Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 19 May 2012
What a very well thought out piece of writing this is. One can read this in a linear fashion, as there is much that will be new to perhaps many readers, however the work is so well conceived, that one can dip into it selectively, by subject or concept. I can't think of another book which even comes close, both in terms of it's comprehensive coverage of the subject matter and for sheer readability. The text is a delight and surely a reflection of the authors lifelong love of his subject. Every school library ought to have a copy and every teacher of English ought to think creatively about how this wonderful work might be introduced into the classroom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
Crystal's magnum opus is an intricate study of everything to do with the study of English Language. As an A-level English teacher I have habitually dipped into my copy when preparing lessons, and have shared numerous excerpts with my students, as well as reading myself. This weighty tome is a must have for all English Language students, teachers and lecturers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
This is a cracking book that will last you ages.. it will take that long to read it all! good information well put together. You can see David Crystal on you tube, he speaks as well as he writes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2009
If David Crystal had written nothing else - and all that he has written is worth reading - this alone would justify his place among the ranks of the great linguists.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
This is a great book to be conversant in language issues. People always talk about accents and grammar but for some reason very few know anything about linguistics. Easy to read,.comprehensive and very entertaining
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2011
Since I saw it in the book shop I made up my mind about buying a language encyclopedia. It is incredibly useful as reference, deeply interesting if you are fascinated by the language, its structure, uses and dialectal and regional variations across the world. Great buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
David Crystal is highly regarded in the English language World, and this book refelcts that. As a first year A level student studying the subject i found this book great in detail and context. It can be used for study in a wide range of courses and degrees. The book isnt made to be read cover to cover and has easy to find sections on many aspects of the English Language from Basic grammar to Sociolinguistics. i would highly recommend this book for all types of people studying or taking an interest in english language.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
The delivery on this item was unbelievably fast and in brilliant condition. the book is a mine of information for anyone wanting to know about the development and use of the English language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
Absolute MUST HAVE for all English linguistic fans. Answers more Qs than any other linguistic publication, and I read it for pleasure as well necessity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
I am a mature student taking English Language 'A Level' and this is a useful source of information and explanations. Nicely laid out and accessible too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)