Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
490
4.3 out of 5 stars
The Passion Of The Christ [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 June 2017
Great Film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Very moving - must watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2017
DVD arrived quickly,amazing movie...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Not much different from the extended edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Good Very realistic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
The picture so vivid, the last hours of Christ!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
I really love this film, incredible!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
Mel Gibson revealed his maverick side first as a director and then as an actor, although most forget that, as young actor, he played in some of the best films of the early 80s, all diected by Peter Weir (Gallipoli, The Year of living dangerously).
He used to be a human and sweet guy then, but already showing a glimpse of his passionate, torn and unreconciled view of the world.
Here he goes all the way, and does it his way, to accomplish a personal vision of Christ and a story that maybe needed to be refreshed after 2000 years. A story made of blood, suffering, violence, prevarication and betrayal. Not a happy ending story. And here, you can feel it throughout the film. A film shot in latin, with a surprising yet perfect casting, and a bold, brave direction which do not care much about the usual way to movie-direction. Mel seems to say: this is my film, and I don't care if other directors might criticize my style, nor if someone in the audience might not like it.
So it does not look, apparently, so "heretic" as Scorsese's last temptation of Christ or brilliantly blaspheme as Life of Brian's, but it is definitely a genuine and refreshing approach to the story and main character, full of respect. The repect a tormented man like Gibson may feel for another tormented man like Jesus. Blu ray is excellent
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2012
Well i must say i think 'mad mel' has some talent for directing, Apocalypto being an even better foray into history, shows that Hollywood can make a historical film with some accuracy AND the actual languages that people speak! (pretty important in my eyes) I personally believe that Jesus did exist but was just another self styled prophet, like the thousands of others through the ages, and with science consistantly debunking religious theories at every step i shall remain athiest. Ok now anyone in the bible belt can happily click 'No' like the good christians you are hahaha anyways on with the review!

The Good-

The look, smell and feel of it all...the Roman Soldiers look like Roman Soldiers as the natives of Judea do look like they are supposed to be there.
I love the use of the original languages which enhance the divisions of the occupying forces and locals (as i am well aware from iraq and afghanistan) I am AMAZED that some people are annoyed that the film has subtitles!?!? personally a soft californian accent here and there in any part of this film would have diminished the whole by a huge amount....i suggest those people learn to read faster and not be so boorish!
It is beautifully shot and even the 'holy' (mythical) parts like when judas went mad and saw the demons ect and the other scenes that needed CGI were done in a subtle way that did not detract from this film being historically believable.
The torture scenes...now i know this pretty much made the film a little controversial (and made mel more money!!!) but personally i think it was in keeping with the methods used at that point in time...people need to remember that Roman times were NOT governed by bleeding heart liberals and amnesty international. Trials in Roman courts would have peoples slaves tortured and use their confessions as evidence. Im sorry some people didnt like it...but the world was, and still is in some places, like that. The scene made me admire the mans (jesus) courage.
I didnt feel overtly religious! i was expecting lights from heaven and angels singing and all the other imaginary aspects of religion but it was not there. i did not feel it was force fed in anyway, i did not feel pushed to convert etc even the 'Devil' character seemed more like the darker figment of jesus own imagination (much like dustin hoffmans character in 'Joan of Arc')

The Bad-

There is a little anti-semitism in there...you can kind of see where mel has tried make the 'baddies' appear physically so from a simple casting point of view. mental defectives and zealots all appear before a chained jesus, spitting and screaming and cackling in a perverse way (much like the 'English' in luc bessons 'Joan of Arc') even the Romans appear indifferent and more noble until the scourging scene where they take over as the bloodthirsty, drunken idiots with extremely villianous faces in some cases...im pretty sure the Roman Legions were a little more disciplined than that? And of course the only noble and placid and dignified looking people are the christians (i think he did the same in 'Braveheart' with his weasel-featured English 'Knights' who looked like accountants at a re-enactment battle when i would prefer a Brian Blessed from 'Henry V' type)

In summary, A beautifully shot insight into Roman occupied Judea and the story of the man called jesus, not overly religious which is nice for the impartial history buff, yes there is some blood so maybe put the younger kids to bed and there is some subtitles so all those who struggle reading should look elsewhere.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)