Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
27
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2011
This is the most amazing album i've ever listened to. Erykah Badu is incredible, her lyrics and music are multi layered, full of sparkling deep dark soul, universal love and natural earthly love. Some tracks sound like ancient truth teachings, with others that you can dance to or just listen to the evolutionary poetry, far ahead of its time, infused with magical humour, science, dreams and goddess-like imagination and vision. I might have smoked something. This album is full of surprises, so buy two copies and keep one.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 April 2010
After the change of direction of New Amerykah Part I, Erykah Badu returns to more familiar territory with Part II, going more down tempo and hitting more of the neo-soul sound that she forged.
"Window Seat" and "Gone Baby, Don't Be Long" are some of the more immediate highlights, bringing to the fore the loops and grooves that define the album's sound, similar to how was seen on her 2003 album "Worldwide Underground".
Much like with that record there is more live instrumentation, a freer feel to the record (unlike New Amerykah Part I). The difference in art work for the two New Amerykah album covers serves as the best way to appreciate the sonic differences between the two.
Lyrically the album is more along traditional Badu lines too, focussing on romance, love and relationships, rather than taking the more political line heard on New Amerykah Part I.
Badu has said the album is "the sister of the left side of my brain - it is the right side. Part I was the left side of my thoughts - it was more socially political and my thought process was more analytical. This time there wasn't anything to be concerned with - the album is more emotional and flowy and talks about feelings. It reminds of the days of 'Baduizm'."
When the album hits its groove it is as good as any classic Badu tracks, but there are a few tracks that deviate a little from the albums feel and, stop the album being a five star record. "Agitation" is a good track, piano laden, but it just sits a little off for me. Ditto the following track, a cover of Sylvia Striplin's "You Can't Turn Me Away", which gets a little more tedious with every listen.
This is intelligent R&B, but the flowing feel that the album goes for is broken by a couple of rogue tracks that stop it developing the seamless feel of her earlier records and fellow soul legend Marvin Gaye.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Erykah Badu is a rare artist, not only because of her unique sound, but for the "love-it-or-hate-it" way she sounds for the world. If you like black music, this is your CD - Badu has a groovy shaky beat, with provocative lyrics and some spice on her voice! But, if you're not that into the rhythm, you may dislike completely the album - she is kinda crazy, the lyrics talk about the spacial stuff, and try to promote a peaceful world with the help of the old Egyptians gods! So I recommend this album for those who enjoy the sound of black music, not to inexperienced ones.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
Following on from her near perfect neo soul release "Baduizm", Erykah Badu has been much more experimental, delving into hip-hop, funk and rock. This has led to some of her music being occasionally erratic, nonsensical and lacking in melody. Her fifth release "New Amerykah Part 2: Return Of The Ankh" is mainly very soulful and contains just a hint of experimental sounds. On the whole, this album is good and only contains a few mediocre tracks.

"20 Feet Tall" has an interesting heavy bass, but its melody does not seem to go anywhere and the song sounds a little monotonous as a result. "Window Seat" is a very good slice of soul and funk, and is reminiscent of "Didn't Cha Know" from her second album "Mama's Gun". "Turn Me Away" has a very appealing groovy vibe, the vocals and melody reminding me a little bit of Macy Gray. "Gone Baby, Don't Be Long" is nicely repetitive as it flows perfectly, having a cool rythym, but "Umm Hmm" is a bit too bland. "Love" has a great bass and is very addictive and "Fall In Love" is another groovy song. On the experimental side, the two interludes "Agitation" and "You Loving Me" are very jazzy and "Incense" is a dreamy and mainly instrumental track with harp and weird sounds and voices. The final track "Out My Mind, Just In Time" is a 10 minute long jazzy affair with a quiet piano and vocal introduction and then a change in direction from 2 minutes onwards. All of these tracks work and make the album more interesting.

Most of this album is reminiscent of her first two albums which is a really good thing. However, it does not quite live up to them. But it is a good return to form and a much better effort than her previous album "New Amerykah Part 1: 4th World War".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
Only recently rediscovered Erykah Badu. Actually bought 3 of her albums in one go and for some reason didn't get into them initially. But decided to make a concerted effort to listen again whilst on summer holiday. I became obsessed with all of them and wouldn't/couldn't listen to anything else for quite some time. Now own all of her stuff and can't wait for a new release.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
Love this album. It reminds me of her original work back in the day. When I saw the album cover I thought it might be a bit quirky but I'm really happy with my purchase. Goes to show you shouldn't judge a book by it's cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
Loving this album. Standout tracks are Window Seat, Love and Incense. If I was to fault this album it would be on the running duration- At just over 50 mins. Erykah Badu is an amazing artist. I guess a lot of her appeal lies in her cryptic nature. I love the fact that her work has depth to it. Go Ms Badu!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2011
I ordered that CD as new for a gift to my sister and received it unsealed, completely opened. There was no time to claim anything as I was leaving on the day of delivery. It looked like I had opened that CD to copy and than handed it to my sister. I had to explain and had to feel ashamed for the situation where actually I was a victim of fraud. I thought that if the seller was acting under the name of Amazon it would make that company trustworthy but it appeared that "Amazon" does not guarantee anything.
It is a shame as I have had good experience buying at Amazon so far. Certainly music is just amazing and I can honestly recommend it to anyone who likes R&B in more intelligent and sophisticated mood.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
"New Amerykah Part 2" seems designed to split the Badu fanbase right down the middle. If you felt the freaky, funky space-jams on "Worldwide Underground [Bonus Tracks]" and "New Amerykah Part One (4th World War)" then you're likely to find this a pretty tame affair. If, one the other hand, you "prefer the early stuff" - the classic neo-soul of "Baduizm" and "Mama's Gun" then this will seem more like a welcome return to form.

Given their close working relationship, it's no shock that the J Dilla's influence is once again heavily felt on Miss Badu's fifth proper LP, with the super-smooth "Love" produced by, and dedicated to, the late James Yancey. What's maybe more surprising though is the spectral presence of another deceased hip-hop star, the Notorious B.I.G. "Turn Me Away", probably the album's standout track, borrows (make that straight-up jacks) the bassline from the Junior M.A.F.I.A.'s "Get Money", while "Fall In Love" references a classic Biggie verse with it's "slow singing, and flower bringing" hook.

Personally, I can't help feel it's a big of a retrograde step, musically speaking. The neo-soul sound isn't as fresh as it was a decade ago, and there's little of the invention and sheer funkiness of her last album. It's also worth mentioning that the iTunes version of the album has an extra track that you don't get on the CD. That track is a collaboration with Lil Wayne though, so depending on how you feel about Weezy that's either a reason to opt for the download, or avoid it like the plague.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2010
WOW !!! i love this album!! i didn't liked here latest releases and part 1 was the worst & most dissapointed album i have ever heared! But listening to this one ............. i cannot stop grooving!!!! this is the erykah badu i fell in love with years ago!!!!!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here