Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2008
This book was a great read for someone like me who is not an expert on naval history as it was easy to get into and really made me feel I was there. The characters and situations felt realistic and engaging. The descriptions of the ships and the battles were clear and entertaining. The plot was original and thoughtful. I was not only entertained but afterwards felt much better informed about an important time in Britain's naval past. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2008
An excellent novel which deserves to be better known. Has a lot of well developed characters which gives good insight at all levels of the ships company and contains probably the best description of the Battle of Cape St. Vincent I've read in a fiction novel. Also seems to be a well developed back story for the characters as you get hints of their past on the 'Proteus' which leaves you wanting to know more. If you haven't read it, I recommend it and I'm looking forward to the sequel. The Jackass Frigate
review image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
A good Naval adventure with loads of action. I have to be honest I did at first think this was going to be another "routine" series but after the first one I just continued. The books follow on very well without any overly digression. The First Officer is an out and out bad lot and therein lies one of many problems for Captain Banks. He also seems to be harbouring a murderer on board with the motivation pointing at a few. Meanwhile the inescapable French seem to be swarming all over Europe with the assumed intention of swarming all over England. This is a well written book and well worth the read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
Excellent start to what looks like a really entertaining series. Rather than build a plot around a central character Bond has developed excellent storylines around a ships company with great success. Should appeal to all fans of Jack Aubrey and Thomas Kydd.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
The whole of the Fighting Sail series are very good,quite factual,always keeping the reader interested,unable to put this book down.A few of the main characters are carried through each book with King being one of them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
I loved this book. It was ideal escapism, fresh and fast paced. The way it incorporated real hero's and historical events around an intricate and twisiting story was refreshing. I am not normally a nautical fan but this book has converted me. The only problem was it came to an end.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
This book is rather different in that there is NO single hero (progressing from Cabin boy to Admiral).
Well researched it is the story of members of the ship's crew and personages of the day. The author keeps the reader interested and carries one with him throughout the tale. It is significantly different from other stories of its ilk - though it shows the harshness of those days not a single seaman is flogged and the story rather promotes the spirit and cooperation necessary to make a successful fighting ship in those days. A super read with plenty of action.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2010
What initially drew me to this book was the strange title and the unusual binding. The book itself lives up to the slightly unusual story line. The author is not reluctant to kill off major characters early in the story.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
A good follow up to the first book in the fighting sail series.

It was good to see some of the interesting characters from the first book reappearing. It was good to see how the battle of the "Glorious first of June" from a frigates viewpoint.

Enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
Fast and furious just what I like. I rushed through the book and could almost smell the sea breeze.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse