Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
18
4.2 out of 5 stars
Dogfish Project
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.23


on 30 September 2012
This was a really good book to read. For a start it had an unusual plot which at first I was a bit sceptical about but as the story unfolded, it became quite possible. In all 'techno - thrillers' most of the plots are very similar so I always enjoy reading an author who has thought something out of the ordinary.

The storyline moves along at a brisk pace and as the climax mounts up the tension, there are quite a few twists and turns that have you impatient to find out what happens now!!

Once again a great read which I'm sure many readers will enjoy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
The whole idea of the story behind the book isn't bad, and realistic to an extent. But you can tell the author is a bit new to writing as the book drifts and wanes in places, and the ending is fairly predictable. Not a bad book, I've read worse, but I'd struggle to recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
With the title I wasn't expecting much but I stand corrected. It started off a little slow but then things got stuck in. If you are looking for a book with huge wars and naval battles then this is not it. It's set in the not to distant 2050's with a submarine that uses some almost farfetched by to some extent realistic futuristic tech. Lacking an apparent love story which I can be partial to though there is one that is possible between two members of the crew and, between a commander and a his former missus.

Great read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 May 2013
This is a reasonably good story spoiled by sloppy writing and poor proof reading. Poor sentence construction, the use of "made up" words and some suspect technical detail spoil what could have been a good book. Interestingly most of the bad stuff was in the last quarter of the book...was Mr Haynie getting tired?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Tom Haynie is not an authour I had ever heard of before but as a Navy man myself I do enjoy this type of book, I was looking for something away from the mainstream authours of Naval fiction like Patrick Robinson etc so I took a shot in the dark with this and I am glad I did! The book is set in the near future and is based around the maiden mission of a futuristic experimental submarine and although the technology is very much sci-fi it certainly makes for an entertaining read. The story moves along at a decent pace with enough action to keep you interested throughout. I will certainly keep a look out for any more books of this type from Tom Haynie in the future, highly reccomended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
An entertaining read as it kept up good pace even while interchanging with various plots. Technical data was interesting without being boring or overelaborate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
this is well worth a read,good storyline and no hint of the ending, my sort of book i'll keep it and read it again when its faded from the memory
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Set well ahead of time. Not fast paced or risky enough to be gripping.
The baddies always look like losing and guess what? they did!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Brilliant book,entertaining throughout always on the edge of your seat, gripping in a future setting that feels like it could be now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Very enjoyable but just a little too predictable. The final chapters in particular lost some of the earlier tension and excitement
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here