Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
The Complete Poems
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99


on 25 October 2015
The kindle edition is an exceptional good value for its price compared with the print edition and similar Penguin Poets. I'd like to point out that my experience (October 2015) differed completely from the review dated 5 Mar 2011. The digital edition may well have changed since that review. On my Kindle Paperwhite, there is no problem with formatting the poems - the line fit on the width of the page on the 2nd lowest setting of font size with line numbers appearing in the left margin without disturbing the normal setting of the lines of the poem themselves. [This used to be a problem with very early Kindle editions of some of the Penguin Classics Poets]. The Kindle Paperwhite's page size is 90mm x 122mm compare with a page size of 128mm x 198mm - so quite a reduction in page size. For anyone with deteriorating eyesight, reading on the 8.9" Kindle Fire HDX might be preferable. Each poem starts on a new page (unlike the print edition). Each individual poem is indexed in the Table of Contents under "The Poems" which is a collapsible list. There is also an alphabetical index of poem titles and also of first lines which can be used to go directly to any poem.
The explanatory and textual notes are in a section of the Appendices. There are no links from the poems to the relative notes - so this can be bit of a pain switching between the notes for a poem and the poem itself - This is where having 2 Kindles can be extremely useful. I keep the Notes open on a Kindle Paperwhite, and read the actual poems on a Kindle 8.9 Fire HDX. So, in my view, at £3.59, better value than £0.00 for a Project Gutenberg version!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2015
Purchased for my mother who had lst her old copy. Good size print for an elderly lady. She is delighted with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2016
a thoroughly comprehensive collection. Well worth the 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2011
This review is for the kindle version of the book. One would think that Penguin might have put a minimum of effort into adapting such a seminal text for their kindle classics collection. However this looks as if they've taken the pdf and run it through a run of the mill generator. The biggest howler is that there is no table of contents, so you will have to use the search function or simply go from page to page until you find the poem you want. The second big problem with the conversion is that the poems are tabbed in such a way that the lines start off almost a quarter of the way across the page. So when viewing in the standard portrait mode most of the lines are cut off before their natural breaks.

I spent £9.99 hoping for a definitive, well put together collection of one of the greatest ever poets, only to end up with an ebook that I might as well have downloaded from Project Gutenberg for free. Much has been written about problems with poetry and ebook readers, but many independent publishers have paid attention to these issues and brought out beautiful poetry ebooks that are a pleasure to read. One would think that, considering the price, Penguin would have put as much thought in when bringing Keats to Kindle. Don't be fooled by the price, this is not a premium ebook, it is a cynical attempt by Penguin to demand more money than the paperback cover price while putting zero effort into the Kindle conversion. Buy the paperback or download a free or budget version.
33 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2001
Reading an edition of Keats edited by John Barnard means contrasting two vastly different minds. The poet of rare and profound sensibility, and an academic with less of interest to offer than any editor I know of. The man, doubtless industrious, has literally nothing to say. Rarely have I read an introduction of such outstanding banality. The text and apparatus are no worse than other editions, but Barnard's pedestrian introduction provides the general reader with no insights or interesting directions to explore - instead we get the usual potted biography: Fanny (it was his girlfriend's name), TB, and the Spanish Steps. If you already know Keats was poorly and didn't live long, get an edition with something to say.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2000
A Spaniard, like I am, may not be the most accurate person to speak about English poetry. But considering my "amour fou" for W.B. Yeats, Lord Byron, Robert Browning and William Shakespeare, I think I can say one true statement: everyone should fall in love with Keats. He was probably the most uncultivated author of the whole History... but who minds about it, when his moody and sensitive soul has given us some of the lines which Oblivion could never waste.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2010
What can you say? The Mozart of the sonnet. If you ever think it's easy to write good sonnet try writing one! And he died at twenty six, eight years younger than Mozart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2011
I agree. He is a great, poetic genius. As an English teacher, in the past, I was lucky enough to teach him at A' Level.

I've integrated one of his great poems, `La Belle Dame Sans Merci.', into the narrative of my novel in a crucial love scene between the two main characters, Chris and Jo. When I saw `Bright Star' I thought Jane Campion has ripped my idea off, the similarities are unnerving! Of course it's just coincidence. Her writing is brilliant of course and I believe the same can be said of mine!

A major theme in my novel `A Song for Jo is the attempt by a young couple of English students to live and love by the ideals expressed in some great Literature. The novel explores, in the narrative, how the force of great literature can inform and develop a receptive, creative mind, making it a love story with a difference!

People of all ages and sex have liked it a lot. It's also got a stunning Pre-Raphaelite art work on the cover to complement the Keats and Tennyson poetry worked in there.

It's available on Amazon - please follow the link.

A Song for Jo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse