Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
25

on 14 November 2013
I purchased this to replace the rear derailleur on an old MTB that had been damaged and was no longer shifting reliably.

Fitting was easy and only took about 15 mins to remove the old part, fit the new one and set up the limit screws correctly. Finally I needed another 10 mins or so to fine tune and test the indexing.

The shifting on my bike is now nice and accurate and there is a lot less noise overall from the drivetrain. It's nice to see Shimano still producing parts that can prolong the useful life of older 7/8 speed bikes.

Tools required to carry out the upgrade were;

- Chain breaker tool (only required if your chain does not have some sort of quick link).
- 5mm allen key (for hanger bolt and cable clamp).
- Pliers (to remove cable end cap and crimp new replacement one).
- Phillips screwdriver (to adjust limit screws).
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2016
This changer works a real treat, and is very quiet and positive—the smoothest I've known since my long-lamented Duopar, and accurate too as long as the levers or twist-grips are also Shimano (SRAM and Shimano can be difficult to match together as they use different intervals, I found, so if you get it right at one end of the range, it's wrong at the other). Don't be conned into paying too much more for hi-status bits from Shimano. If they are any more efficient than this, it can't be by very much at all, and replacing one of these if you bend it won't empty the bank balance!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2014
Good quality product from a seller that is more then willing to give good advice. And all at a fantastic price. I have now purchased several cyle items from this seller. I will be back keep up the quality products and prices,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2016
Manufacturer's part, exactly as expected and direct replacement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2017
Piece of cake to fit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2014
This was a straight replacement so no worries about compatibility etc. The previous one had lasted about 4 years of some pretty serious stuff, so it's certainly up to the task and for the price an obvious choice.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2013
I bought this whilst rebuilding a mountain bike for my daughter , the old gear was sloppy , sticky and noisy , but this Shimano unit bolted straight on and gave a perfect shift every time , it is really smooth and positive and needed only minimum adjustment .
It is well built and looks great .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2013
Very good rear Mech, fitted easily and easy to set-up and adjust. Very smooth and quiet in operation. Reasonably priced, recomended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2014
Easy on the eye and pocket; even better it was surprisingly easy to fit! Part of my renovation project of my '98 Marin bike... The quality of this Alivio seems to be a match for STX RC that it replaced, yes, really! Very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2015
More solid than the worn out Acera it replaced. A fiddle to set up as all rear mechs are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)