Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2017
Great album, took me right back to the early 80's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2010
I am so pleased this classic hi-nrg/pop album from 1984 is finally getting a proper released on CD. This great little album was my introduction to the lovely and talented Ms Dean, the undisputed queen of UK hi-nrg. During the 1980's Hazell dominated both the pop and club charts with her infectious dance tracks. Hazell was one of the very first artists to successfully work with SAW production team.
22 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2010
First lady of Hi-NRG is back after all these years
and still sounds as good, if not better than, as ever !
Before she became the Hi-NRG diva, she was a vocalist for Elaine Paige's
sadly lost first ever album Sitting Pretty, still awaiting reissue.

I got the first (rare) edition of this CD (one of the first digital masters of its time)
years ago in Switzerland and never stopped playing it...

Heart First is also the album that saw the coming out of Stock Aitken & Waterman.
This reissue is great music and great value !

A must for all Hi-NRG and dance music lovers and fans
that should find its way into any music collection and discotheque.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2010
Purchased the CD from Amazon and it arrived yesterday. The quality is excellent, considering these tracks were produced 26+ years ago! I love the x20 page thick glossy booklet, which is full of colour photos, original albums/singles artwork; artist biography, artist discography and contains a 2010 write up from Hazell Dean!

I've had all x3 versions of this CD's release and this version is the best!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
hazell's frist album on cd has been rare and hard to get hold of for years..so a welcome re-issue is very welcome!

the album opens with "back in my arms (once again) which i must admit sounds a bit "tinny" its a great pop/hi-energy track that was released as a single but only reached no.41 in the uk...it deserved to do a lot better 9/10

"searchin" was a huge club album before reaching the charts...which it stormed and gave hazell her first huge hit..still a classic 10/10

"break the rules" is another strong catchy track 10/10

"whatever i do" was the 2nd single and again stormed into the charts and still a firm favourite..another classic 10/10

"you're too good to be true" is okay as an album track but nothing amazing 8/10

"heart first" should have been a single...it has all the ingredients ...a catchy track, great vocals and i think would have been a huge hit 10/10

"no fool (for love)" another single that just failed to make the top 40! a great track that should have done a lot better 9/10

"harmony" is a ballad which shows of hazell is more than a one trick pony..but not a standout 8/10

"devil in you" is another hi-energy stomper...it could have been a hit at the time..but now sounds a bit dated 9/10

"everything i need" is another ballad to close the original album..its nice enough 8/10

the bonus tracks!!!

"stay in my life" is another ballad..almost musical theatre or showtime...nice enough 9/10

"searchin 12" mix" what more can i say the full on classic 10/10

"young boy in the city" was released as a b-side but with its lyrics it became a huge gay anthem at the time 10/10

"back in my arms 12" mix" previously unreleased and a great version 10/10

"take me home" is nice enough but a bit forgettable 8/10

"no fool (for love) 12" mix" another great remix that has been unavailable 10/10

hazell followed up this album with a stock aitken waterman album which is strong and maybe will be rereleased!!! after that hazell released an stunning album of abba covers, she still tours and is a great act to see!!
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2011
I love this album and when I heard the thoughtful reprise of 'Back in my arms' it brought a tear to my eye. Great songwriting and production. In particular 'Heart first', 'No fool (for love)' and 'Break the rules'.
Fab.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Special! Powerful! Musical! Lyrical! Wonderful! Positive! Effective! Contagious! Catchy! Dynamic! Demographic! Stereotastic! Fantastic! Happy! Memorable! Pounding! Nostalgic! Technostalgic! Auralgazmic! WONDERFULL!!
Well, Amazon did say no less than 20 words!
Hazell dean is always well worth it to me xo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
This is a really rather good album. An early Stock/Aitken/Waterman production, it has their hallmarks but not necessarily the "Hit Factory" sound they'd developed by the late 80s. A forerunner of this though is the insanely catchy "Back In My Arms", it really is a mystery why this was never a hit.

The big hits are here of course, "Searchin'" and "Whatever I Do", but it's some of the less well known tracks that really are the star turns. "Break The Rules" sounds like some of the pop-rock tracks Cher was doing at the end of the 80s, whilst "Heart First" and "Harmony" have a soulful quality which brings to mind late 80s Tina Turner.

There are several 12" versions as bonus tracks together with some rare bonus tracks, some of which are a little forgettable. All in all however it's a really super package. It's just a shame the single-only tracks "Evergreen" and "Jealous Love" are not on here, though they can be found on the "Greatest Hits" album.

Hazell sounds really beautiful throughout, her vocal abilities being far beyond some of the SAW acts, their production reflects this. A must have!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
Great to have this in remastered format with the extensive booklet! This album really shows how versatile as an artist Hazell is. A great album that has stood the test of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
First of all we have to be thankful,that there are labels, which bring back such long-time rare 80ies gems, adding wonderful bonus tracks and re-package them so neatly. So why only a one-star review?

It's the fact they partly used MP3's as a source. "Searchin' [12" Version]", Whatever I Do (Wherever I Go) [12" Mix] and No Fool (For Love) [12" Version] are definitely sourced from lossy origins. You can see that clearly, if you look at the tracks in spectral view in an audio editor application.

I think I better get my old vinyls, record and clean them by myself. Sure, they won't be perfect, but I know, they won't be lossy crap.
55 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)