Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
25
4.2 out of 5 stars


on 20 July 2012
Visions of Distant Shores: An Andre Norton Collection (Seven Andre Norton novels in one volume!)

A nice collection of short stories with a range of adventures on distant planets and intergalactic politics, etc. A nice read to pick up and put down in spare moments
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
to be fair it was an ok read but not the best if i am frank but as a free book it passes and afternoon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 February 2011
Andre Norton (born Alice Mary Norton) was born in 1912 and died in 2005. Publishing originally under various noms de plume including Andrew North and Allen Weston, she was a prolific writer of science fiction, fantasy, romance and adventure. During her lifetime she had more than three hundred stories published and was still writing when she died aged 93 in 2005.

This collection concentrates on her early science fiction writing and contains four full length novels, two shorter novella length works, and one short story. Andre Norton was awarded the Gandalf Grand Master prize in 1977 for her science fiction works and was the first woman ever to receive this award.

This collection features works written between the late 1940s up until the 1960s.

I was pleasantly surprised at how fresh most of these stories feel. Only one (Voodoo Planet) feels even remotely dated. The rest have stood the test of time very well. This is mostly because of Norton's superb literary style. Her writing is concise and precise and without resorting to overly complex technical descriptions she is able to create living and believable worlds populated by exciting and interesting characters.

This collection is also presented really well on the Kindle. Formatting is well up to standard throughout, there is a full active table of contents and it even has a cover picture.

Any one of the first four stories would have been worth the 71 pence price of this collection on its own.

If you are looking for some classic "pulp" style science fiction adventure stories then you really can't go wrong with this collection. There is a lot of quality reading here that is well presented on the Kindle for a very cheap price.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
great sampling of a n's works...a major influence on generations of writers and readers...a solid craftswoman, in charge of her language, her plots and her humane philosophy...one of the first to write hero/ines who were not always blond and blue-eyed, from other cultures than the protestant northern european...i do not know if i like her linked space universe stories, or her linked witch world stories best, but they are all good..this is an adequate collection...recommended...but...why, oh why does the android/robot on the cover have mammalian breasts? is it going to birth live babies, who need to drink liquid what? helium? weird...metal breasts? strange cover illustrator...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Visions of Distant shores is a collection of stories written by Andre Norton under various pen names like Andrew North just to name one.Each story takes us to various worlds, she manages to build worlds, people and mannerisms both of human and non-human beings.If you like high tech Sci - Fi then you will be disappointed, these stories deal more with people rather than giving details of how something works as it just does, if you can accept that fact then you will enjoy as I have.It is a shame that this talent has now passed on but her books remain to remind us of her talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
This is a good selection of quality sf with a mixture of themes to enjoy but not Norton's best in my opinion. They are still good reads despite this, but not essential. I would like to see the Witchworld series collected as I liked them. Buying quality sf like this on Kindle is easy and arguably better than building more bookshelves, even if I had somewhere to build them. Recommended for Norton fans but less so for the casual reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
This is a good collection of Andre Norton stories of varying lengths. They need to be read with an understanding of the considerable amount of time that has passed since they were written. Most seem very dated which sits uncomfortably with the futuristic theme. Norton, however, is a writer of considerable skill and imagination, and this goes a long way. The last two stories are the weakest by far...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2011
As to be expected, very well written. Clever concepts and well paced action. I enjoyed the full collection and would have been happy if I had paid five times the asking price
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
I like science fiction, and andre Norton I enjoy his stories and he is one of my favourites. I enjoy owning a kindle because it means I can read a variety of books, and not worry about space to store them.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
These stories were written a long time ago but conjure up great visions of different worlds. Clearly the author is a good story teller, a bit like Asimov and I guess a contemporary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse