Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
60
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2004
CSI's first season is unrelenting in its immediate appeal to the audience;not only does it succeed where many other similar shows have failed infinding the right balance between characters and plot, its ultra-hipmanipulation of new technology perfectly compliments the show's gravitas.
Whilst typical British dramas tend to over-emphasise characterinteractions and forsake plot, CSI manages to give the viewer enough of asense of each character's personal life to understand their motivations,whilst maintaining the gradual reveal of each crime. (Special mentionmust of course be made of Jerry Bruckheimer/Anthony Zuicker's passion forthe music of Paul Townsend, used to great effect in this classy serieswhich never loses its cool).
Classic cases include:
PILOT
COOL CHANGE
CRATE 'N BURIAL
PLEDGING MR JOHNSON
FRIENDS AND LOVERS
WHO ARE YOU?
BLOOD DROPS
ANONYMOUS
UNFRIENDLY SKIES
SEX, LIES & LARVAE
I-15 MURDERS
FAHRENHEIT 932
BOOM
TO HALVE AND TO HOLD
TABLE StAKES
TOO TOUGH TO DIE
FACE LIFT
$35K O.B.O
GENTLE, GENTLE
SOUNDS OF SILENCE
JUSTICE IS SERVED
EVALUATION DAY
THE STRIP STRANGLER
This DVD set presents the show in fullscreen and has little or no extrafeatures, nevertheless its interactive menus are smooth and impressive,and isn't presentation in full boxset always more appealing than the halfseason equivalent?
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2005
i got into csi a little late in the game... maybe season two? a lot of the other students in my human osteology class were talking about it, so i decided to check it out. i was hooked from the first episode i saw.
i just rented the first season to watch it for the first time. it was great to get a bit more background on the characters and to see how far the show has come from the pilot episode. the acting of the primary cast started out strong and has since gotten better.
yes, there's blood and gore, but it's presented in a way that leaves you caring more about the terrible things that go on in our world rather than steeling your heart and mind against them.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 October 2005
CSI is a great American TV show, now much copied.
It is mostly written to a regular formula and is always reliable, if not always plausible, entertainment.
William Petersen is great as Dr Gil Grissom ( a phD 'doctor') who leads the Las Vegas Police Crime Scene Investigation Department. Grissom and his sidekicks are not cops but you would be forgiven for thinking they are. In fact, It makes you wonder what the Las Vegas cops actually do as virtually all the major crimes in the area are solved by CSI staff.
There are some attempts to flesh out the characters but, with each episode lasting forty minutes, this has to be a plot-driven show.
The best episodes of CSI have been where they move away from the usual formula.
Sometimes it gets graphic and gory but this is still top notch American TV entertainment and the DVDs are a great opportunity to catch up.
Reccomended.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
Excellent blue transfer imported from the USA..

I would have liked to collected the others on blue ray like seasons 2-3-4 but fore some reason not available yet but season 8,9 is. A pity
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2015
A good series. good actors and stories. picture quality was good but i`ve seen better from series`s older than this, maybe season 2 onwards will be better, don`t get me wrong the picture is fine, just not always smooth at close ups
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
I'm a huge fan of CSI and watch all three; Las Vegas, NY and Miami. CSI Las Vegas is my favourite though, and I decided to start buying the series a season at the time. I've not problem with the DVD so far and I doubt there will be any. For the price, I would recommend buying this especially if your a fan of CSI.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2005
CSI is simply the best US police procedural drama (which, given how many there are, is saying quite a lot).
The stories are strong and there is a cast of interesting characters. The central character, Gil Grissom (brilliantly played by William Peterson) is the reason it works so well. Grissom is wonderful character - an introverted and rather unemotional man, a serious scientist who happens to be a criminologist. As such he is free for most of the traditional TV cop baggage, giving the whole series a fresh and interesting perspective. In this series, the CSI team gets on with investigating crime scenes and solving mysteries attempting, but not always succeeding, to do this without bias or preconceptions. They leave the police work to others. Unfortunately, this model was abandoned with CSI: Miami making it a much less interesting program.
The rest of the cast is also very, very good bringing complex and interesting characters to life. Marg Helgenberger as ex-exotic dancer Catherine Willows is particularly good.
Danny Boyle directs most of the episodes with great style (redeeming himself after the failure of Judge Dread), even his habit of focussing in at a microscopic level (e.g. looking at blood vessels etc) works well. Setting the series in Las Vegas works well - the city, the desert, the mountains - they all provide great backdrops and look fantastic.
This is not the best CSI series (the show really got going in series 2) but it makes sense to start at the beginning.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
I've always loved this series. I bought this because someone bought me season 5 for Christmas some time ago and figured I'd make a start collecting the others.

This is a great series and it shows you why this series has become as popular as it has since release because no other pilot series can grip you like this can.

The only slight thing that struck me with this DVD is the quality. Looking back this series aired in 2000, now I was eight at that time and I can't remember the quality of TV being like that. It goes to show how far HD and Blu-Ray has taken us that we can look back at something that was 12 years ago and see the massive difference. The quality is iffy, especially in the light, open scenes like when they are in the desert and things like that. Overall you get used to it but it is pretty obvious at first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2004
C.S.I is the best thing that ever happened to channel 5.With a great cast and stunning visuals,csi never ceases to amaze me. The episodes are complex,intelligent and gruesome. The twists and turns always unexpected and and the developements of the characters are intriging.Another thing I love about csi is that everyone has a guilty secret.From catherines colourful past to grissom losing his hearing,it all adds to the depth of the characters,and to the viewers enjoyment.Although some episodes are disturbingly gory,csi always seems to maintain a smoothness that entises you to keep watching.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2005
Fantstic - I was hooked after the first five minutes. Amazing storylines and superb characters. Perfect for wannabe pathologists and Sherlock Holmes!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)