Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
26
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.29
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2008
NAZARETH The Newz
Edel Records
Nearly ten years on from "Boogaloo" Scotland's premier rock band come blasting back with a brand new collection of thirteen songs. I am completely justified in reviewing this album from a Blues perspective because "The Newz" is shot through with influences that stretch back through time. Make no mistake though this is a very contemporary album and all the better for that. McCafferty's trademark vocals are strong and powerful however, for me, the great difference is that, finally, guitarist Jimmy Murrison has stamped his personality all over the place. His playing is outstanding throughout and, when coupled to the completely re-invigorated rhythm section of father and son Pete and Lee Agnew, it is clear that this band have the potential for a massive success with "The Newz". Ok so will you get for your cash? Take your pick from the funky Soul of 'Goin' Loco' or perhaps 'Day At The Beach' which is radio friendly. 'Liar' pulls no punches, is hard and heavy, has great lyrics and rips into George Bush. When 'See Me' starts it immediately grabs you with its easy going sing along charm. It is another single possibility. The love ballad 'Enough Love' is anthemic and ideal for a film score. 'Keep On Travellin'' and 'Road Trip' are great driving songs and sure to be awesome if done live with pounding beats, vocals to die for and strong guitars. It is such a pleasure to say that there is not a weak song here. Still mad bad and dangerous after forty years Nazareth are back and this is a terrific album with a capital T.
Graeme Scott
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2008
I thought Nazareth would probably be past it, but this album is an absolute, corking, copper bottomed belter. The Nazareth foursome of Dan McCafferty (vocals), Pete Agnew (bass), Lee Agnew (drums) and Jimmy Murrison (guitar) have created a four way writing team which has filled the album with quality from start to finish. Yes, in an age where so many of today's `top' artists put out an album and their gullible fans think they've got a good record when they like three of the songs, Nazareth has delivered - big time.
With an album full of crackers it's hard to talk up particular tracks, so I'll give brief highlights. `Day At The Beach' is an anthemic summer classic with a killer chorus, `Liar' is a heavy growling beast, `Mean Streets' and `Goin' Loco' have funky undertones, `Road Trip' is a blistering rocker which made me think of AC/DC, but with Jimmy Barnes singing, `Dying Breed' is a great melancholy ballad... the list goes on.
The band sound fantastic - there's enough modern touches to make this sound relevant in 2008 and there's enough of the Nazareth I've heard from my youth to keep it sounding like the same band evolving, not trying to fit in with today. Every song is a gem, and McCafferty's voice sounds awesome - he sits somewhere between the aforementioned Barnes and Brian Johnson. A proper rock singer!
Iif I hear a better album in the remaining nine months, I'll be mighty impressed. Brilliant!
James Gaden - Fireworks Magazine
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2008
I've been a fan for a relatively short time (2-3 years). However, I now own the entire Nazareth back catalogue on CD and I am very familiar with their music.

I saw this band live for the first time at the Carling Academy in Newcastle Upon Tyne, Feb 2008. They absolutely blew me away!

If the five tracks they played from the new album were anything to go by, then it was gonna be a good one, no mistake!

Well, this album is the heaviest rocker that the band has ever produced, and yes it's heavier than the 'No Mean City' album. The disc features 13 great songs and 1 wonderfully weird hidden bonus track.

The new line up featuring founder members Dan McCafferty and Pete Agnew, with relatively new-comers Lee Agnew and Jimmy Murrison, show us that this group has successfully re-invented itself for the 21st century and is capable of surviving for at least another 20 years.

The album covers many subjects, such as how our society has gone to the dogs, people who need to get a life instead of being hooked on the internet 24-7, relationships, tragedies of war and a certain lying american president.

The band have managed to stay faithful to the old Nazareth sound, but with a modern twist. It all works perfectly.

I cannot understand why this very under-rated scottish group has been so poorly treated in the UK in the past. I really hope that they'll now get the recognition they deserve and keep releasing new product in the years ahead.

We desperately need older, decent groups like Nazareth (especially in the UK), to show us how real music is produced and to get rid of all this boy, girl band and x-factor crap before it's too late!!

Long live the NAZ.

Lee Thomas
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2008
Last week, I could have sworn to be 48 years old. After buying this record, I`m 18 again. Believe me, this is what rock should do to you. Dance around your tipi and sing. Hell-Yeah !
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2008
Has it ever been cool to admit to liking Nazareth? If so then you would surely have to be pushing 50 in order to remember. The last few albums the band made saw them content with putting out no frills product that while satisfying their hardcore fanbase didn't really break any new ground or plunge them into new territories. The Newz's predecessor 'Boogaloo' was a collection of solid punchy sounding tunes however it did get fairly pedestrian at times (Robbie & The Roadie anyone?).

The Newz is a much braver and inspired effort moving the band into wider areas, the bottom line being they pull it off successfully with young producer Yann Roullier at the helm. The lyrical content is of the highest quality and originality that for one this reviewer can recall, certainly on par with their heyday. Very poignant at times.

Music wise you can hear the fresh approach embracing modern grooves made famous by such artists as Red Hot Chili Peppers & Rage Against The Machine. I would say this is one of the most diverse Nazareth records ever released. There's mean ass funk bordering on thrash metal at times, and also softer moments for example the catchy groove of See Me a perfect pitch harmony, the 12 string guitar itself as clear as a bell chugging along keeping up the pace. The emotional Dying Breed sees McCafferty in a reflective mood, the vocal rich with emotion. The guitar accents work beautifully here. Thoughout the album they are very fitting, none more so effective than on the uncompromising, decadent droning epic that is The Gathering. It's the longest tune on the disc showcasing one of the finest vocal ranges you are ever likely to hear from a singer who forty years on proves that without doubt he can more than hold his own alongside the true greats a la Ian Gillan, Robin Zander etc.

Special praise has to go to the Lee Agnew penned 'Gloria' which lyrically and muscially is simply different class. When Dan's vocals electrify and consume your living room you'll feel the hairs on the back of your neck. Play it loud!

I won't cover each track as other reviewers already have but in short, it's all very good indeed. Even the weaker moments on the album house saving graces, (unlike previous Nazareth efforts).

Long live the Naz - I very much hope we don't have another ten year wait until the next one !

Rock shock of 2008? You decide.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2008
If you like Nazareth, you'll love the Newz, their best album in a long, long time. Great rockers like 'Road Trip', 'Keep On Travellin' and 'Liar' sit alongside glorious chugging epics such as 'Warning' and 'The Gathering' and some simply great pop material like 'Enough Love' and 'Mean Streets'. It's fresh, powerful, varied and after a couple of plays you'll agree there's not a weak track here.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
I bought this because I own a few of the old(er) vinyl albums which are superb. Thought I'd give the newer stuff a try.
I wasn't disappointed. Even though Dans voice isn't all it used to be he can still make a sound worth listening to and could still show a few of the young pups up. The guitars and drums are still just as strong and spine tingling as they used to be even if the line up isn't as recognisable. And The Gathering is a brilliant track and would have been at any time in their careers.

Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2008
After having this CD for a couple months now I can truely say it is one of my Favorite Nazareth efforts. It rocks hard, some great mellow stuff and about track 3...The review about Liar on the American Amazon site by one meathead in particular proved how about 25% of us Americans have completely ignored the last 7 years of absolutely bad behavior and outright treason committed by that common criminal in The White House and his pals as they pillage and rape the treasury stuffing offshore bank accounts under the guise of some sort of religious belief that they are fulfilling Biblical prophesy. Anyone who is ok with that is just plain CRAZY!! Anywho..to me, from what I have seen, I agree with every word of Liar...time will tell. Love the quality of the recording, Mine is a German version and it really puts the Subwoofer to work and the mids and High end are all quite clear as well. I have been a Nazareth fan since Razamanaz came out over here back in 1973, I was in High School and have devoured every release since that time...love 'em all really...not a lame one in the bunch. Have caught quite a few shows over the years and they were always great but my favorite was The No Mean City tour when I got to experience Manny and Zal just blow the lid off the place with amazing lead trade offs I stood right in front of Zal and was blown away for the entire show! Loved His playing in SAHB...another killer band! If you like the old Nazareth and can get past that era and be able to except this one for what it IS....then buy this CD..I know I will be enjoying it until I freakin' die!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
After what I considered a few lacklustre album efforts, Nazareth comes blasting back in excellent form. This is the kind of rock that has kept AC/DC on top after all these years. What amazes me is how good Dan McCafferty sounds after. He's still got that effortless gravelly growl. I saw Nazareth live in 1978 and then again just a few weeks ago, the magic was still there. I have both the cd and the vinyl LP's of The Newz and the cd is too "hot". The levels are way too high as is the norm in most music on cd today. However, the vinyl version is fantastic, great dynamic range, strong bass and beautiful treble presence. The vinyl version is the way to go. Two LP's of great songs played and sung by guys that truly know their stuff. It's pretty cool that father (Pete Agnew on bass) and son (Lee Agnew on drums) play together on this album. Jimmy Murrison's guitar work is fantastic and the result is a strong hard rocking effort that is worth every penny. I am just stunned that this LP came out two years ago and has basically been ignored by the press and fans. Too bad, they are missing a modern classic by any standard.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2008
A huge fan of the bands earlier material,paticularly Hair of the Dog,l took a chance on this new release when a friend recommended l give it at least a quick listen.
Wow !! l wasn`t ready to be instantly blown away with tracks like Liar,Enough Love and The Gathering.Frankly,there isn`t a poor track on this CD but the three l have singled out are definately up there with their earlier classics.
"The Newz" deserves to be a massive hit and it certainly has a secure place in my long-term music collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)