Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2010
now this is a classic, its a really good cross over to dvd, picture quality is excellent and ths sound is just as good, i love these early naive sci fi films and have always had them close to heart, man (and woman) zooming off into interplanetary space with minimal idea of what is out there, taking sandwiches and coffee and wearing iffy clothes, when you think that this is 20 years before the moon landings i think they did well and some parts are very accurate, but as with all films of this era its shows how little we actually knew about the moon and space travel in general, when you think that the trip to mars would take a year or so even with our technology, so doing it in rocket ship XM would have been...........................well what is sci fi if we don`t have any immagination, a great flim and good value for money if 50s sci fi is your thing
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
It can not be be reviewed simply because it is not yet available. I hope when it finally arrives , it will be better than the ordinary quality of the one presently available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I viewed the 2000 restored DVD which was done very well. The film was interesting from a cultural and lack of science point of view as compared to today. The tittle of the film stands for Rocketship Expedition Moon, but REM would cause confusion decades later when the band by the same initials would show up on the scene, so good foresight on that one, but alas it stops here.

During the trip while meteors were missing the ship, Lloyd Bridges was hitting on Osa Massen. In that day and age the reporter asked, "Why have a woman on the trip?" instead of "Why Not a woman in space?" And yes meteors made whooshing sounds in space.

The gauges all say "General Electric" and the earth actually does have longitude lines, something I thought man simply conceived. There was no "Tang" on the mission, but they did serve sandwiches and zero gravity only affects flight jackets, not people.

The navigator is an astronomer, because God knows without a professional astronomer to direct the rocketship to the moon, they might go off to some other planet like Mars...which they did and without a prime directive. Here they missed out on Rock Creatures, Insect society, and Hungarian accent leaders so they can make a South Park statement about nuclear war, something like "Nuclear War is bad. Okay."

And during the film, they "go around" the earth, travel "parallel" to it, but never do they use the word "orbit."
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Rocketship X-M was really one of the first good science fiction films of the 1950s, and its influence can be seen in the slew of space movies released throughout that decade. In some ways, it is the quintessential science fiction film of the era; it sends a crew of four men and one woman into space for the first time, and these characters actually get a chance to express their own personalities during the journey. While the science of the film misses the mark in a number of ways, the filmmakers did not rely on alien "monsters" to help the story along. The movie has a message, and its plausibility and rather unhappy conclusion bring that message home to viewers. The film also reflects to some degree the culture of the time in terms of gender, sporting a number of chauvinistic lines sure to rankle many modern viewers.
Our intrepid crew for this secret first manned spaceship launch consists of ship designer Dr. Exum (John Emery), navigator Floyd Graham (Lloyd Bridges), engineer Major William Corrigan (Noah "Rockford's Dad" Beery, Jr.), some less important guy played by Hugh O'Brian, and brilliant female chemist Dr. Lisa Van Horn (Osa Massen). When Floyd isn't navigating, he's putting the moves on the cold and aloof Lisa. Things go swimmingly at first (with the ship, not with Lloyd's advances), but then a problem with the fuel mixture (sure – blame the woman) causes the engines to die. When Dr. Van Horn defends her computations, she is treated to a few chauvinistic remarks about acting like a woman; the great and mighty men figure things out on their own, and before you know it everyone is knocked unconscious and the Rocketship X-M (which was supposed to land on the moon) finds itself flung out into deep space. As luck would have it, though, they wake up to find themselves within reach of Mars and take advantage of the opportunity to land there. This is a Lippert film, so you knew there would have to be many scenes of people climbing hills and mountains somewhere in it. Well, the crew members make a few discoveries about the state of past and current life on the red planet and try to make it back home to spread the word to the people of earth – it's your basic nuclear was is bad kind of advice. The ending is not a happy one by any means, but it does serve to further man's (or at least science fiction script writers') determination to explore outer space.
There's nothing fancy at all about this movie, yet it really does deliver the type of message a science fiction film should carry. Along with the science, weak as it turned out to be in places, and a "scientific moral" to the story, we actually get to see characterization come to life before our very eyes (especially in terms of Floyd and Lisa). I think this 1950 film deserves to be called a classic in its field, and it still has much to offer all fans of science fiction.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2001
For over fifteen years i had always believed that George Pal's sc-fi epic Destination Moon made in colour in 1950 was the first serious space movie,but i was to be proved wrong. Actually filmed in B&W in 1949 by the Lippert Studios and released in 1950 (thus pipping Destination Moon to the post) Rocketship X-M was to be the first of the serious space adventures. Having never seen this film before on tv i assumed that it was low grade B-movie entertainment similar to Queen of Outer Space
or Robot Monster and not worthy of being shown to the masses, but i was pleasantly surprised. This film ranks amongst the best of the 50's sci-fi classics and certainly started the genre, ok so it may lack special effects (shots of the ship in space flight would have helped) but once they reach mars the effects increase to produce a wonderful pinkish view of the surrounding terrain (which was actually filmed in california's Death Valley in sepia color). Good stiff upper lip performances from it's stars (look out for a young hugh o'brien)an eerie music score from Ferde Graffe and a good storyline make this one a science-fiction classic and a must have for every serious sci-fi movie collector.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
This is the very first of the genera and even though it was cheaply made it is still very fascinating to watch. The technology is very simple and perhaps the plot becomes a bit unbelievable, nonethless it is excellect because all the actors seem like real people and the ending is very unusual indeed and very sad. I am looking forward to the new DVD version which is coming in a few years. Hopefully it will be a cleaner looking copy of a true classic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Great flim interesting to see how space travel was veiwed at that time, and although there were set backs ,they were determined to carry on into the final frountier.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
I loved this film when I saw it as a nine year old in 1951. I love it now. I don't mind at all that a review in 2002 branded it as "one of the fifty worst movies ever made". I don't care either that the meteor storm apparently was made by throwing potatoes wrapped in silver foil at the camera!
This is a 1950s protest against nuclear weapons. Pretty brave stuff so early on in the Cold War, Mc Carthyism and all that. Keep a sense of humour, pour yourself a glass of white wine, then sit back and enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 June 2004
Yep this movie is as fun and forward looking as they say. What I found fascination from the beginning was the equipment. The short-wave radio barely reached to space. The gages were an altimeter and an air speed indicator (what air?) and I liked the airplane throttles for the rocket speed. A 1000-LB fuel tank need moving so Major William Corrigan says "I used to throw a 1000 LB steer over my shoulder every morning" Colonel Floyd Graham replies "Are you sure that wasn't a bull?"
The first manned rocket (looks like a V2 shape), is pointed at the moon. Through a series of mishaps and miscalculations, it ends up on Mars. Once on mars that looks like Red Rock Canyon, Mojave, California, USA and Death Valley, California, USA, the crew discover a secret that is vital for Earth to know.
Do they make it back?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Modest early trek into outer space and for fans of early Sci-Fi definitely worth viewing. There is however a slight production problem on this package which comes across as jerky movement in panning shots, so do not expect a perfect picture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse