Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
225
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2017
This story is a very realistic view. The war in Afghanistan is very much out of view for most people and for most people there daily lives just go on the same day after day so to see an adaptation of what life is like for many ordinary people in Afghanistan it really opened my eyes to what is really going on over there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
Just about what happened
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
Worth watching but doesnt really grip you like Greengrasses other films (inc, 'Bloody Sunday' which is excellent).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Movie fans who like Paul Greengrass's handling of thrilling chase sequences in the Bourne movies that he directed won't be disappointed here. The last act of the movie follows the pursuit of an Iraqi general by two separate groups -- one that wants him dead and one that doesn't -- and it's quite marvelous how Greengrass keeps the pursuits clear enough in our minds, especially since we are talking about night-time military operations in an urban setting. There are lots of narrow passages, narrow streets, people dashing in and out of doors -- in fact, remarkably like the kind of thing that I saw in "The Adjustment Bureau," which also featured Matt Damon. But that movie was pure entertainment: here something is at stake, at least in the minds of the pursuers: nothing less than the future of Iraq, or rather, two competing versions of the future. Interestingly, the movie isn't simply favoring one of these over the other, as the end of the chase makes clear -- and in the interest of not spoiling that ending, I'll just leave it at that. But it is the characters' beliefs about what matters that does give weight to the chase, so that it's not an empty thrill. If it were, the movie could be legitimately be criticized as exploitation.

There's more to the movie than the chase, though. The first part is about Matt Damon's character, Chief Warrant Officer Roy Miller, realizing that the intelligence his troop is working with to enable them to find and secure WMD sites is useless -- and he begins to suspect that he and possibly American policy makers have been deliberately misled. In the Green Zone, the American HQ in central Baghdad, he finds that a high-level official, Clark Poundstone (Greg Kinnear, smoothly togged out in civvies) won't listen when he tells him that there seem to be no WMDs. The official clearly has one eye on pleasing his superiors in Washington and one on keeping the news media believing the WMD story. He insists that the WMDs are there and that Miller just needs to look harder. Also in the Green Zone is a CIA officer -- a long time Middle East hand called Martin Brown (Brendan Gleeson, all rumpled authenticity) -- who already deeply suspects that there are no WMDs and who is sympathetic to Miller's frustrations. The movie does a good job in suggesting the contrast between the comfort and seeming efficiency of bureaucracy in the Zone and the chaos in the Baghdad streets and the ugliness in the prisons. It's possible to see things getting a little schematic here -- the real conflict in the movie isn't between Americans and Iraqis but between bureaucratic American types whose main interest is PR and people whose ears are closer to the ground, like Miller and Brown, who can't see a stable Iraq being built if the reasons for going to war aren't good ones. As characters, then, the Americans tend to be simply morally categorized to an extent that they are pretty one-dimensional as characters. Interestingly, the more complicated characters are Iraqi -- Miller's translator Freddy (Khalid Abdalla) and the Iraqi general Al Rawi (Yigal Naor) -- and their parts are very convincingly taken. However, Damon, Kinnear, Gleeson and Amy Ryan (as a Wall Street Journal reporter who has pushed the suspect WMD story as fact) are all fine -- if their characters are flatter, that's how they're written, and the actors work hard to make them credible, and they succeed.

Is the movie just liberal propaganda, as some reviewers who rank it low believe? I don't think so -- the facts of the origins of the war were beyond partisan dispute by the time this movie was released in 2008. Obviously, the pushers of the WMD story don't look good, but you don't have to be a political partisan see the damage they did. The larger question that hangs over the movie is the one of who should be responsible for the reconstruction, supposing that that is achievable -- a question still very much in doubt as I write in 2014. So --yes, the movie does simplify and flatten some things, but it doesn't trivialize the conflict and the issues, and it is very well made and well acted.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
blinding film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
very good dvd thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Matt Damon' teams up again with director 'Paul Greengrass'( Bourne) to bring us this exciting and perhaps relevent war story.
'Chief Miller' (Matt Damon) leads a unit in the search for 'Saddam's' 'WMD' just a few weeks into the 'IRAQ' war.
Site after Site comes up empty, which begins to make 'Miller' suspicIous of the motives of the conflict.
When a Iraq citizen offers help to find members of 'The Pack of Cards' obstacles and intimidation from his own side leads 'Miller' to uncover a truth, and conspiracy, that the 'u.s' public should not hear ?
This film is 'action-packed' and fast moving , i was well pleased with my purchase of the film........well worth adding to your collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
This is a thought provoking and gritty film, and very well done it is too. Matt is on form for this film and worked really hard to bring his character to life.

The film is very well shot and scripted and the locations are spot on as well as the military know-how as well. The story is fantastic and its fluid.

Camera angles and sound really make you think you are right there in the action.

Overall this is a fantastic film and if you also like Jason Bourne films you will love this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2010
I think it is amazing how much criticism Green Zone gets for its 'grainy' look during dark scenes. It is supposed to be like that. Its the way it was shot!

Visibility is reduced in darkness, and the director wants to create a lifelike scening. When you walk around outside during the dark, everything isn't crystal clear. In that way Green Zone is a very realistic movie!

I fully understand why people find it annoying, but don't blame the blu ray. If you really got an urge to blame someone, blame the director. I sure don't as I think it adds to the realism.

But enough about that. I believe its a great movie with a very thrilling plot, and I am never left bored during the movie. I can only give my warmest recommendations, and therefore reward it with 5/5 stars. Matt Damon is a very appealing actor, and I believe him to be one of the best in the genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)