Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 27 August 2017
brilliant band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2017
Great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2016
What a voice , so happy to get this on vinyl , brilliant .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2016
Great band, fantastic live
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2010
I can well understand the two star review for this album; on first hearing it sounds like the soundtrack to the latest fratboy comedy that Hollywood loves to churn out these days. And the cover is just awful. Why they couldn't have put Lzzy in one of her classic rocker poses I do not know.

I got this album on the strength of the video for `It's not you' on Kerrang and haven't stopped playing it since. `Halestorm' completely rewards repeated listening, to the point where what you assumed was a three star album rapidly blooms into a five star one.

Halestorm have toured with Shinedown, and I would say they are very closely linked: both have a mixed bag of songs on their albums, but when they do hit the mark the best songs really make your jaw drop with the sheer brilliance, quality, power, emotion and richness. I'd say at least five of these fall into this category: "It's not you", "Dirty work", "Love/Hate Heartbreak", "What were you expecting?" and "Nothing to do with love".

I have noticed Halestorm the band being compared to Heart and I don't think that's unfair (especially in the area of exceptional vocals), just that they're harder rocking. If you really want to get the picture, imagine Heart fused with Stone Sour and that's probably about right.

In a market packed with boy bands posing as rockers, Halestorm the band and Halestorm the album are a breath of fresh air. Old school powerful rock `n' roll? Yes it is.

There are undeniably weak songs on this album but the strong ones are so exceptional and the overall experience so enjoyable that it would be unfair to give `Halestorm' anything other than five stars.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 May 2013
I said that after hearing the latest studio album (The Strange Case Of..) that I would indeed backtrack and purchase the maiden album from Halestorm - so, I've done that and I have to say that 'HALESTORM' has had a similar impact as TSCO!
For a maiden album, it's right up there uncannily sounding very Heart/Evanescence-like at times but with a heavier twist, and that's no bad thing at all! Lizzy certainly has a great range and feel for vocal dynamics!
Certainly, for me, there is no duffer lurking among the 11 tracks presented here and from the opening "It's Not You" through to "Nothing To Do With Love", taking in the beautiful "Familiar Taste Of Poison" we get hit with belting rock and ballads of the grown up variety.
I certainly am going to have to be present at the Alter Bridge/Shinedown/Halestorm gig later this year - I just hope that Halestorm are given sufficient time to put their message over to the fans of the bigger acts on the bill as they certainly are good enough to warrant that bigger audience and a headlining tour all of their own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2010
Halestorm's self titled debut album, produced by Howard Benson springs immediately into rock life with bouncy opener "Its Not You," which showcases a catchy riff with lyrics about confessing your love for someone who you're not with.
It's just about as heavy and hard as Halestorm get; singer Lzzy Hale has a powerful vocal range (think of a heavier version of Kelly Clarkson) which suits the music here just perfectly.
To be honest it took me a few spins to fully appreciate this record. It all sounded a bit thin and incomplete at first, but it now regularly does the rounds on my iPod, especially power ballads "Bet U Wish U Had Me Back" and the best track on here "Better Sorry Than Safe."
Elsewhere Halestorm flirt with a gothic rock sound on "Familiar Taste of Poison" before probably the best rocker shows up at track four with "Innocence."
In truth its all music that's been done a thousand times before, Halestorm do it well enough though which makes this record one of the best debut CD's of 2009 - shame many people won't even hear it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2010
3 - 4 minute long rock songs that go verse, chorus, verse, chorus, solo, chorus, end?
But wait... these songs are dangerously catchy. All of them. The vocals are very strong, providing a wide range of pitch.
The lyrics are pretty dirty - you wouldn't let your kids listen to this. This is party music for the rock fans.
It seems James Hetfield adopted a daughter with Nikki Sixx.
And she hung out with Hinder all day, every day.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)