Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 30 May 2014
A good read for the football connoiseur giving a comprehensive history of the game in Italy from its inception in the late 1800's to date. Enthusiastically written it covers all aspects from the great players and teams produced, the politics and fierce rivalries right down to racism and the effects of facism. It is a must for all soccer afficianados.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
I really enjoyed this book. It is quite an epic read. I first discovered Italian football around the time of the great Sacchi team of Van Basten, Gullit, Rijkaard, Baresi, Maldini, etc. Serie A used to be the best league around. Although it is now lagging behind England, Spain and Germany I still have great affection for calcio.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
Fascinating and well researched. You can dip in and out of Calcio, but I found myself unable to put the book down and keen to learn as much as I could about the history of football in Italy, the players and fans etc.
There are some really interesting stories inside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
Excellent in depth book about the history of Italian football, this has everything from the scandals, the violence, the rascism, the xenophobia and board room squabbles.a fascinating read into the most popular sport in Italy and very amusing at times to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
I have only just started reading this book and I like what I see. Also the book arrived well on time and in a very good condition. I shall be ordering more books in the near future.

Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Not got round to reading all of the book, but I have read certain parts and found it interesting. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the history of Italian football.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2017
Really enjoyed this and would recommend. I grew up in the Football Italia era on channel 4 so it had a good nostalgia element and stories I've never heard before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2006
A brillian book. Authoritative, fascinating, highly readable and at times very funny. The author looks at all aspects of Italian football - its long and complicated history, the fans, the players, the scandals (of which there are many), the referees and why Italians hate them, violence (there is a superb section on Heysel), foreigners and all other aspects. Buy it now!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
A fantastic book covering most of the turning points and major scandals of Italian football. Delivery was quick and it is definitely worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 October 2010
This is a thorough, fascinating and highly readable historical account of football in Italy, written by John Foot, a historian, writer and football fan. He's clearly spent much time in Italy and the book benefits from that, as he shows intimate knowledge of the language, habits and culture, yet at the same time, he brings the objective perspective of an outsider. The book isn't a chronological history, rather it has many themed chapters that deal with important events, players, owners, etc, that have had an influence on the game in Italy. This is an excellent approach that really allows for clear insights into issues such as the role of foreigners, attitudes to referees and the law, and corruption and political influence, as well profiling some of the great players in each position and explaining Italian attitudes to tactics and coaching. Foot's style is easy to read, and mixes much light humour with a genuine sense of passion for his subject, while there is also much poignancy as he recounts many of the disasters that have affected Italian football. Particularly interesting were the chapters on city rivalries (Milan/Inter, Juventus/Torino, Roma/Lazio etc) and the insights into the way in which foreign superstars such as Diego Maradona and John Charles influenced Italian football and its fans.

A highly recommended read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)