Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
28
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£22.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2010
I only like the one song to be honest....the 'Get Money Song'...
The rest of the album is okay but just a bit too low tempo for me though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
Only recently rediscovered Erykah Badu. Actually bought 3 of her albums in one go and for some reason didn't get into them initially. But decided to make a concerted effort to listen again whilst on summer holiday. I became obsessed with all of them and wouldn't/couldn't listen to anything else for quite some time. Now own all of her stuff and can't wait for a new release.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2011
This is the most amazing album i've ever listened to. Erykah Badu is incredible, her lyrics and music are multi layered, full of sparkling deep dark soul, universal love and natural earthly love. Some tracks sound like ancient truth teachings, with others that you can dance to or just listen to the evolutionary poetry, far ahead of its time, infused with magical humour, science, dreams and goddess-like imagination and vision. I might have smoked something. This album is full of surprises, so buy two copies and keep one.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
Following on from her near perfect neo soul release "Baduizm", Erykah Badu has been much more experimental, delving into hip-hop, funk and rock. This has led to some of her music being occasionally erratic, nonsensical and lacking in melody. Her fifth release "New Amerykah Part 2: Return Of The Ankh" is mainly very soulful and contains just a hint of experimental sounds. On the whole, this album is good and only contains a few mediocre tracks.

"20 Feet Tall" has an interesting heavy bass, but its melody does not seem to go anywhere and the song sounds a little monotonous as a result. "Window Seat" is a very good slice of soul and funk, and is reminiscent of "Didn't Cha Know" from her second album "Mama's Gun". "Turn Me Away" has a very appealing groovy vibe, the vocals and melody reminding me a little bit of Macy Gray. "Gone Baby, Don't Be Long" is nicely repetitive as it flows perfectly, having a cool rythym, but "Umm Hmm" is a bit too bland. "Love" has a great bass and is very addictive and "Fall In Love" is another groovy song. On the experimental side, the two interludes "Agitation" and "You Loving Me" are very jazzy and "Incense" is a dreamy and mainly instrumental track with harp and weird sounds and voices. The final track "Out My Mind, Just In Time" is a 10 minute long jazzy affair with a quiet piano and vocal introduction and then a change in direction from 2 minutes onwards. All of these tracks work and make the album more interesting.

Most of this album is reminiscent of her first two albums which is a really good thing. However, it does not quite live up to them. But it is a good return to form and a much better effort than her previous album "New Amerykah Part 1: 4th World War".
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Erykah Badu is a rare artist, not only because of her unique sound, but for the "love-it-or-hate-it" way she sounds for the world. If you like black music, this is your CD - Badu has a groovy shaky beat, with provocative lyrics and some spice on her voice! But, if you're not that into the rhythm, you may dislike completely the album - she is kinda crazy, the lyrics talk about the spacial stuff, and try to promote a peaceful world with the help of the old Egyptians gods! So I recommend this album for those who enjoy the sound of black music, not to inexperienced ones.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 April 2010
After the change of direction of New Amerykah Part I, Erykah Badu returns to more familiar territory with Part II, going more down tempo and hitting more of the neo-soul sound that she forged.
"Window Seat" and "Gone Baby, Don't Be Long" are some of the more immediate highlights, bringing to the fore the loops and grooves that define the album's sound, similar to how was seen on her 2003 album "Worldwide Underground".
Much like with that record there is more live instrumentation, a freer feel to the record (unlike New Amerykah Part I). The difference in art work for the two New Amerykah album covers serves as the best way to appreciate the sonic differences between the two.
Lyrically the album is more along traditional Badu lines too, focussing on romance, love and relationships, rather than taking the more political line heard on New Amerykah Part I.
Badu has said the album is "the sister of the left side of my brain - it is the right side. Part I was the left side of my thoughts - it was more socially political and my thought process was more analytical. This time there wasn't anything to be concerned with - the album is more emotional and flowy and talks about feelings. It reminds of the days of 'Baduizm'."
When the album hits its groove it is as good as any classic Badu tracks, but there are a few tracks that deviate a little from the albums feel and, stop the album being a five star record. "Agitation" is a good track, piano laden, but it just sits a little off for me. Ditto the following track, a cover of Sylvia Striplin's "You Can't Turn Me Away", which gets a little more tedious with every listen.
This is intelligent R&B, but the flowing feel that the album goes for is broken by a couple of rogue tracks that stop it developing the seamless feel of her earlier records and fellow soul legend Marvin Gaye.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
"New Amerykah Part 2" seems designed to split the Badu fanbase right down the middle. If you felt the freaky, funky space-jams on "Worldwide Underground [Bonus Tracks]" and "New Amerykah Part One (4th World War)" then you're likely to find this a pretty tame affair. If, one the other hand, you "prefer the early stuff" - the classic neo-soul of "Baduizm" and "Mama's Gun" then this will seem more like a welcome return to form.

Given their close working relationship, it's no shock that the J Dilla's influence is once again heavily felt on Miss Badu's fifth proper LP, with the super-smooth "Love" produced by, and dedicated to, the late James Yancey. What's maybe more surprising though is the spectral presence of another deceased hip-hop star, the Notorious B.I.G. "Turn Me Away", probably the album's standout track, borrows (make that straight-up jacks) the bassline from the Junior M.A.F.I.A.'s "Get Money", while "Fall In Love" references a classic Biggie verse with it's "slow singing, and flower bringing" hook.

Personally, I can't help feel it's a big of a retrograde step, musically speaking. The neo-soul sound isn't as fresh as it was a decade ago, and there's little of the invention and sheer funkiness of her last album. It's also worth mentioning that the iTunes version of the album has an extra track that you don't get on the CD. That track is a collaboration with Lil Wayne though, so depending on how you feel about Weezy that's either a reason to opt for the download, or avoid it like the plague.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
Erykah Badu is a great singer/songwriter but apart from her debut album her albums have always been somewhat ht n miss affairs,some great tracks marrried with some stinkers and self indulgent nonsense. Well this is basically more of the same. tracks like window seat, Umm Hmm and Gone baby,don't be long have that special Badu magic but rubbish like 20 feet tall, Love and 2 tracks that are barely over a minute long spoil an already short album. At only 11 tracks deep 2 of these are only about a minute long so 9 tracks proper is all your getting folks. Erykah has been making the same album for yrs and i just wish she would drop some of the self indulgence that has permiated her albums since her stunning debut.

Worth picking up but there's only 4 poss 5 tracks worth geting excited about.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
Loving this album. Standout tracks are Window Seat, Love and Incense. If I was to fault this album it would be on the running duration- At just over 50 mins. Erykah Badu is an amazing artist. I guess a lot of her appeal lies in her cryptic nature. I love the fact that her work has depth to it. Go Ms Badu!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2010
I was really looking forward to this album and it does not disappoint. It continues to the explore the musical themes from New Amerykah Part One to create a more "love" based album. However, there are still some amazing political messages the key one being about female empowerment.

It will take a few listens to really get into, and some of the tracks do sound very low tempo seventies funk, it isn't her first album which is still mindblowing to listen to today, but nevertheless I enjoy New Amerykah Part Two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.45
£6.74

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)