Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
98
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2010
I was really disappointed when this series ended on ITV but I'm glad it's being released on DVD.

When the last episode of Street Hawk was broadcast it ended with "...and that was the last in the current series of Street Hawk" from the voice that used to introduce the next programme, I was expecting it to return for a new series but it never did. That was one of the worst things to be told after watching your favourite tv show week after week, because you didn't want it to end but you knew in the back of your mind that it was only a matter of time.

I used to be baffled by how it was possible to predict the road conditions ahead and each time he accelerated through the streets I wondered if he'd need to jump over a car that was being driven erratically by a drunk driver.

I thought his shiny black reflective crash helmet made it look very futuristic and reminded me of Darth Vader.

...and the Tangerine Dream theme, which was a perfect match for the tv show with the brief intro narrated by a voice that seemed to start off at normal speed and then speed up with each sentence as if to emulate the speed of the motorbike...or was that just my old VHS recording where the tape was starting to wear out?

Strange how many of the tv shows in the 80s had very good theme tunes (like Knight Rider, Airwolf, A-Team, etc) unlike today's tv series.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I was a big fan of Street Hawk as a kid, but the single 13-episode series doesn't stand the test of time 25 years later. In fact, it's dated even compared to other 80s shows like Knight Rider or Airwolf.

Looking at it now, the funniest thing (or the worst thing, depending on how you look at it) is that Street Hawk is just a bike with a gun on it. Pretty much all of the gadgets which may have seemed futuristic in 1985 are just ordinary now- for example the bike's navigation system which is a little bit like a modern sat nav but not as good. The bike doesn't talk, and it doesn't have much by the way of flashing lights. It's not all that fast- though the opening narration says it goes 300mph the stunt riders were clearly never pushing 70. It's not entirely bulletproof (as seen in episode 11), and it even breaks down (episode 13).

The stories are mostly typical, action formula stuff, though the writing gets better as the series progresses. The acting is mostly quite hammy, especially from lead guy Rex Smith, though Joe Regalbuto is consistently good as the nerdy sidekick Norman. There's a high standard of novelty guest star in the series, including a before-he-was-famous George Clooney with a permed mullet, Bianca Jagger, and quite a few actors who would later pop up in Star Trek.

The music stands out as excellent. The main theme and most of the incidental music is by Tangerine Dream, whose near-trademark sounds fit perfectly with the rolling drama. The main theme itself is great and definitely one of the highlights.

DVD-wise, there's a decent range of extras on disc 4- a 40-minute long documentary based on in-depth 2009 interviews with 3 main cast members (Rex Smith, Joe Regalbuto, and Jeannie Wilson) and a large collection of photos in various categories- publicity shots, behind the scenes, and so on. Possibly the most disappointing extra is the "unbroadcasted pilot" [sic] which turns out to be an early edit of episode 1 with some minor differences, most noticably that the bike's laser effect is different, so not really a proper "lost episode". The transfer of all the episodes is mostly top quality though there's the occasional bit of dropout, to be expected as it's probably been created from twenty-year-old tapes.

If Street Hawk had reached a second series maybe it could have been as famous and popular as some of thee other shows from around the same time, but as it is, the small cult fanbase of Street Hawk is deluding themselves a bit...

If you're in your 30s and want a bit of TV nostalgia, give it a try, but if you're looking to rediscover a lost gem you might be disappointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
It's billed as the motorcycle version of another eighties classic 'Knight Rider' and it lives up to the hype. Yes, it's cheesy but it was hi-tech when it first came out. My mission, is to collect the tv series I grew up with as a kid and this was one of them. Great action but predictable story lines. Loved it and it brought back fond memories. The only moan I have is that in the extras section, there is a previously un-broadcast pilot episode with different weapons on the bike. Great but there's a copyright on screen throughout in the bottom middle of the screen. Annoying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
With Knight Rider & Airwolf you had two action adventure series with high tech vehicles. Then someone must have thought hey lets make one for a motorbike. You'd think it would be a bad rip off, I did as a ten year old back in 1985. What we got was a very entertaining series, with a fantastic theme tune from Tangerine Dream. The two main leads Rex Smith and Joe Regalbuto are great together and make the series very watchable. Look out for an early apperance of George Clooney, and Christopher Lloyd playing a heavy in total contrast to his Doc Brown.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
Finally, that awesome show that clashed with BBC's Top of the Pops every Thursday night has arrived on DVD, and - even after twenty-five years - it's still far more entertaining than Peter Powell or Dave Lee Travis!

Street Hawk followed the exploits of Jesse Mach, an ex-motorcycle cop injured not in the line of duty (as the dramatic voice over would announce in the opening reel of each episode), but in a chance encounter with a drug dealer, with a penchant for hit-and-run assassination, whilst on a two-week suspension from the force. Subsequently relegated to a desk job, poor Jesse emerges from the attack a broken man, his passion for fighting crime on two wheels now nothing more than a distant memory.

Enter Norman Tuttle, a geeky Federal agent with a knack for designing high-tech motorcycles and having damaged policemen patched up with a revolutionary "new prosthesis", making Jesse an offer he can't refuse.

Cancelled after only thirteen episodes due to lacklustre Nielson ratings in the US (a direct result of it's graveyard spot in the Stateside TV schedule), the show went on to win itself a healthy audience in the UK, and throughout much of Europe, resulting in both a Street Hawk annual and four tie-in novels - how's THAT for heady success!

The announcement of this long overdue release will, I'm sure, make many nostalgists as happy as I was when I first got wind of this box set - It's always fun to satisfy one's nostalgic cravings with a dive into the comfort viewing of yesteryear, and - when all is said and done - the show holds up very well indeed! Granted, the cheese factor occasionally spikes off the scale, the hardware doesn't look as hard as it used to, and George Clooney (appearing in the second episode) delivers one of the most excruciating performances of the decade, but it's all delivered with a naïve sense of fun, and accompanied by a dazzling score from the legendary Tangerine Dream, which, even today, makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand to attention.

My only criticism regarding this release is its NTSC mastering. In an attempt to lower production costs, it would seem that the distributor has exactly duplicated its American release for all territories around the world, resulting in a slightly disappointing product for us Brits, who are more accustomed to the far smoother and more accurately coloured 25fps PAL standard. Fabulous Films, hang your cheap-skate heads in shame. Oh, actually I do have one more gripe - the pointless 8 page collector's booklet, which presents no insight into the conception, design or history of the show. What it does offer is a criminally underwritten episode guide and a pointless centre spread, featuring a badly cropped section of Universal's blueprint for the bike. It would seem that the booklet's only purpose is to fool the DVD buying public into thinking they're getting more bang for their buck when they read of its existence in the special features list on the case. All is not lost, however, since the uncropped blueprint appears in the stills gallery on the fourth disc, along with some rather amusing publicity shots and a number of great US newspaper ads.

The documentary is fun too, with three of the show's key players - Rex Smith, Joe Regalbuto and Jeannie Wilson - waxing lyrical about their time on the project, and hinting that there may yet be more to come! Looking at how little they've aged over the past quarter of a century (Has it really been that long?), the idea doesn't seem as ridiculous as one might imagine, and it would be great to see the Hawk in action one last time!

So, overall, not a perfect package, but an acceptable release for the price. Maybe they'll get it right on Blu ray!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2010
What can i say i used to love this show back in the 80s and now its on dvd i can watch and enjoy it all over again.
Just wish it ran for longer then it did.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2010
Amazon forgot to include what the EXTRAs on the Box Set are on this occasion...

* Never-before-seen US 'Pilot' episode featuring different Street Hawk firepower (73 mins)
* "Street Hawk, The Making of a Legend" - A brand new documentary featuring Rex Smith, Joe Regalbuto and Jeannie Wilson (41 mins)
* Stills Galleries
* Biographies
* Episode descriptions
* 8 Page Collectors' Booklet
* Stunning Motion Menus

Kudos to Fabulous Films for being first-to-market.

All we need is the 5 hours of the official soundtrack that were produced for the show to be released by Tangerine Dream (finally!).
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is done not know
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
Street Hawk, a real blast from the past. I loved this series when I was young and I still love it. I think this was what started my interest in becoming a biker. It's a great show that started the careers of many stars including Mr.George Clooney. I wish that they made more episodes or another series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
The best series of the 80's and probably of all time. This box set is a must have for your collection, even if you're not a fan of the 80's as this series is as good as any modern TV crime action programme.

This box set will make a great gift, fully recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse