Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2013
Having seen and experienced the sheer brilliance of Steely Dan live in Birmingham on their last two visits it's great to have this DVD of a great line-up in performance. If you are only going to buy one Steely Dan DVD then I would recommend 'Two Against Nature - Lush TV Party in Sensuous Surround Sound' on which Fagen's vocals sound stronger. However, on this recording you do have the added benefit of the sensational vocals of Michael McDonald. As Donald Fagen stated of McDonald's on the liner notes of the highly recommended CD entitled 'The New York Rock and Soul Revue' - "When he sang alone, the crowd reaction made me wonder what I was doing up front."

This is a great concert, by a wonderful group of musicians, playing some fantastic songs from the impeccable Steely Dan songbook. Buy it!
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
Great visuals...some of the colours are a little 'heavy' and there is the odd missed shot...also its not in 5.1 but the overall sound is very very good.....the real attraction of this concert is that all of the material is pre- 1980 'the golden era' !...a kind of rarity compared with the other SD dvd's available....Recommended...!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
So, I love Steely Dan, and Donald Fagen's solo efforts: I have done for several decades. Comes my birthday, comes this DVD as a present. A quiet couple of hours, a big screen TV, the sound up loud, some beer and ... yay! Here we go!

Oh, but what a let down!

The video production is amateurish, the camera work very suspect, whoever did the sound mix should have been shot, the band (even Donald) seem like they're struggling to keep it together, they try to weave that 'Dan magic but, sadly, they pretty much fail. The girl backing singers consistently drown out Donald rather than doubling and sweetening his acerbic voice as they should do. It goes on and on, the whole thing is a mess and only when Michael McDonald comes on ("Peg" and so on) do we get even a small hint of how good it might have been.

Donald and Walter make some risible attempts at showmanship at various points, but they really are not cut out for that stuff.

The band try hard and do briefly attain some moments of excitement, but they are soon cut short by some new problem.

Whether it was under-rehearsal, bad production team, bad venue, technical problems, some kind of team split or whatever, this simply does not work for me.

The liner notes say the band always perform with "passion", well no, sorry I didn't see a lot on display here.

Alan T
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2011
Covering a lot of the older tunes in Steely's repertoire, this is a great concert dvd.
It's only let down is vhs picture quality and some iffy camerawork.
Apart from that, there's some great grooves to enjoy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
In other words: the very best. If you like musicality to be cerebral rather than visceral you'd have to admit there is no-one better. Such a fantastic back catalogue of songs and top musicianship throughout. Ok the camera work occasionally leaves something to be desired but there is so little of the Dan available on quality DVD that this is indispensable..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
Why on earth has this DVD been allowed to released for general consumption? With all of the technology and expertise available you'd think they could produce something with a decent 5.1 sound. Also, the picture quality leaves a lot to be desired and there is a general air of "sloppiness" about the whole thing.
Having said all of that I have to admit to being a Dan fan so have tried hard to put all of these issues to one side. And having done that I have to admit to enjoying it. But, if only somebody had taken more care. As an aside, one has to ask why they have moved so far away from what they produced in the early days before their journey into funk/jazz and away from the wonderful melodic craftsmanship that is self-evident on their albums prior to Aja. I still love them though.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2011
This North Carolina concert from back in '06 (I think) is a good record of Donald and Walter's wonderful touring band of the second half of the decade. Keith Carlock and Freddie Washington lay down a great groove, the perfect foundation for those wonderful songs. Highlights, and there are many, include a very jazzy "I got the news", a sultry "Dirty Work" featuring the excellent CIndy Mizelle and Carolyn Leonhart, and the old warhorse "Do it again", with guest Michael McDonald singing lead.

The lighting's not fantastic, but it's a decent dvd of a great band at the top of their game. Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
I bought this DVD as a Christmas present for my other half as he is a big Steely Dan fan (as am I). The DVD was of very poor quality. Parts of the DVD did not work. The parts that did were not good. Bad lighting, poor sound quality. Bad recording. This should not really be on sale.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
A gr8 enjoyable concert..same as 2013 tour. This is a bootleg with poor video..the pic is out of focus if the lighting on the subject is dim & then it moves into focus when the lighting appears. Gr8 setlist of their best hits. The audio is ok. It is an inexpensive dvd so it is good to have it in your dvd collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
(from France)
Released by non professionnals with tired musicians. Bad lights; Donald without voice; movements of cameras made by someone who does'nt know the songs. For fans but not for a first approach of the band
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)