Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2012
nazareth was having quite a run of sucess in the uk. They were getting popular in the u.s. but this one really broke them into superstardom which continued in the u.s. and canada etc for another 6 years after this one. This has the classic songs 'hair of the dog' and 'please don't judas me' and the HUGE HIT SINGLE 'love hurts' top five in the u.s , canada and japan. , this is a heavy rocker and fans were delighted to have this band tear it down. This one was a monster hit and the fact that there is only a few reviews shows how far the uk has sunk. after all the uk got this band first and they had a number of hit singles in the uk before this one. But sadly good music was replaced by half played punk then the even worse techno, how sad, how far can a great country sink musically? Oh well at least back then this one was a real biting hit and it deserved to be. There are around five different versions of this one out there with various bonus tracks. I have several versions and all of nazareths studio work up to the newz. So you could say I am a fan of this band. this one is still my favorite of this band.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2008
This album in my opinion is the best album from this great rock band.I have 14 Nazareth cds in my collection and while there all great and different Hair Of The Dog was the bench mark album from them.Every track is fantastic and the album rocks along at a tremendous pace.The remastering gives excellent sound quality and has been very well done.you must play this cd loud and just listen it will blow you away.A must buy for any music lover who likes to here good heavy rock being played by a great band.Highly recommend this album;
There is now a newer 2010 remaster on the Salvo label,sound quality is fantastic,digi sleeve,crank up the volume.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 September 2011
Arguably the best album Nazareth ever produced,this is a band on top form,no longer the wee band from Scotland but a genuine superstar stadium rock band,how ironic that Scotland never caught on.

From the start its clear this is another step forward,Manny Charlton's production pulls forth every ounce of energy,the remaster sound quality superb(as was the previous reissue on snapper classics from 2008),like that issue this has superb digi pak and booklet plus 4 bonus studio cuts,this new release adds 5 live tracks from 1975.

Opening with the title track this is stadium rock at its finest,cowbell! give me more cowbell!,voice box,stuttering riff,tear out the throat singing,fantastic stuff,followed by the gargantaun Sabbath riff on 'Miss Misery' while Skynyrd would have been proud of the pickin' on 'Guilty' which just leaves the outstanding Zeppelin influenced 'Changin Times'(spot the zep riff).

Side 2 of the original album would have been hard pushed to emulate that foursome but it did,'Beggars Day' is stadium rock at its best whilst the Skynyrd southern pickin can be heard again on 'Whisky Drinkin Woman' before the epic 'Please Dont Judas Me' brought the original album to a close.This is a magnificent slab of rock and in truth doesnt really need any bonus tracks to enhance it but you get themm any way.

bonus tracks: 4 studio cuts including 3 singles(including Love Hurts) and a b'side,all excellent but wouldnt have fit on the original album without reducing the overall heavy rock persona.Also included are 5 live tracks including a superb version od Frank Zappa's 'Road Ladies'

Mnay fans will have you believe that 1979's 'No Mean City' is the bands heaviest,dont believe a word of it,its a fantastic disc in its own right but it aint heavier than this.If you only buy one Nazareth disc,make it this one(although you really need all of their 70's output from '73 thru '79 to appreciate just how great they were back in the day,the equal of most heavy rock bands of the era.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2015
Once again this band excels with sixteen varied tracks. Dan McCafferty's vocals are strained to the limit with great emotion on some ballads while he really rocks on the faster numbers. Good guitar riffs from Manny Charlton also making this an extremely welcome addition to any collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2001
A great CD featuring such tracks as Hair of the Dog, Love Hurts, Beggars Day, Miss Misery, Guilty and more. This album broke Naz in the States, and made them one of the big boys. The CD is very heavy for that era - it's not pop rock, AOR or soft rock (categories Naz themselves fell into in the 80's). It is hard rock/heavy metal, loud n proud. Buy this to hear a real band, who still tour and who still rock as hard as ever. I know cos I saw em March 2001 in Glasgow! Enjoy...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2012
A great album to start off with, but there are two key things here. This isn't just a simple "pump up the volume" and apply the old Fleischer Principle, they seem to have nearly captured that 'friction-warmth' that you would have found on a vinyl copy.

In addition to this, is the track listing. There are some excellent bonus tracks taken from single cuts & a live BBC session where the re-master seems to have had quite an enormous effect. You suddenly realise what an excellent synchronicity existed in the band as they prove their quality as a live unit. A quality that seems to be rare indeed, in this day and age.

Peter Agnew, you are sorely missed.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
brilliant cd great rock music from a down to earth band i didnt relise how good they were when i was a teenager they still are a breath of fresh air to listen to the album is just full of good stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
I had'nt really heard a lot of stuff on this album, but It sort of grows on you, and if you only bought it because it had bonus
live tracks on it, you won't be disappointed. If you like this, try "Rampant" and "Loud n Proud", they're even better!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
I came to Nazareth via the SNAZ live LP many moons ago and finally bought the studio version of many of their best songs. Even though it first came out many moons ago it still does the business. If you want a studio album, its this one. i think many people will see that this is an outstanding album and a must for real Rock collections.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2005
What can you say about an album that has acchieved perfection? I could trot out the usual cliches about great vocal deliveries and powerful music. I could tell you about songs of such high quality that it makes most similar bands output seem like a Joe Pasquale sing-a-long. I could even salavate about the high production value of this great album. But what would be the point? All you need to know about this album is that it rocks...and it rocks hard!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)