Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
25
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 August 2010
I have to agree with all the five-star reviews here, this CD is great and I think the best prog album in years, probably just beating my favourite Riverside CDs.

It has lots of musical styles, a bit of metal, a bit groovy, gothic, melodic and rhythmic, mostly laid-back, but somehow it doesn't seem a mish-mash. The only odd bits are the circus-style music but I've even got used to that. It took a lot of listens but I'm glad I stuck with it, it is phenomenal.

Production and musicianship top-notch although at first I thought the singer Ross Jennings sounded a bit nu-metal, but I later found that he fits in well, although his voice is certainly not the bands strongest aspect, sounding just a little out of place; think Geddy Lee or the guy from IQ - not that he sounds like those but similarly perculiar.

There are connections with To-Mera so I hope this isn't a one-off project. I much prefer it to To-Mera, it's more prog-mainstream than To-Mera's jazz-metal style.

Anyway, in short if you like progressive rock you cannot ignore this album!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2010
i agree wholeheartedly with Servcan's post - i too have heard the album live,, i was floored by its pure wizardry and hooks- and the new posting on their myspace makes it sound even better than i remembered - BUY!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2011
How can I put this and keep it short and sweet?
Haken's moody metal inspired progressive rock is like sweet balm for a troubled soul. When we are so surrounded my manufactured pop these days it is delightfully refreshing to find a band willing to tread the path of delicious epics and soothing melodies. There is even the odd growl in there but it all fits into an overarching feel that is just beautiful.
I look forward to hearing more from this band soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2011
This is one of the best albums of 2010, if not THE best album of 2010. If you consider that this is a debut album, well......what incredible potential this band have. 'Streams' is one of the best prog tracks I have heard in years. A superb album, an incredible debut, huge potential and all talented musicians. Just keep on doing what you're doing! Simply great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2010
Not just my opinion - the highly informed & inluential website Progarchives agrees - this is the best Heavy Prog album of the year by some margin. On first listening though you almost certainly won't agree - another overblown prog album re-working the past with some self-conciously quirky interludes thrown in - something like that. After 4 or 5 plays though it's gettting it's hooks into you. After 7 or 8 plays you're realising what you've got here - pure genius. Brilliantly conceived from start to finish, with complex interweaving themes buidling to a magnificent finale - 72 minutes of innovative, engrossing, often beautiful music that never tires, never flags for a moment. This is pure music theatre in the tradition of the great 'Scenes from a Memory' - and the comparisions with Dream Theater are obvious from the start. But these guys have more than just stunning musicianship & virtuoso instrumental ability - they also have something that's often lacking from DT's output - they've got soul. Best debut album I've ever heard, and with some pretty dreary competition around by comparison, I've never looked forward to a follow-up more impatiently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2011
"Aquarius" is a stunning debut album that fuses metal with classical music. True, the classical aspect is played exclusively by keyboards/samples, but if you listen to the compositions you will understand what I mean. The band imbue the music with pleasing melodies aplenty, so that irrespective of whether we are in a metallic phase, classical phase or rocking-out, the effect is always pleasing to the ear. The vocals are good. There is some, but not much, growling (the metal is not over-heavy).

The band, who are from London, produce a very English soundscape. There might on occasion be a passing simmilarity to pastures thaht have been visited by bands foreign to these shores, such as Dream Theater, but the form of the classical influence and integration roots them squarely in Britain. For the oldies amongst you, they remind one, amongst others, of Braclay James Harvest very early, Robert Godfrey-inspired, album work with their orchestra. For youngsters, what they are doing is not dissimilar to another exciting English band that fuse metal with classical - Enochian Theory.

Lots to enjoy on here!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
If you can, listen to the whole album loud in a darkened room or with headphones, with a high end hi-fi, the whole experience is spine tingling. If this does not have the hairs on your neck standing on end then you must be dead! Very melodic prog-metal with sudden bursts of circus music, reminiscent of of Split Enz, building up to one of the most amazing album closers you will hear - these guys are just starting out and well deserve all the accolades they are getting. I cannot recommend highly enough
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2010
Symphonic prog metal, that's what this album is about & within the genre, it is a fine example. If you already like bands such as Symphony X then there won't be any surprises here. There's not much more to say. I would prefer the guitar to be a little more prominent, this album is dominated by keyboards, but I'm a guitar obsessive. All in all though, a worthwhile purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2011
This album is simply astonishing. It's an album which takes you on a fantastic musical journey which you can listen to over and over again without ever getting bored. So if you love progressive music, buy it. BUY IT NOW!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
First album from a great young band. Can hear lots of influences from contemporary prog metal Dream Theater back to much earlier prog bands but with a distinct sound of their own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)