Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2010
With a title like 'Zodiac' you might think that this series was something akin to 'The Tomorrow People' or 'Ace Of Wands'. It is in fact a rather short-lived but classy crime series starring Anton Rodgers as Detective Inspector David Gradley and the very attractive Anouska Hempel as astrologer Esther Jones, whom he meets in the first episode. Her knowledge of astrology helps him to track down the person who committed the crime in each episode. This is nicely done with some good dialogue. It is very 1970s and doesn't take itself too seriously. There are no outdoor scenes and the pace is relaxed. Since there are 12 signs in the zodiac, it is fair to assume that this series was meant to run for more than six episodes and it is a pity it did not. Other actors who appear are John Rhys-Davies, Michael Gambon, George Baker, Norman Eshley, Ian Ogilvy, Robert Powell and Peter Vaughn. Each episode is around 50 minutes long and the quality is excellent. Anton Rodgers sadly died in December 2007. He was one of television's great performers and is probably best remembered in the comedy series 'Fresh Fields' with Julia McKenzie and 'May To December' with Lesley Dunlop.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
I bought myself a copy of this simply because I remembered it and remembered thinking Anouska Hempel was very beautiful and I wanted to give it a second look.

I wasn't expecting too much and was ready to be very disappointed the way I often am when I re-view something I liked when I was child, decades later.

But Zodiac is actually surprisingly enjoyable. Anouska, who plays the lead, still looks incredibly beautiful. She has a great chemistry with Anton Rodgers and in spite of her beauty was also a very good actress. She had great timing and shows great skill in handling the wordy script. Anton Rodgers also gives a good performance as the blundering detective and Anouska's pal. The theme of the zodiac works quite well and gives each episode a sort of mystical flavour. It's a shame the series was discontinued after just 6 episodes, as it probably could have, given the chance, developed into a minor classic.

It's slightly disappointing that the whole series was shot in the studio. Absolutely no locations. Just painted backdrops. Considering this, the fact that the series holds its own, says a lot about the energy of the performances and the fact that Anouska really comes across as a genuine budding star. It's surprising, in retrospect, that this series didn't take her on to better things in the acting world, though she did find her success elsewhere.

Anyway, the point of this review is to tell you that Zodiac is very enjoyable, not just as a nostalgic vehicle, but as light entertainment. The sort that is so lacking in British television today. If you enjoy sitting down to watch old TV series from this era, this one comes highly recommended.
11 comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
I had forgotten how good this series was. I have indulged in a nostalgia fest since receiving the DVD and have watched each episode many times. Although made in the 1970's it doesn't feel too dated.

Anton Rodgers and Anouska Hempel have good chemistry and the stories are interesting. This is a gentle series, not full of 'in your face' violence. There is a lot of humour between the two main characters. Anton Rodgers twinkles and Anouska Hempel is stunningly pretty.

The premise is that an astrologer and a police officer meet whilst the officer is investigating a murder. The astrologer offers the police officer the benefit of her intuition and astrological knowledge to point him in the direction of the culprit. The two become friends and she continues to assist him through five other cases.

It is not necessary to believe in astrology to enjoy this series.

I am puzzled as to why the series consisted of only six episodes. It would have been nice if there had been an episode for each star sign. However, I am grateful for the six that are available.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
Anouska Hempel, as astrologer Esther Jones pairs up with detective, 'Grad', played by Anton Rodgers to solve a crime. Each episode is a complete story which considers the characteristics common to particular zodiac signs, in the hunt for a murderer. It is more sophisticated than referring to forecasts in a newspaper column, although there is a lot of discovering birthdays to draw up charts.
I remember watching it when it was first broadcast in 1974. A second series was never made which is most unfortunate as it only ran for six episodes. This is a great shame as it is such an original idea and the main characters worked together really well.
Whether reading your horoscope is your cup of tea or not (yes, there's a bit of leaf reading in it) I'm sure you'll find this a refreshing bit of nostalgia.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
I like anything from the 60s and 70s I thought the TV of that era was simple and styish

I would recommend these DVDs to anyone who liked simplicity snd their programmes without too much explicit sex and violence
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
I didn`t know anything about this serie before...I liked the combination of traditional investigation and psychic predictions to solve crime. I loved
the seductive play between inspector Gradley an Esther Jones.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
i do not remember this at all when it was first shown on TV but despite its very studio orientated shooting it seemed to have a glamorous quality which made it attractive viewing .The cast is full of Brtish character actors and the chemistry between Rodgers and Hempel is palpable.It might be slight and slightly silly but I really enjoyed..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
Got this based on reviews on here,and I am so glad I did.
Great stories,superb acting and great chemistry between the 2 leads.
I was sad when it ended.
Shame they didn't make another series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
Excellent quality. Worth the money. - Kim x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
excellent- really enjoyed this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)