Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2015
This is the fourth studio album with Rob Dukes on vocals and it took me a while to warm up to the idea of him as the new vocalist of Exodus but I got there in the end. Musically this album is true to Exodus form and is as chunky, fast and heavy as any of the classic Thrash Metal Masterpieces released by this amazing band. The overall sound of this album reminds me of "Fabulous Disaster" and "Impact Imminent" era Exodus which is fantastic! Exodus have remained one of the proud few to stick to their guns and over the years have released some of the heaviest, fastest and angriest Thrash Metal ever!!! Exodus are as relevant as they have ever been and they are still a force to be reckoned with. This album is the perfect Thrash Metal package and is better than any of the pseudo new Thrash Metal bands on the circuit today. If you like Thrash Metal that is heavy, fast, angry, thought provoking and crunchy then Exodus is your band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Exodus : Exhibit B The Human Condition is a fantastic record and no mistake, I don't know exactly what I was expecting when I first got the album, but over the course of a few listens the quality of the album just seemed to grow and grow, with the level of musicianship higher than ever before, with Rob Duke's voice the best it has ever been and with every song just plain brilliant there isn't a bad word to be said for Exhibit B The Human Condition.

The first thing that strikes you about the album is the variety, twin guitar harmonies and almost clean vocals at times give way to classic 80's Garry Holt riffs, Guitars shift from squealing and shredding to melody and musicality, songs begin or end with acoustic passages but are otherwise the heaviest songs the band have ever written.

If ever you were unsure whether modern Exodus was for you, now is the time to be converted, this album has everything that is good about metal and then some. 'Downfall,' for example sounds like it was off Burn My Eyes during its mid section, off a Shadows Fall record during its twin guitar lead brakes and right off Fabulous Disaster during its main riff. It achieves all of these styles during its six and a half minute duration without ever sounding confused, cluttered or like it is trying too much.

This is not to say that Exhibit B isn't quintessentially Exodus as a good three quarters of the riffs on the album are so uniquely Garry Holt that they honestly wouldn't feel out of place on Bonded By Blood or Pleasures of the Flesh and therein is the greatest achievement of the album, or the band in general: modernisation without betraying their roots. While keeping absolutely everything that makes Exodus sound like Exodus the band are able to keep the music unbelievably fresh.

Beyond any stylistic considerations or whether or not it sounds like Exodus or stays true to the Bay area sound or any concern the fans may have, the songs are simply awesome, a brilliant collection of top notch grade-A songs that get better with each listen and I state that completely free from hyperbole or release day excitement.

If you wonder whether or not Exhibit B is for you listen to the energetic 'March of the Sycophants,' the stunning mid tempo 'A Perpetual State Of Indifference,' or the creepy semi-epic 'Nanking,' and prepare to love the album, the band and the line up.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
Seen them Playing Live twice in uk and can say they can rouse Any crowd into an INTENSE Frenzy !
THIS CD IS INTENSE-PLAY THIS IN A CROWDED ROOM AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS!!
This CD is the BEST of any of their recent offerings "BURN HOLLYWOOD BURN" Has a wicked rollercoaster effect which u find after 5/6 plays-can't stop playing it now!!!!
Many Gems on here and needs repeat plays to discover them -this tells you that this is CLASSIC EXODUS.
Holt is a expert with his guitar/Lyrics and structure and Andy Sneap has encapsulated this as only he knows how !!!
Bloody Brilliant job-thrash Music

LOOK NO FURTHER........
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2010
It's easy to get caught up with the epic nature of this album. There's a lot on offer and it takes a while to really get to grips with it. I could even be wanting to change my 3 star rating to a 4 in about a months time but I will have to go with my gut and give it a 3. I love the way Exodus have reinvented themselves, Tempo Of The Damned is just a thrash masterpiece and Shovel Headed Kill Machine a worthy follow up. I feel Exhibit B just lacks the hooks of Shovel hence the 3 stars, but as I mentioned earlier this could well change. Don't get me wrong this is a complete and uncompromising thrash fest with shredding to kill for. If that is your bag then get this immediately as Exodus show many of the younger thrash bands how it should be done. The issue I have is Rob Dukes whose lack of melody in his voice makes all the songs blend together, because if the music isn't catchy or melodic in its own right then the songs tend to sound all the same. Because of this the tunes rely heavily on pace and the guitar wizardy of Holt and Altus and for many this will be enough. Personally, I prefer tunes, melody and riffs something that some of their previous albums have had in greater quantities (and something you'll find in spades on Overkill's Ironbound). Still good though, i'm just trying to be as objective as I can.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2010
This beast dropped on my doormat yesterday and after listening to it I'm suprised it didn't crush my floorboards!
I'm a massive fan of everything Exodus have done (i even love "Impact.." and "Force of habit" - underrated gold) and this album is no exception.
It's quite simply amazing thrash metal from start to finish, and in many ways harks back to the awesomeness of "Fabulous Disaster". Even the gang vocals are back on some of the songs -YESSS!!!
The Exodus sound is far from dated though, and there are many fresh ideas and temmpo changes to be found here.
Personal favourites so far include "Hammer and Life", "Class Dismissed" and the chugging "March of the Sycophants", but there's not a single filler on the album. When "Hammer.." kicks in it's hard to resist the urge to form a spontaneous circle pit!!!
Exhibit A was excellent, but this one tops it!
This really did put a smile on my face, and is the best true Thrash album I've heard in ages!! Go get some....!!!
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2010
Since reuniting back in 2001 Exodus have pulled out 3 thrash metal classics in the form of Tempo Of The Damned, Shovel Headed Kill Machine and The Atrocity Exhibition: Exhibit A. All very strong albums which floored anything that the so called 'big four' of Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth & Anthrax have pulled out in the last decade.

As if things couldn't get better they have now unleashed their latest album - Exhibit B: The Human Condition. In my view, simply the best Thrash metal album since the first coming of Thrash metal back in the 1980's. Since the moment I first heard this album I have not felt the same excitement about a record since I was a teenager back in the thrash heyday of the 1980's.

Putting it simply there are no dud songs on this record. It is yet again well produced by the 'uber-cool' long time Exodus producer Andy Sneap and yet again display's how talented Gary Holt (guitar) is as both a lyricist and guitarist. Add to that this is vocalist Rob Dukes' best performance on record, Jack Gibson's bass is ground shaking, Lee Altus (guitar) is the perfect right hand man to Holt and the ever reliable drum machine that is Tom Hunting you really hear in the music how united this band is and that's the beauty of this record.

The songs are about the ill sides of human nature with subject's such as serial killers, christian right wing fanatics, reality show artists/fans, high school shootings, nightmares, war...the list goes on! Glum stuff you may think, but when you read/hear the intelligent lyrics you realise just what a writing genius Holt is!!!

So my recommendation to you is to buy this album. Put it up against Machine Head's The Blackening, Testament's The Formation Of Damnation and Metallica's Death Magnetic and there is only one winner...Exhibit B: The Human Condition!!!

I really can't say a bad word about this album. A Heavy Metal classic and won't be beaten for best album of the year for 2010, certainly in my household.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
This is the kind of album that reminds us why we liked thrash back in the late 80s. Old school, badass thrash action with the advantage of the super sound quality of modern technology.

Exodus are like wine, they get better and better with age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Some good metal, with excellent riffs, some of the songs are a bit too long (7 / 8 minutes)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Great thrash metal album. I really like it :D \m/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
great album from a great band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)