stack but that's easily fixed. The software loads the slide image quickly to the screen (I was using my Windows 7 Ultimate laptop) and that's it; saved and viewable for as long as you like. The surprise was the number of pictures that I had completely forgotten about, some going back over 50 years and featuring close relatives who had died in the intervening years. It was marvellous.

I found the ION equipment easy to use. It looks robust and works fine. What's not to like about something as cheap as this that reveals pictures that fascinate?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
I digitised 250 old colour slides (stored for 40-50 years), by entering individual slides in landscape from stacks of 12 and rectifying orientation as necessary using MS Paint. The scanner provided faithful reproduction of the slide brightness and contrast, whether from crisp sunny slides or dull ones. See average and bright samples attached...

The resolution may not be considered high enough for large professional prints, but I find the slideshow on my 22” HP (1920 x 1080) monitor at 15” x 10” landscape and 7” x 10” portrait, more than adequate for nostalgic viewing. All told an excellent buy for £40 post-free.
review image review image review image review image
22 Comments| 149 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
This scanner works as described and is easy to use. However, if you are looking for high quality scans you will need to spend more money for higher resolution images, and faithful colour reproduction. Although the software that comes with the scanner has the ability to make simple adjustments to the scanned image, all images that I scanned (over 1000) had blown out highlights, loss of detail in the blacks/dark areas/shadows, were over saturated, not as sharp as the 35mm slides that were being scanned (by a long way), with the greens and reds over exaggerated. Useful to get the memories onto a computer/MAC for more frequent viewing, but if you value your high quality, sharp images and completely faithful reproduction, you'll need to spend more money on a much more expensive scanner, or pay an online service to achieve better results.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Excellent product and unless you require professional or really high quality scans, this will do for most users. As other reviews have mentioned, the build quality is good.
If you have any stereoscopic slides, the slide tray will accept these, although not designed to do so (some minor position adjustment may be required).This will allow 2D copies to be made.
The software is very dated and only refers to XP and Vista, obsolete processors etc.(It does work with Windows 10) Main niggle is that you have to set the save location, every time you connect.(it defaults to a factory setting which may not be ideal ).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
This Scanner is rubbish! As others have said it is a glorified light box with a camera producing rubbish scans which are grainy. I subsequently paid more and bought the Epson Perfection V600 Flatbed Scanner which produces excellent results. Just shows you have to pay a decent sum to get what you expect from a slide scanner!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2016
I have had boxes of slide knocking around for years but with this little scanner all can be brought back to life in Jpeg form and then put onto web sites or shown via iphone or PC, brilliant to have my memories back. Easy to install and simple to operate. Brilliant
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Ion slide copier does a good job for the price.
It photographs each slide, rather than scans each one.
The slide input mechanism generally works well and quickly, but can jam, which is annoying.
Most pictures are satisfactory, bearing in mind the uncertain quality of my very old slides.
It does not always copy the detail in parts of the picture which are in shade.
This can be annoying with faces, which can end up as a sort of mask without features. These slides of people, if important, may have to be copied commercially in my opinion to get the best out of them.
However, the import software does have some controls. It is just possible that some awkward slides may copy better if the settings are altered. However, my own experiments with the software settings did not seem to improve the difficult slides. I do accept that I may not have understood the settings fully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2017
You get what you pay for I suppose. It does a job but it doesn't handle skin tones, light and shade that well. I tried the adjustments that the included software allowed but the digital image was grainier and more highly coloured than the original Kodachrome 35 mm slides even on the highest resolution. I think you'll have to pay a lot more to get better quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
excellent low cost bit of kit - have rediscovered negatives and slides from the 80s including pictures of family not seen since taken 35 years ago . the ability to switch between the two has also created artistic possibilities. the only thing I strongly recommend is that you air brush your slides first or spend hours on windows afterwards cleaning the images up . Also you need to put them in the right way up or you get reverse images.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)