Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

One Step At A Time
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 March 2017
Very good, but I wish it had a few more tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2017
Very Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2014
I have liked Status Quo for years,i wouldn't necessarily say i was a massive fan,but l had a couple of hits compilations which i often play.

I had recently purchased a blu ray player,and notice Francis Rossi live at st lukes for an amazing price.

I purchased it,and really loved it.Francis Rossi is a great showman and the solo material is brilliant.

when i saw the album for £3.99 on digital download,i wasted no time and purchased it.All the same are really catchy,some are very Quo and others not so.

If your a fan of Quo you will really enjoy this for obvious reasons,but i think it's also a great album for all tastes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2010
Was not expecting too much, but this album is one of lifes little surprises ! Great songs and melodies, which grab you and don't let go.Stand out tracks are Tallulahs waiting,One step at a time and Sleeping on the job. Really a very enjoyable CD which has been in my CD player since i got it.Buy and enjoy !
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2010
This is a real gem and probably the best material I've heard from Rossi or Quo in a long time. The tunes are catchy but consistently good. My favourites are the Title track "One Step at a Time" and "Faded Memory". If you like the lighter/poppy side of Quo you'll like this and it clearly leans towards Francis Rossi's love of country style pop rock. There are some good foot tapping tunes as well. Go buy it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2010
The long awaited follow up to mr rossi's king of the doghouse has been too long coming but this album is an absolute stormer, Every track is jaunty full of hooks and catchy tunes which are played and sung so well that this is without a doubt in my opinion one of the best albums of all time. From the opening track Sleeping on the job you know you are in for a treat, unlike doghouse which explored different musical styles this one is francis doing what he does best, rock boogie with melodies to die for, and this opening track sets the pace, It's a Back to back era quo sound with added female vocal harmonies which run through the song,and indeed the whole album and it gives francis's voice a very warm compliment indeed. As ive already stated every track is superb,for me one track of note is Here i go which sounds like going down town tonight part two,right down to the keyboard sound this is just sooo catchy its unreal! The single Faded memory sounds like marguerita time once again with beautiful female vocal harmonies that it doesn't get any better than this. Check out the version of the quo classic Caroline, this time the pace is slowed just a little and it gives this track a bluesy type feel but a very interesting take on the song indeed. So to sum it up if you love quo or if you want an album to cheer you up then don't think about it and go for it, you will love it. But please francis don't take another 15 years to make another solo album! Brilliant and worth so much more than 5 stars but as that's as many as i can give then that's ok.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2010
For those that won't give this album a chance because 'It Isn't Quo', should think again! Mr Rossi has come up with an absolute classic. His first solo outing, King Of The Doghouse, was 14 years ago, and this one knocks spots off it! Bluesy rock at it's best!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2010
The long awaited follow up to king of the doghouse from mr rossi is finally here and while it bears nothing in comparison with doghouse it's an incredible album and easily one of the best ive heard for years. The album sounds very much like early 80s quo, kind of like the back to back album era and every track on here is great every track! Kicking off the album is Sleeping on the job which sets the pace right from the start, it's upbeat happy boogie with a tinge of keyboards for good measure and really gets things off to a flying start. Next up is Tallulah's waiting, another jaunty number that is impossible not to start tapping your foot to. This trend continues all through the album. Here i go sounds like going down town tonight part 2, Soooo catchy with some great playing and beautiful female backing vocals which i may add compliment francis's vocals all the way through the album and it gives the sound a lovely full rich tone. I could go on but you get the idea, The single Faded memory is brilliant and reminds me so much of marguierita time. Another track of note is the quo classic Caroline, francis slows this down a little bit to a bluesy boogie fest, but it's an interesting take on the song and suprisingly gives it a new lease of life. Put simply if you love quo you are gonna love this album, if you love fantastic music jaunty music you will love this, It really is awsome and a must for anyones music collection! It's worth 100 stars, but 5 will have to do. Brilliant.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2015
Somewhat disappointing solo album from the Status Quo frontman, but not a big surprise as he had been writing this type of material for Quo for quite a while now.

Judged on it's own apart from the 12-bar riffing of the band, 'One Step at a Time' is a much lighter affair. Lighter meaning more middle-of-the-road and inoffensive; for many that is exactly what they'd like from a Rossi solo album, but for many others, it can sound at times like music to be played in the background; rather than a stirring musical piece of it's own.

Some of the melodies are quite good, though mainly they are quite bland. As Francis himself has said, his true musical loves are pop and country, not rock'n'roll; thus, any of the rockers on this album sound incredibly muted. Again, nothing wrong with this if that is to your taste, but for me, hearing such homogenised guitars didn't service the rock tracks and in turn they had to stand or fall based on the melody. That's where the problem lay; the melodies, while decent, are not good enough to make this album stand out as great; it's more 'pleasant' than great. 'Pleasant' can too often be forgettable, and as a collection of music, unfortunately I do feel it's somewhat forgettable. Decent, but lacking that spark or inspiration to elevate any of the songs to something great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2017
Some great new rocking songs.Glad I bought it after seeing Francis Rossi concert on tv
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)