Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
334
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 August 2014
Book 3 continues the adventures of Percy Jackson. Attempting to rescue two new demigods from a monster, Percy, Annabeth and Thalia encounter The Hunters of Artemis escorting the Goddess. With Annabeth`s disappearance, Artemis begins a new hunt for an ancient monster while the hunters are sent to Camp Half blood.

There, The Oracle speaks a new prophecy, and five demigods leave to search for Artemis. Action follows action and leads to the location of both Annabeth and Artemis but there are further twists to be resolved.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
Just started to read this book and enjoying already.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Enjoyed all the percy jackson storys in this collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
10 year old daughter loves these books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Brilliant
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2007
The SEA OF MONSTERS ended with a bang, with another child of the three gods emerging from the tree guarding Camp Half-Blood. Percy Jackson now has his hands full in THE TITAN'S CURSE, the third volume of the series.

When he answers an urgent call from his best friend, Grover, at a school in Maine, unexplainable things start happening. Grover has found two more half-bloods, who are siblings, but the assistant principal is a powerful monster in disguise. Grover will never get the half-bloods to camp without help. Percy, Annabeth, and Thalia set off for Maine to help Grover, but don't realize that they're walking into a trap.

Dr. Thorn, the assistant principal, has some tricks up his sleeve. When Artemis, Goddess of the Hunt, arrives, things get out of hand. Dr. Thorn falls off a cliff with Annabeth. Artemis goes after her and everyone else returns to Camp Half-Blood. Here, they try to act as normal as possible, but two camper's dreams indicate severe trouble with both Artemis and Annabeth.

The Oracle speaks and five campers must find and bring back Artemis before the Winter Solstice. For the first time, Percy remains behind, but not by choice, and not for long. When Percy meets up with the group, the enemies start showing themselves--and the race to reach Artemis and Annabeth alive becomes more crucial. Can Percy save both them before the Winter Solstice?

THE TITAN'S CURSE leaves the reader hanging, waiting for several important questions to be answered in the final two books of the series. This fast-paced novel, along with the action, makes it a great series for fantasy lovers, reluctant readers, and anyone looking for a good story.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Great book perfectly setup for the next book in the series - George 10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 Unicorns - I loved it!!!!
***Borrowed the audiobook from the local library and I have a copy in paperback of the whole series :)

There several covers for this book as well, and I haven’t seen one that I didn’t like. The ones with Blackjack are my favorite though :)

I really do love listening to this series. Jesse Bernstein does an outstanding job as the narrator and I love all of his voices for the characters. In this book my favorite voice was for Blackjack :) Of course with Rick writing this fabulous series this wouldn’t be possible. His creativity astounds me. I love how he blends the real world with Greek mythology. It is masterfully done. My son and I love this series. I love all the life lessons and morals that are built into each story. Percy’s heart and courage always makes each story amazing, and he has some pretty amazing friends too (Annabeth and Grover) and he met a bunch of new friends too!!!

I recommend reading the books in order as it makes the characters and plot so much more as a whole :) I can’t even put it into words how fabulous this series is :)

I highly recommend this series especially if you need something to listen to in the car…borrow it from your local library!!! It is a great family series for everyone to enjoy :) We are off to start book 4 next :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
I am a 14-year-old girl and I started reading the books when they first came out. I was interested in Greek Mythology and found them interesting and absorbing. The characters were easy to relate too, especially as I was a similar age to them and they told the stories really well. Although I'm now above the age group they're aimed at I still enjoy reading them. I want to know what will happen to the characters - which is always good - and it's nice to know the main characters won't die because: a) It's a kids book, and b) because it isn't the last book in the series.

I'd recommend this to boys AND girls about 9-years-old and over. They are well written, enjoyable to read, not patronizing, and tell you a lot about Greek mythology
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you've been following this fascinating series, you'll already know that it is based on Greek mythology, with a touch of artistic license and a ton of humor. Apparently, the big three of Olympus (Poseidon, Zeus and Hades) had reluctantly agreed to stop popping over to earth and siring offspring with the local mortals, in order to nullify a prophecy that foretells certain disaster when said offspring reach the age of sixteen. However, gods will be gods, and as we pick up the story from The Sea of Monsters), we have two potentially dangerous demi-gods running around, namely Percy Jackson, star of the series and son of Poseidon, God of the Sea, and Thalia, who formerly had roots on Half-Blood Hill, and is the daughter of Zeus, Lord of the Sky. This is not to say that some of the other gods weren't busy as well, and the majority of the supporting cast is made up of children of the other residents of Olympus.

This third book of the planned five book series starts with a rescue mission to save two newly-discovered demi-gods from a monster attack, and during the battle, a daughter of Athena is taken, despite the timely arrival of Artemis, Goddess of the Hunt and her hunters. While Artemis sets off alone to hunt another monster that is destined to cause the downfall of Olympus, the rest are sent to Camp Half-Blood for their safety. While there, The Oracle (whose description makes her sound like Norman Bates' mummy) delivers a prophecy that leads to the rest of the action that packs book three from cover to cover.

To cut the story short, a team of five is chosen to set off in search of Artemis, but there is a last minute unplanned substitution, who has another quest or two to fulfill along the way. The route takes them through Manhattan and across the country to San Francisco, where our hero experiences what it's like to carry the weight of the sky on his shoulders.

Cool monsters, skeletal warriors and bad guys abound, as well as gods behaving badly and making bad haiku, but the most upsetting thing about this book is that after reading the ending, it will be a very agonizing and excruciatingly painful wait for books four and five. This is one of those series where you just gotta get them all.
[...]
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)