Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
535
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£11.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2010
Pretty small device (the main picture in the corner isn't far from being actual size!) but does what it needs to. Has a little switch on the back which toggles between immediate shot and a two-second delay (check that your camera supports it) which works a treat on my 550D.
Comes with its own little pouch which can attach to the camera strap.

Cool little device...

also, it can be used to start/stop video recording, assuming you've put the camera into video mode first :)
55 comments| 129 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
This is a great piece of kit for what it is and for the price.
Seems like a few people ordered this without understanding what it does or how it does it, so before buying read on,..

This is an infrared remote control (not wireless) so you have to point it directly at the receiver on the camera, which on most compatible cameras is on the front of the camera near or on the grip.
It works like your infrared TV remote by line of sight (although it may bounce off walls if you are inside).
It is unlikely therefore to work if you are behind the camera, if the lens is obstructing the sensor on the camera and definately will not work through walls or other obstructions.
Being infrared it is also affected by sunlight (which contains UV and IR light) so the range is reduced outside.

It is also only compatible with newer model Canon digital SLR cameras so check your manual before you buy to make sure your camera is compatible.

This remote is really ideal for taking pictures of yourself or you in a group to save you pressing the button, then running in front of the camera to take up a pose! Or taking shots from a tripod where you can point the remote at the front of the camera to save you pressing the button and introducing camera shake.
For the price, buy it and keep it in your bag for when you need it. For other applications, buy a more expensive wireless or cable remote...

Update
Had this remote for some time now and continues to work well, I can also confirm it works fine with a Canon 5D MKiii
0Comment| 124 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2011
This unit is really, really compact. As another reviewer has said, it's only just bigger than the product photo! It's a simple enough design with a single shutter release button on one side, and a tiny switch on the back that selects either single shot or 2-second timer release. Note that even if you set your camera to 10-second timer release, having the 2-second option selected on the remote will override it.

The remote comes with a tiny pouch that has a loop for threading it onto your camera strap. It also has a small eyelet near the bottom corner for attaching a wrist cord, should you wish to do so. It features a bumpy top surface with a raised shutter release button, so you can operate it without needing to look away from the camera. Finally, it takes CR2032 batteries which are cheap and easy to find.

The main issue I have with this remote, as do many others, is that it's infra red. This reduces the effective range in many situations, particularly outdoors on sunny days. Also, the infra red receiver on many EOS cameras is bizarrely located in the recess of the hand grip. This means that from camera left the lens can block the infra red signal, and from camera right with wide angle lenses the hand grip can do the same. Users need to be aware of this limitation when planning shots, and use a more appropriate piece of kit like a cable release or radio trigger if need be.

For the situations this remote is suited to, it works well. It's consistent, reliable, and discreet.

I'm taking off one star for the fact that the usefulness of the remote is hobbled by its reliance on infra red communication, and because it should be supplied with compatible models as standard instead of being used to gouge even more cash from loyal customers. Neither of those things is worth a whole star in its own right.
22 comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
Clearly this page hasn't been updated but I would just like to point out that this device does work with 600D, no need to thank me all at once guys!
88 comments| 148 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2010
I purchased this for my EOS 500d and works perfectly. Comes with a small carry pouch which attaches to the camera strap with ease. Bargain price usual Canon quality. Excellent service and communications from Avides Meadia. Thank you.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2010
Very easy to set up with EOS 7D camera - worked first time. Very simple but extremely effective in its use for cutting out camera shake and for including the photographer in the shot!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
As im sure must already be covered in the reviews here the sensor pick up for this remote is on the front the Canon cameras and their for very limiting. Another big limitation for me is when your camera goes into sleep mode the remote can not reactivate it. I had planned to use the remote to help me shoot garden birds so this would be very problematic with the long waits between shots .
44 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
I can't get this device to work at all with an EOS 7D (the product description says it should be compatible). I've tried it inside and out, pointing it at the sensor from all kinds of angles and from as little as half an inch away and with three different batteries, but no success. There is is no literature included in the box, not even the smallest piece of paper with the most basic instructions, so I assume it should be a straightforward point-and-click device. Online searches produce no information, just descriptions of how easy it is to use, so I assume there is no configuration or other process to get it working and that mine is just faulty or broken.

The item pictured on Amazon says "Canon" on it, but the one I have says "for Canon". A subtle difference maybe, but it makes me think that this is a knock-off made by some random company and not in fact a genuine Canon product. It was so cheap it is barely worth sending it back. I've no major complaints - you should be cautious buying any electronic device at this price - but I do feel I've been had a little by Amazon here because I've been sent something a little different from what is shown on the site. It is probably better taking a bit more care and spending just a little extra to give you a better chance of getting something that works.
77 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2010
This is good way to release the shutter whilst the camera is on a tripod, it avoids extra vibrations that might be caused if you should touch the actual shutter release itself. Instructions are minimal at best, the 400D handbook says very little although the 7D handbook is somewhat clearer. The camera sensor for this device is on the front of the camera which needs to be taken into account when using it. Generally good and for Canon quite cheap, even costs less than one of their lens hods!
22 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 31 March 2011
Just bought this to go with our new EOS 60D. It is tiny, has a neat little carrying pouch that fits on the camera strap, and does exactly what it says. You just set the camera to self timer (drive mode) and then you can either fire instantly or with a 2-second delay, selectable by a switch on the back of this unit. If you want to use bulb (B exposure) mode, one press on this will open the shutter, another press closes it - you don't hold the button down. Very neat.

The price to buy is OK, but these must cost pennies to churn out, they really should include one with these high end cameras. For many situations for more serious photography, it is essential.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 102 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)