Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
11
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 August 2010
I like this album as the masterful interpretation of classics such as "Mack the Knife" and "After you have gone" are charged with the personalty of Sinatra.

Here Sinatra at the age of 69 years revisits "Stormy Weather" which I find full of emotion and a sense of despair as he sings of lost love.

Quincy Jones complements Sinatra's voice with terrific arrangement's. George Benson and "The Hamp" guest and their presence is felt along with other accomplished musicians which bring a Jazz feel to this well produced late Sinatra recording.
The album still sounds fresh today as it has been meticulously recorded. There is also a VHS recording of the making of the album where you see Frank work with the other musicians on this late offering in the studio. He is wonderful to listen to.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
Does what it says on the tin !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2010
Whenever Sinatra ans Jones collaboarted they created magic like It Might as Well be Swing or Live at the Sands. In the 70s and 80s Sinatra's recording career had been somewhat laclustre. She shot me down, the last album before LA is my Lady, contained some beautifil songs and in man ways was taking up his classic torch song style of the 50s ans 60s. That excatly was the problem: the arrangements sounded like a blast from the past: everything was drowned in strings and the album sounded sameish and old fashioned. Here, Jones gives Sinatra a very fresh sound: it's a full and powerful big band sound but with a funky twist to it, especially in the very effective use of e-guitar and base. LA is my Lady contains both classic standards like Stormy Weather, Mack the Knife but also original material. I have always liked the late Sinatra because he still had an mamazing comand of his voice but is was crackling round the edgses, it had more character to it. The overall feeling of the album is light and cool a significant departure from the previous more melancholy productions. This is certainly the best and most mature studio album Sinatra produced in the 70s, 80s and 90s.
33 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 April 2016
I bought this just over a week ago as it was available cheap, and wasn't really expecting much. In fact given that it was recorded in 1984, when Sinatra was approaching 70 years of age its far better than I expected, and I've played it half a dozen times already.

Sinatra's voice is in pretty good shape, and if it isn't quite as good as 20 or 30 years earlier he still has a magical delivery. The orchestra conducted by Quincy Jones is superb, with an array of talented session/Jazz musicians:
The Brecker Brothers, Lionel Hampton, George Benson (playing some lovely guitar), Ray Brown and so on.

Highlights, well there's plenty including a swinging After You've Gone and Mack the Knife. When I first played the album I wasn't very impressed with the title track, which starts in a sort of vaguely contemporary (for then) Jazz funk mode, but after a few listens this has grown on me, as indeed has the whole album.

So whilst this isn't Songs for Swinging Lovers, Only the lonely or Live at the Sands, its still Sinatra in the Winter of career delivering the goods one last time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
age and wisdom suits SINATRAS voice.this album is one of his best of course that is a matter of opinion rather like billies columbia vs verve recordings.verve wins for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2016
Not Sinatra's best album but some great treats in his late period and Quincey Jones keeps it bubbling along - a fab Sunday morning spin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
Fine example of a class act working on home ground. This shows the way to work an audience by an expert.Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
Wonderfull music by the master musician and interpreter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
The arrangements and orchestration of Jones are great but Frank is definitely not in his best form, his voice is hoarse but his effort to make an adequate interpretation is commendable. Anyway, the album was the last of Sinatra, after this only made ​​the Duets with his former label Capitol. Recorded in August 1984.

Los arreglos y la orquestación de Jones son excelentes pero Frank definitivamente no está en su mejor forma, su voz es ronca aunque su esfuerzo por hacer una adecuada interpretación es encomiable. De todas maneras el album fue el último de Sinatra, después de este solo se hicieron los Duets con su antiguo sello Capitol. Grabado en Agosto de 1984.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
There's a story about this - well one track - and another CD I also ordered, but I won't go into it. This album rolls along quite nicely and is everything I expected. Great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£5.05
£5.44
£3.00
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)