Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16
Off Duty With Private Presley
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99

on 22 February 2010
Brilliant pictures of Elvis in the army man he sure looked good in uniform.Ive been an Elvis fan all my life ive never seen these photos. Theres 92 pictures.The CD is brilliant the sound quality's not brilliant. But what do you expect thers recordings are over 50 years old.A must for any Elvis fan.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2010
The home recordings made at Eddie Fadal's house in Waco, Texas, in 1958, were first released on the LP 'Forever Young, Forever Beautiful' (TCB Records), which I bought in 1978, and then bought one of the many CD re-releases, 'Home Made Recordings', in 1992. This has always been one of my very favourite of Elvis' home made recordings as it is unedited and a complete session, not just a selection of tracks put together. I wonder what the "30 unreleased tracks" refers to in the review of 'Off Duty With Private Presley' as there are only 35 tracks listed? Maybe this refers to the first authorised release, by FTD I presume, which looks like an outstanding package and well worth buying for anyone not familiar with these tracks.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2010
it's nice to see that memphis recording services have found this little gem, recorded in germany in The summer 1959, in Bad Nauheim, the home recording shows elvis at his best and relaxed at the piano with friends.
a home recording of elvis and his girlfriend Naita wood at eddie fadel residence in may 1958
over 60 mins of great songs and talking and messing around with elvis and friends with 30 tracks unreleased
these recording are released for the first time to the public,accompanying this audio cd a 100 page book with
stunning photos of elvis in the army,many which are unreleased and seen for the first time.
this audio-book comes with informative text and historical facts focussing on elvis presley at the time he was in the us army. it also gives details of the recording sessions both private and commerical,also there is 4 tracks that elvis recorded at the RCA Studio b in Nashville june 1958, this is a must for all elvis fans to bye so keep
the faith alive.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2010
I was really looking foward to this release as i own the bootleg(import) CD called "The Colonel's Collection" which was released in 1993,so when i noticed on amazon.co.uk that this rare and unreleased "home recording" was being released to the public domain for the very first time i was extremally happy indeed!-i wasn't disapointed when it arrived and the book style CD case was a real treat to the eyes(beautful rare&unseen pics of Elvis in his army days)the Cd not only had the "bootleg" home recording that was held in summer 1958 at Eddie Fadell's home in texas,but it also had a home recording session from 1959(bad nauhiem,germany)aswell as the Ray Barracks interview,october 2nd 1958!!-some of these "home recordings" from Bad Nauheim in 1959 have been 'officialy' released by RCA/BMG(only 5 songs from the 1959 home recoordings),so it is better to finaly own the "complete session" at Bad Nauheim in Germany in summer 1959(i wonder if thier is more unheard home recordings??),.i like hearing Elvis on the piano and you get to hear him sing and fool around whilst playing the 'piano' at these rare home recordings,.almost like being a fly-on-the-wall!!.
Every Elvis Fan will welcome this exciting release,aswell as the fans who never managed to get hold of the deleted bootleg CD from 1993.."The Colonel's Collection"(MAC records,1993.),even if you were one of the lucky Elvis fans to get hold of this bootleg CD from 1993..youhave to get this new release aswell as it is more 'complete' and the book is well worth the £12.99 alone!!-beautiful photo' of Elvis in the Army and off base and rare publicity pics..a real treat and some thst i never have seen before!!!-All-in-all a must have CD/BOOK set for ALL the Elvis Fans.(10 outta 10)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2010
This is a must for any Elvis fans, many previously unseen photographs ( I thought I'd seen them all!). The C.D gives a great insight into the private Elvis and his time in Killeen Texas, with Anita Wood and Eddie Fadal. The sound quality is quite good considering it was a simple home recording. All in all very good value and a very attractive item.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2014
What can I say that already hasn't been said about Elvis , this is not the best collection I have heard but it is still streets ahead of any of the rest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2013
This was ordered for my dad as a Christmas gift - he loved it. He has almost every Elvis CD probably but still liked this one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2013
like to get more material such as this thats not been heard. rehearsals or otherwise thats been un-released until now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2010
SIMULAR TO THE HOME RECORDINGS & JUNGLE ROOM SESSIONS IF YOU LIKE THEM YOU WILL LIKE THIS AND THE BOOKLET HAS SOME GREAT PICS OF ELVIS FROM THE ARMY DAYS VERY GOOD THIS ONE.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2016
Have been looking for these special items for a long time...very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)