Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2004
CSI's first season is unrelenting in its immediate appeal to the audience;not only does it succeed where many other similar shows have failed infinding the right balance between characters and plot, its ultra-hipmanipulation of new technology perfectly compliments the show's gravitas.
Whilst typical British dramas tend to over-emphasise characterinteractions and forsake plot, CSI manages to give the viewer enough of asense of each character's personal life to understand their motivations,whilst maintaining the gradual reveal of each crime. (Special mentionmust of course be made of Jerry Bruckheimer/Anthony Zuicker's passion forthe music of Paul Townsend, used to great effect in this classy serieswhich never loses its cool).
Classic cases include:
$35K O.B.O
This DVD set presents the show in fullscreen and has little or no extrafeatures, nevertheless its interactive menus are smooth and impressive,and isn't presentation in full boxset always more appealing than the halfseason equivalent?
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2005
i got into csi a little late in the game... maybe season two? a lot of the other students in my human osteology class were talking about it, so i decided to check it out. i was hooked from the first episode i saw.
i just rented the first season to watch it for the first time. it was great to get a bit more background on the characters and to see how far the show has come from the pilot episode. the acting of the primary cast started out strong and has since gotten better.
yes, there's blood and gore, but it's presented in a way that leaves you caring more about the terrible things that go on in our world rather than steeling your heart and mind against them.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 October 2005
CSI is a great American TV show, now much copied.
It is mostly written to a regular formula and is always reliable, if not always plausible, entertainment.
William Petersen is great as Dr Gil Grissom ( a phD 'doctor') who leads the Las Vegas Police Crime Scene Investigation Department. Grissom and his sidekicks are not cops but you would be forgiven for thinking they are. In fact, It makes you wonder what the Las Vegas cops actually do as virtually all the major crimes in the area are solved by CSI staff.
There are some attempts to flesh out the characters but, with each episode lasting forty minutes, this has to be a plot-driven show.
The best episodes of CSI have been where they move away from the usual formula.
Sometimes it gets graphic and gory but this is still top notch American TV entertainment and the DVDs are a great opportunity to catch up.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
Excellent blue transfer imported from the USA..

I would have liked to collected the others on blue ray like seasons 2-3-4 but fore some reason not available yet but season 8,9 is. A pity
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2015
A good series. good actors and stories. picture quality was good but i`ve seen better from series`s older than this, maybe season 2 onwards will be better, don`t get me wrong the picture is fine, just not always smooth at close ups
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2005
CSI is simply the best US police procedural drama (which, given how many there are, is saying quite a lot).
The stories are strong and there is a cast of interesting characters. The central character, Gil Grissom (brilliantly played by William Peterson) is the reason it works so well. Grissom is wonderful character - an introverted and rather unemotional man, a serious scientist who happens to be a criminologist. As such he is free for most of the traditional TV cop baggage, giving the whole series a fresh and interesting perspective. In this series, the CSI team gets on with investigating crime scenes and solving mysteries attempting, but not always succeeding, to do this without bias or preconceptions. They leave the police work to others. Unfortunately, this model was abandoned with CSI: Miami making it a much less interesting program.
The rest of the cast is also very, very good bringing complex and interesting characters to life. Marg Helgenberger as ex-exotic dancer Catherine Willows is particularly good.
Danny Boyle directs most of the episodes with great style (redeeming himself after the failure of Judge Dread), even his habit of focussing in at a microscopic level (e.g. looking at blood vessels etc) works well. Setting the series in Las Vegas works well - the city, the desert, the mountains - they all provide great backdrops and look fantastic.
This is not the best CSI series (the show really got going in series 2) but it makes sense to start at the beginning.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2004
C.S.I is the best thing that ever happened to channel 5.With a great cast and stunning visuals,csi never ceases to amaze me. The episodes are complex,intelligent and gruesome. The twists and turns always unexpected and and the developements of the characters are intriging.Another thing I love about csi is that everyone has a guilty secret.From catherines colourful past to grissom losing his hearing,it all adds to the depth of the characters,and to the viewers enjoyment.Although some episodes are disturbingly gory,csi always seems to maintain a smoothness that entises you to keep watching.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2005
Fantstic - I was hooked after the first five minutes. Amazing storylines and superb characters. Perfect for wannabe pathologists and Sherlock Holmes!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2006
I bought season 1 of CSI after watching every episode on TV. The first series is fantasic, it introduces you to the characters and shows certain things about their lives and the ways in which they work together and as individuals.
I have friends who really dont like sciencey stuff who have now become addicted to CSI. The idea is very simple, people solving puzzles and it is not hard to understand at all.
I hope CSI series 2 offers everything the first series does. And I hope there are many more to come!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2005
I actually did not start getting into CSI until the 3rd or 2nd series and completely missed the 1st season, however, when I first purchased season 1 I was pleasantly surprised that it was one of the best seasons that I have seen to date! The pilot episode was very original and I love the fact that you see some of the characters (victims) throughout the season for example, there is a prostitute who appears in several episodes and then Nick gets involved with her and its nice to see his caring side, even though he is known to be some what of a ladies man! The other CSI's also put in good performances with Sara showing a more sensitive side, Catherine having problems with her ex husband and the struggles of being a single mum with a demanding job and how several of the cases usually involving children affect her relationship with her daughter (over protective), also Warrick struggles with his gambling problem and Grissom showing a more sensitive side in a few of the episodes even though his moto is not to get involved and stick purely to science but you also see Grissom protecting his staff and building a relationship with them. I actually have never seen any of these episodes before on TV and found that all the episode storylines were very interesting to watch and of all the seasons this one really gives you an in-depth insight into each of the characters. The most important thing about this season though is the fact that I have watched them all over and over again and I'm still not bored! I must admit that some of the scenes can be a bit gory but it wouldn't be the same without a little bit of gore to make it realistic! This DVD is great for anyone that loves CSI or forensics and would also make an exceptional gift...
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)