Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
46
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2010
I had high hopes for this book as I enjoy watching Jonathan Ross on his chat show and find him really funny. The first couple of chapters were really good and funny but the book peaked at that point for me. There were odd flashes of Ross genius throughout the rest of the novel but overall it was dull. A word of warning, this book will probably bore anyone who isn't in their late forties like Ross as he makes lots and lots of references to growing up in the sixties and seventies that you just won't get (as I didn't).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
Comes across as a very likeable guy.Brought up in a big familly with not a lot of money. He does show a lot of respect for those who have helped him him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
Ross explains how meeting a small hairless tai chi master on vacation in Tripoli changes his life forever. Oh and he can't get enough of After Eight Mints. Also goes on about his hair a lot. I can only give it one star though on account of the fact that I was somewhat constipated at the time of reading, and, athough recovered now, will always associate this book with that unpleasant bunged up sensation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Well, you wouldn't be thinking of buying this unless you like Jonathon Ross, so I shall assume you do. I do as well, he is a quick witted guy that does push the boundaries while using his charm and confidence to take the edge off you realising just how close to the edge he has gone. Occasionally he will make a mistake, such as with the Russell Brand affair, and stupid though that was, if you skirt near the knuckle, then sometimes you will go too far.

This book is more a collection of random thoughts, although there is a little about his background and growing up, less of an autobiographical slant, more positioning his story. I think he is trying to capitalise on his off-piste ramblings that you might hear on his radio show, and while it is entertaining enough, it does not have the sharp wit and spontaneity of being live. His stories vary from the fight against head lice to his early dabble as a punk, all gently amusing stuff that will bring a smile to yourself, but not enough to make you laugh out loud.

Ross comes over as a very nice and genuine guy who knows he is lucky but does not seem to have let it go to his head. The written word is perhaps not the best vehicle to enjoy his talents, but this is still easy to read and entertaining enough. Not bad but no stunning laugh a minute classic.
44 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 8 December 2008
Jonathan Ross - a man you either love or hate. To some he is an ego-centric bore and to others he has his finger trigger on the modern pulse of humour. The truth, as it normally is, is somewhere in between. If you find his brand of humour funny then buy this book - you won't be disappointed. My biggest complaint about this book was the lack of punk rock in it! C'mon Jonathan, sort it out - we know you are an old punker - be proud of your 'Hersham Boy' roots.
If you like irreverent books then I also recommend the book: One Love Two Colours: The unlikely marriage of a Punk Rocker & his African Queen, by Margaret Oshindele - a non-celebrity slice of real life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2010
A Book by Jonathan Ross is quite simply a genius idea. He does not fail to entertain, even though the written word is not as seemingly powerful as seeing him on TV on a Friday Night, it is indeed, perhaps even more powerful.

I enjoyed this book mainly for selfish reasons though, he reminds me of me and at times I felt like I could have wrote this book.

That aside however, as a standealone book, laugh a minute almost guaranteed but at the end you will be scratching your head how you managed to miss that Jonathan Ross is in fact a perfect gent, and a hopeless romanatic, and for those very reasons this is the best part autobiographical book I ever read (and I have read 20+). Jonathan, thanks. However, please sir can I have some more?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2008
Somewhere in the preamble to this book Jonathan Ross refers to having recorded his thoughts on tape for transcription by his editors. This makes sense because the whole book reads like a series of disconnected whimsical rambles of the kind he frequently indulges in on his Radio 2 show. Whereas these come across as warm and spontaneous on the radio, in print they just seem lazy and poorly edited (and there are no records to break it up and provide a change in pace).

There is no story here to speak of, no real insights, no names named... just a lot of anecdotes largely concerning what it is like to be famous and rich with a few children and lots of pets - with a few anecdotes about what it was like to grow up a geeky kid in a large, working class household - running for buses and being shy with girls - thrown in for good measure. A few of them are funny, and I laughed out loud once or twice, but those few moments don't justify the padding around them.

I bought this book because for some reason I have some warmth and affection for Jonathan Ross. It has achieved the remarkable feat of making him LESS likeable, to me anyway - he comes across as a man whose extraordinary good fortune, and actual fortune, have disconnected him from the real world.

Apart from anything else such a lazy and self-indulgent ramble is a bit of an insult to the readers, an attempt to grab a bit more money in the runup to christmas by a man who has little need of it. Perhaps JR is a bit too used to being able to rely on spontaneous charm to substitute for actual effort. It might work in a spontaneous medium like radio or TV but not in a book.
22 Comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
I bought this book out of sheer curiosity, having been an one-off fan of Jonathan Ross for his entire television career. I expected the book to relate to the title, in memoir or autobiography style. although the book is a memoir, I can't claim to necessarily be any the wiser as to exactly why Ross does say these things.

Despite that, this book is both hugely enjoyable and memorable, as Ross guides the reader through a labyrinth of anecdotal delights and catastrophes. Laugh-out-loud moments and phrases litter the book, and it's impossible not to share some of his hilarious escapades in conversation. To pick out highlights would deprive potential readers of the joy of the journey of discovery.

Buy it - I very much doubt that you will regret it, irrespective of whether or not you are a fan of Jonathan Ross.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2016
Lisping, simpering, secondary modern, London claptrap. How this man entertains millions is beyond me. The moment he assaulted Andrew Sach's, he gave up his moral right to be considered a commentor on TV in my view. This man with his own disabilities should have shown more judgement. And has he apologised. Hell no, mealy mouthed when his income was threatened. There is nothing in this book that makes the man presentable. Jonathan Ross and Oswold Mosley, one aristocrat, the other a working class oik, both are anti-Semitic and both held the media in awe. Ross may have have a measure of success, but he is still the little cheap guttersnipe he was and always will be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
I have always liked JR's edgy humour but this is all a bit like trying to eat chocolate coated dough, Each anecdote starts off quite tasty but then kind of becomes a bit like hard work.He seems a nice laddish guy fffing about this and pooing about that but there is no real content to get to grips with, It feels like he did it just because everyone else was doing it. Each little revelation comes with its own disclaimer or hazy amnesia /get out clause. I am about half way through it might get better but not sure i can stick with it much longer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)