Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
43
4.4 out of 5 stars


on 5 March 2017
Good CD would recommend if you like the Hollied classic hits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Great CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
I'm not a fan of the Hollies but at 99p inc. p/p I couldn't resist and are really pleased I bought it.
Ideal as a present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
Whilst there are a great deal of Hollies albums released I feel that this if you own no other Hollies album is a good one to own, with 44 tracks it is well worth every penny. It recaptures my youth, as a teenager in the sixties these and many others were the folk that shaped our musical influences and to realise that the group is still going today albeit with two newish members just proves firstly how popular they were and still are and secondly that they are Graet Musicians. Apptly Titled 'The Midas Touch' does it for me.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2010
From 1963 to the mid-70's, the Hollies had more hits than even the Beatles. In that period alone, they had 17 Top ten hits, while "He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother" gave them a second No 1 hit when re-released in 1988.

The Midas Touch is a new two-disc, 48 track compilation which focuses on the groups 60's and 70's recordings but brings their story to the present day with selections from their 2009 album Then, Now, Always plus two previously unissued live recordings from their 2009 tour.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 April 2010
I feel the Hollies are always underated,they made and still make wonderfull recordings and still touring.I was lucky to catch them in Nottingham a few weeks ago and admit was not sure how they would be as only Tony and Bobby are left from the original lineup,well they were BRILLIANT,I have not enjoyed a concert of this quality for a while.Once you get over the fact that the songs sound different because Allan Clarkes very distinctive voice is missing you soon forget and get carried away with these great songs,they sang all the hits and no medleys,all the hits in full,they were on stage for over two hours.it was a magical evening.I did not realize what a brilliant guiarist Tony Hicks is and for a guy of 65 he looks still youthfull.I purchased thier latest CD "THEN NOW ALWAYS"including all new material(and is excellent)and the title track is on this compilation.This set brings The Hollies right up to date with some of thier newer recordings and they are sounding as good today as they did back in the early sixties.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2010
This CD is well worth listening to. There are songs on it that I've never heard them sing before but they are all good songs. Also some familiar ones that you don't associate with the Hollies ie Heartbeat.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 3 March 2011
This compilation is, I guess, largely redundant, insofar as The Hollies hits have been compiled, repackaged, reworked so many times over that there are now way more hits comps that there are original albums. However, if you strip away that, and just get down to the music, then the sheer quality of what is on show here is top notch. Of course, The Hollies heyday was the 1960s, and when Graham Nash left them in 1968, they lost a key songwriter. That being said, 'The Air That I Breathe' was a magnificent return to form, and the band are still a solid attraction on the nostalgia circuit. They also had, in Bobby Elliott, one of the greatest drummers of the era, and Tony Hicks a fine, underrated guitarist.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)