Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
32
4.9 out of 5 stars
The Essential Dinah Washington [Double CD]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 March 2013
The record takes me back to a time when I listened to this music and whatched the big bands and eara that will never come agagin Iam sorry to say.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Thank You.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Cannot get enough of Dinah Washington. She is magic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 March 2014
I wasn't that familiar with Dinah's work, but after hearing a track on the radio investigated. I appreciate Lena and Ella etc but found Dinah a bit more edgy. I suspect she was an early influence on Amy. Enjoyed this very much much - and superb value.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 February 2010
This new 2 CD compilation from Not Now comprises 4 of Dinah Washington's best albums dating from 1956 to 1959. The albums are The Swingin' Miss "D" which was recorded June 25-6 1956 with Quincy Jones as arranger/conductor for EmArcy Records. This album brought together 2 great talents and the resulting album is a really fast moving collection of 11 songs with the highlight for me being "Perdido" with "Caravan" close by. Next comes, the up tempo Dinah Washington Sings Fats Waller (1957 for EmArcy) with arrangements / conducted by Ernie Wilkins then Dinah Washington Sings Bessie Smith (1958 for EmArcy) with Ernie Wilkins orchestra (arrangements by Robare Edmonson & Ernie Wilkins)a wonderful bluesy album and finishing off with the chart topping What a Diff'rence a Day Makes! which was recorded 19 February 1959-Aug 1959 with Belford Hendricks as arranger/ conductor for Mercury Records. This album was recorded with a small group of musicians Charles Davis - baritone saxophone; Jerome Richardson - flute; Kenny Burrell - guitar; David "Panama" Francis - drums; Milt Hinton - double bass & Joe Zawinul - piano. It was this album that won Dinah the Grammy Award for Best Rhythm & Blues Recording at the Grammy Awards of 1960. It also gave her the hit single "What a Difference a Day Makes". This album comprises ballads and features a vocal chorus and marks a departure from her full on jazz style to a more commercially based production that brought her millions of new fans. The sound is excellent throughout the set and the packaging look classy nicely illustrated and is backed up with informative liner notes by Michael Heatley. The total running time across the 2 CDs is approx 131 minutes.
The bonus of this Not Now 2 CD set is the inclusion of the much rarer and now sought after Songbook albums along with the better known main stream albums on disc 1. As a compilation it is a welcome change and one that will be of great interest to the collector and occasional buyer and will be a "must have" release. Great value.
44 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Not very much more one can say about this lady. For me she is the best, everytime I buy an album of hers' I think there must be a downside to her performance, or there's no way this purchase can live up to the last one I bought.
Guest what! she always surpass my expectation. If like me you like Dinah washington this double CD is just superb with most of her well known classics. A voice like no other, a style so unique,for the price what a bargin!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
Warm and emotional and relaxing and..well a most enjoyable set of songs beautifully arranged and delivered. Worth every penny and I wish I had discovered this collection years ago.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
One of the queens of Jazz and the quality of this CD is first class. Of course it's worth the five star rating...with The fabulous Dinah Washington, you can't go wrong.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
For me I can't get enough of these sounds Billy Holiday Ella Fitzgerald all the jazz Queens so have started with Dinah & shall continue with building my collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse