Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
21
4.3 out of 5 stars
The Holy Qur'an in Today's English
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.70


on 1 April 2017
Given as a present. Didn't get any complaints so good news I hope.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
I bought a copy for myself last year. Since then I've purchased 4 more to give as gifts. It's an excellent, easy to read, comprehensive translation of the Quran. Very easy to understand the context in which verses were revealed, thanks to the detailed footnotes. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
It's good. I took a 'look inside' and that helped. My preferred translation is by M. Abdel Haleem, the best in my opinion, but there isn't a large print edition of that, so this is a good alternative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
Best translation, ever!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
Have so far really enjoyed reading this translation - everything is categorised with detailed background notes for various verses.

Strongly recommended for anyone who wants to learn and understand Islam - and because it's written in modern day English it's readable/understandable by people of all ages.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2011
This translation is the best I have come across as it uses todays English. It is so easy to understand and does not have any classical English (ie Shakespearian) within any part as other versions do.

Excellent footnote with one touch (for reason behind verse/revelation) and also contains Hadith referencing for most footnotes and also has a very detailed introduction into the religion.

Ideal for the curious unbeliever of the religion or the religiously inclined English speaking Muslim.

If you wanna read what millions globally have memorised for over 14 Centuries and see what the verses mean then this is the best version of the translation in the English language out there!
22 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
The semi-literate author ruins an important text with low class American drivel, and loses not only the plot, but also the refined meanings of the Arabic words and terms. Without this, and a good knowledge of pagan Arabic poetry and the Hadith - Traditions, it is not possible to understand the real meaning of the text.
So don't waste your time and money on this. Get a good, accurate translation and commentary.
The most vitally important fact is that Allah is not Almighty God.
In Arabic, the Qur'an and Sharia, Almighty God is Ilah and Allah is ‘the god’ in English.
Almighty God is Ilah, Ar Rahman, the Beneficent, the Most Merciful, the Most Gracious.
Therefore the Qur’an was named The Criterion, the criterion between good and evil.
Qur’an 41:84 It is He Who is the only God in the heaven and the only God on the earth.
Ibn Kathir: This means He is the God of those who are in the heaven and the God of those on earth.
Qur’an 43:84 It is He Who is Ilah, God in the heaven and on the earth.
Qur’an 19:65 Lord of the heavens and the earth and all that is between them, so worship Him and abide patiently in His worship. Do you know of any other with His Name?
Ibn Kathir: Ibn Abbas says, ‘There is no one named Ar-Rahman (the Most Beneficent) other than Him, Blessed and Exalted is He. Most Holy is His Name.’
See Quran chapters 19, 20, 21, 25, 26, 36, 37, 41, 43, 67, etc.

Allah is always and only called Allah in Arabic.
Qur’an 6:3 And He is Allah in the heavens and on the earth.
Ibn Abbas: He is the One who is called Allah in the heavens and on the earth.
The Qur'an states that the religion of Allah abrogates the religion of Abraham.
The Shahada, the Muslim pledge of faith, denies God:
La ilaha ill-Allah, there is no God/god but Allah.
The sentence comprises a denial and an affirmation.
Negation: 'La ilah' negates all forms of God or god.
Affirmation: 'illAllah' affirms that there is only Allah.
Before you can say ‘I believe in Allah’(illa Allah) you have to reject or disbelieve in any other god or God (La illaha).
Question 179 Islam Q&A [...]
Questions 114, 6703, 11819, 20239, 20815
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
Bought this book after reading many positive reviews about it. However i didnt like the style it was written in, it seems babyish somehow and as a result loses the beauty of the original. No translation is perfect and I know its trying to be in "todays english" but i think there are better ways of doing it eg oxford's abdel haleem The Qur'an (Oxford World's Classics) and even wahiduddin khan(his mistake being saying that Jesus pbuh had his soul taken up which implies he died which is against islamic belief. but for the most part a decent translation)Quran (White Cover). I especially disliked the last footnotes in surah rahman giving a rather vulgar interpretation of heavenly companions, i felt it overstepped the mark by stating his opinion as if it was factual. this was what made me return the book. My advice to anyone wanting to read a translation of the Quran, check it out against other interpretations [...], yusuf ali still my fave.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
If anyone is interested in sending best wishes to Osama bin laden then I'm the man to contact. He works in Scotland for the Forestry commision. His official job title is a stump-grinder with tractor maintenence as well. He loves his new life and in particular the huge ham sandwiches that they eat up there.Also he likes the local beer that he says is very cheap and he can get really drunk for the price of a few children back home in Saudi. He admits he's got to get out of his skull with a few pints and a few spliffs every night to forget about the New York escapade. Thats it for now folks I'll catch you later cos the pubs are opening so Bye for now yours truly the Rampant Major
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
I've been reading this English-language version of the meaning of the Qur'an during Ramadan. It's a lively translation, with good, but not excessive, use of colloquialisms - I particularly like it when Emerick uses expressions such as "No way!" to indicate Allah's reproofs and prohibitions. Emerick avoids the archaicisms of some other translations, such as Pickthall and Yusuf Ali (who try to make the Qur'an sound like the King James Version of the Bible). The translation comes with an informative introduction and extensive notes, often explaining the circumstances in which particular verses were revealed or providing additional background information. A useful feature is that chapters are broken up into short passages with the use of informative sub-headings. As with any translator, Emerick has had to make choices in expressing particular arabic words or expressions in English, and he tends to select more "liberal" interpretations in most cases. My favourite translations are still Abdel Haleem for OUP and Khalidi for Penguin, but this version would certainly be a good one to give to young non-Muslims wishing to explore the Qur'an.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)