Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 September 2011
Saw Scott on tour last year supporting Glenn Hughes and this album had been on my Amazon recommendations.
"That girl" is a thumping start and is followed by two very good tracks; "I Can Tell" & the title track "Trouble". A track that I really like is "Scarecrow" which is an usual subject but works for me! "Talk to me" is a more gentle song with a more upbeat "Broken Man" with a fuzzier guitar sound. Probably the highlight (For me) on the album is "All That We Were" - a very poignant, wistful song that resonates with me. "Capture Me" is a good riffing/ lyrics song with "So Much more" a gentler but melodic ballad. "Giving me the Blues" has some horn & keyboard work added with "What I've Become" fuzzing guitar and finally the album ends with "Home" - some nice guitar work with a mix of gentle playing giving way to a rockier feel.
It is an album I play quite a lot. Plenty more to come from Scott
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 29 April 2010
It's funny that there are so many new blues artists out there, young and thrusting (!) and miles away from X factor style blandness. This guy is on Guitar hero and is upporting Glenn Hughes in the Autumn so he is obviously making a great impression. And why not? On the basis of this album he exhibits all the hallmarks of a star in the making. He turns his hand to a variety of styles, some plaintive Peter Green style guitar here, some full on rock there, but the artist he mostly puts me in mind off is classic era Steve Miller! Perhaps not the most obvious point of reference but that's who he sounds like to these ancient ears. And that is praise indeed, believe me!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 July 2010
So, how does a couple of years under your belt since your debut come across? Rather well, it has to be said, but still not many people have heard of this young singer/songwriter/guitarist and that really is a crying shame!
Scott can sure craft some fine music and while his first album "Can't Take No More"
was a little rough around the edges, what he dishes up here is a tad more polished and that comes down to a little more experience both live and in the studio.
Kicking off with "The Girl", with it's infectious little riff, Scott covers the range of the blues including several acoustic pieces - but it's the 8 minute plus of "All That We Were" - a slow blues with plenty of no frills guitar in-fills and the more funky "Capture Me" sounding like something that would easily sit in an Eric Gales repertoire (and that's no mean feat!)that make you sit up and take notice.
So, all in all, what we have here is a very accomplished performance that doesn't really quite yet announce the man to the world - but I am pretty sure that he will get there and some time soon as class will always out and this young man has that in abundance!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 March 2010
It's been a busy old couple of years for the young British Bluesman Scott McKeon. After all the praise heaped on his 'Can't Take No More' album, he's been out on the road winning friends and admirers, even snagging the opening slot for Eric Clapton, John Mayer and Sheryl Crow at the Hard Rock Calling show in London's Hyde Park.

He must have made an impression as David Ryan Harris from John Mayer's band pops in to add some vocals to the Babyface song 'Talk To Me'. Yes, Babyface. There's also some guitar from Robbie McIntosh on a couple of tunes, including his own 'Scarecrow'. But the album will rise or fall on the basis of McKeons performance, and his 10 original tunes.

And it's good. Although like many others, he seems to feel the need to make an early departure from the Blues. He admits that he "wanted to be able to incorporate bluesy guitar soloing into a more soulful rock environment", and that's certainly true on most of the material here, with slivers of funk creeping into numbers like 'I Can Tell'. Maybe he's had a taste of John Mayers success, and wants more. It works for me, but some will feel alienated. But this is a young man making inroads into the world of "Guitar Hero 5", so he's wisely looking for a younger audience than me.

The days when people would compare him to Stevie Ray Vaughan and Albert King may be passing quickly, but as long as he continues to write songs as good as the title track and 'Broken Man', then I'll be a happy man.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Compared with “Can’t take it no more”, “Trouble” is much less of the heavy-riffing and blues-rock presented on “Can’t take it no more” and is therefore not up to par with the excellent first album. There are a few tracks on “Trouble” that comes close “Can’t take it no more” but they are too few to recommend a purchase of the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2010
This is Scott follow up album to "Cant take no more" which in itself is a mighty fine album with some excellent dirty guitar tones going on... This second album from the Scott Mckeon band still has the superb tones but used in a more accesible way musically. While this album is not as bluesy as the first it sure is amazing!!! It has some excellent tracks on there, i like to think it as a cross between the first album wiht some added funk and mayerism's... Have not stopped listening to it since i have received it, not a bad track on the album...
I think this album will propel him into the limelight fairly soon as its alot more accesible (not just an album for guitar players to listen - although the playing on here is absoloutely amazing)
In Short - An excellent album!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2010
Having seen Scott as the opening act for Joe Bonamassa at the Albert Hall I purchased Can't Take No More and although I was impressed, his style on that album didn't always appeal to me.

This album is totally different though, a good mix of slow and fast blues numbers, along with the crazy guitar solos as well!

A superb 2nd CD and I love every song on it. Perfect driving music! lol

Put simply, listen to the preview and buy it!

Almost forgot "I Can Tell" is on here which I was so pleased about, a song he played at the Albert Hall but was never released.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
My favourite Scott Mckeon album. Brilliant in places. Extremely good in others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
Great guitar, but the vocal could be better... The CD is OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Its a great album, well worth the money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)